We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
39
20
3
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
20
3
2
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 68 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2017

Absolutely in love with the location, service and view. It's extremely simple and it's good for its location. If you're looking for luxuries, this is the wrong place. However, if you are looking for good comfort in a mountain area, this is unmatched to my experiences coming here.
Walls are thin. You know exactly what I mean.

Room tip: Room 3 has a killer view and a jacuzzi. Ask for it. Pet the dogs. They are adorable. No particular reason why, they just are really cute.
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indomitabl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altopalomo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Alto Palomo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su comentario, nos ayuda a mejorar. Y sabemos lo de las paredes delgadas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

I'm shocked at some of the reviews here. First, read before you buy. Second, don't expect high end luxury at $55 per night. Yes, there is no wifi or phones in the rooms. Yes, it's rustic. It was very cold at night with no heat/ac and very windy which with metal roofs is very loud at night. But it's a gorgeous view, the folks treat you like an actual guest in their home and the food at the restaurant is wonderful. Learn how to use the shower or you'll have no hot water. There is a trick. It's poorly insulated so yes the wind brings in a little dirt per day. Let it go. The area is worth it. And Jorge is a wonderful sweet man who took his time to make us a list of great things to do. He made sure we had extra blankets. He even told us what time we could go to church in 2 different towns and that was important to us. While it's not the luxury many Americans expect, we ended up loving it and we stayed 3 nights. We'll go again if we go back to Costa Rica. Where else can you get such views, make friends and do it all at such a LOW price eating excellent food?? And DO NOT expect English. Speak Spanish.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Climber700427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altopalomo, Director Comercial at Hotel Alto Palomo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su comentario, espero poderle atenderle nuevamente en las próximamente.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

-No internet in room
-Not clean, part of the window was missing so there were bugs (cockroaches) everywhere. There were about 20 in the bathtub... therefore, we obviously did not use the bath! We instead took a very rapid cold shower.
-80$ US a night is too expensive for the place
-Furthermore, when we woke up in the morning at 5 am, STRANGELY, our car tire had a flat (of course the guy at the reception who was supposed to be sleeping, was up and ready to help us, so we tipped him!!!). When we got the tire checked, we realised it had been purposely deflated by someone... no flat whatsoever.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank jaellef2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altopalomo, Director de Recepción at Hotel Alto Palomo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2016
Google Translation

Ciento mucho la experiencia que tuvo en nuestro hotel. Con respecto a los insectos, las "cucarachas" no existen en nuestro negocio de hospedaje, le recuerdo que nos encontramos a 1.850.00 m.s.n.m., lo que si puede que se encuentre son abejones o escarabajos y principalmente en el mes de Mayo, brotan de la tierra en grandes cantidades; sin embargo, es un proceso de la naturaleza y no podemos contra eso. Por otra parte, debemos recordar que nos encontramos rodeados de 100% naturaleza, máxime que existen Parques Nacionales y Reservas Naturales de gobierno a muy corta distancia de nuestro establecimiento.

Con respecto a la ducha, ciertamente es de resistencia y SI calienta; todas las cabañas se asean todos los días, por parte del personal de limpieza y la ropa de cama se cambia diariamente.

Al respecto a la una llanta del vehículo desinflada, nos encontramos en una investigación interna, con el fin de averiguar si en realidad sucedió lo que usted apunta en su comentario.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2015

This was our first stop on a 2 week trip. It was my husband and my first time to Costa Rica and this was by far our favorite place we stayed. The hotel was a little difficult for us to find, the GPS we originally rented with our rental car was unable to locate it. We ended up having to stop a couple of times along the way for help with directions but the locals were so helpful and friendly. Sarchi is a fantastic area full of wonderful people.
Once we arrived at the hotel, it was gorgeous. The view from our private deck was breathtaking and we fully enjoyed sitting outside in the evening just listening to the sounds and watching fireflies. It was the most peaceful experience.
The rooms were great; clean, comfortable and we had plenty of space to spread out. There was a mini-fridge that worked great, a nice small table and a small TV. The wifi did not reach our room but we enjoyed walking up to the front desk area to check email or make calls while chatting with the staff.
The restaurant served amazing food when they were open; we visited during the off season so we had to check with the front desk as to when they would be open. A few times the restaurant would be closed but they must live very close because they would run down, cook our order then deliver to our room or to the front desk. They never seemed bothered to help, always more than willing to bring down our food for us which was more than appreciated. The restaurant is up the hill from the hotel, but it was a short 5 minute walk along a narrow road. It is not a sight to be missed as it sits up on a hill with a gorgeous view overlooking the hillside. They have a pool table and very friendly, helpful staff. We highly recommend asking about the local drink they make in house; cannot remember what they called it but it is made with local berries and home made liquor. We were given shots of it each time we went, even with breakfast and ended up purchasing a bottle.
The highlight of our trip to the hotel was one of the staff taking us on a tour of the area. He led us to a nearby waterfall and some lagoons that were far off the beaten path. Our spanish is minimal and so was his english but we had such a great time teaching each other phrases and words.
We later stayed near Tamarindo and Jaco but Sarchi was by far our favorite area and Hotel Alto Palomo was a major reason we enjoyed our stay. The staff is 1st class, the view and food is to die for. It is not a 5 star hotel by American standards; the shower takes some getting used to in order to get hot water, there isn't cable TV and you probably won't have wifi in your room but why do you want to spend all you time consumed with technology when you are in such a beautiful place filled with wonderful people? You will be hard pressed to find an area with better people and better ambiance.
Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altopalomo, Director de Recepción at Hotel Alto Palomo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Doña Jennifer thank you very much for your comment. It was a pleasure for us to serve you and will even see them again in our hotel. With respect to liquor you take that call "spirit of the mountain" and again whenever we can send him home. Jajajajajajajajajaj. Maybe you come by parcel. Saludes and Blessings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2015

We booked this through a vacation package deal for seven nights. It was very windy and cold and the metal roof rattling kept us up most of the night. There was also no hot water and so we never bathed. We left after three nights although we had paid for seven.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altopalomo, Gerente at Hotel Alto Palomo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2015
Google Translation

Gracias por su opinión.
Lamentamos que su experiencia en nuestro hotel no aya sido la mejor, tomaremos sus opiniones en cuenta para poder mejorar en nuestro servicio al cliente.
Estamos para servirle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews