We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel - not a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel y Restaurante El Guarco
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cartago
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel - not a great location”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of this hotel. Really beautiful King rooms - sparkling clean and new. And the restaurant had excellent food - we ended up eating there most of the time. The staff was wonderful and I loved the fact that they had an ice machine! So helpful when it's hot. Just be aware that it is on a very busy and noisy "highway" with lots of trucks...all night. Bring your ear plugs.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    25
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
15
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Clean, safe, inexpensive and great service. We stopped by randomly and were very pleased· the hotel is well located, has a internal parking and the premises are well guarded. We paid 50$ a night including 2 breakfasts. Excellent experience.

Room Tip: Take a room in the back section, quieter. Ask for the 50$ a night promo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etienne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san jsoe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Was at this hotel in Cartago Costa Rica over 2.5 weeks; was on business trip at Cartago Industrial Park. Hotel is super great --- super security and safe place, super clean, super great/ & polite staff (Evelyn, Hannia, Cinya, Eric, Joshua, Andres----reception/housekeeping/restaurant/driver/SecurityGuards--all really great)---very good room prices and very great restaurant food (the cook Cinya's plate of 'lomo a la pimienta' is WOW!!!!) . My room had a refrigerator for my snacks and water/juice. All staff speaks Spanish and English ; they can also arrange sightseeing trips for you; they can arrange Taxi driver for you ; they can arrange their hotel shuttle driver for you. 1/2 hour south of downtown San Jose or about 1 hour south of SantaMaria International Airport. About 10 minute Taxi ride to Paseo Metropoli Shopping & Restaurants Mall of Cartago---only about 1 year old---enter that and seems like you area back in the most modern USA shopping mall---and includes all USA fast foot places too (McDonalds, BurgerKing, Subway, PizzaHut, etc). You may do sight seeing tourist stops in San Jose area---there are many also south and southeast of San Jose as well as near Cartago----this would be a great place to stay. The hotel is next to main Highway---you do hear traffic---but all the other great things about hotel makes it a great find!!!!---and with the TV or Air Conditioner on, noise gets drowned out. Laundry service---leave it in bag in morning---its clean and folded on your bed before 5pm the same day. Plenty of TV Channels ; plenty programs in English and Spanish---plenty shows from USA. If I had been there on vacation---this would have been a hotel I would feel comfortable and safe to bring my family to.

Room Tip: Room 217 was the best. Just ask the staff for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ff v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Hill. Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We arrive on Saturday evening and checked in. We had dinner at their restaurant and enjoyed the food. We stayed until Friday morning. The rooms where very nice. The showers were excellent. The service was wonderful. The price included breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leannknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelelguarco, Gerente at Hotel y Restaurante El Guarco, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Hello Leannknight,
We appreciate your made ​​the comment. Aid for thousands of travelers, reference using the comments left by our guests on our Trip Advisor.
We're glad you enjoyed your spacing at the hotel and the services we have offered.
It will be our honor to have you around here again, I hope to meet you personally when you return.
A hug and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sesattle, WA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I am a travel agent, we called 10 minutes before they closed and asked if there was a room available. The woman that answered the phone was very kind and said if we could not arrive in 10 minutes, she would leave a key to our room and the guard would be happy to help us upon arrival. We arrived with 3 minutes to spare.
The woman at the front desk is bilingual which is nice.
Rooms are clean, nice size, quiet,and offer complimentary shampoo, condtioner, and lotion. Breakfast is included and delicious:)
Thank you for your accomodation.
My husband is from Costa Rica- we reside in the states. We will definately recommend and will be back if we are in the área again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tisha15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelelguarco, Gerente at Hotel y Restaurante El Guarco, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Hi Tisha. Thanks for giving us your comments, helps thousands of travelers will have reference to the services we offer in our hotel.
It's an honor to hear such nice comments and know that was your good pleasure to be hosted at the Hotel El Guarco. Hopefully soon to have you around here again, we would like to know them personally.
A hug and best regards.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
123 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

My wife and I had just finished an exhausting first day and night in Costa Rica. Had planned to go to a very remote location east of Cartago, but got delayed during car rental at the airport, got caught San Jose's rush hour, then had our primary route closed by a mudslide. We ended up staying the night in our car alongside the highway, something we would not normally ever give any consideration, but we traveled about 80k without finding a single hotel that was open and we were too exhausted to drive anymore.

Because our next destination was San Gerardo de Dota where we were going to stay the next 2 nights, we decided to find a room in Cartago to rest and recover from our first difficult night. Didn't want to stay right in town, so we looked along the Interamericana and saw Hotel El Guarco, but were concerned because there were no vehicles there. And there were rooms with door that opened on the ground floor facing the highway.

After searching both north and south of this location, we did not find anything that looked like someplace we would like to stay, so we stopped to look at the rooms and check out this hotel.

After we can through reception, we saw that there was a covered courtyard between the buildings with secure parking. There were 3 tour buses and many cars. The room was simple but clean, had air conditioning, wi-fi, and a comfortable bed, and an excellent breakfast was included.

Both my wife and I were amazed at how quiet it was in the room being so close to the highway. Exactly what we needed to get restored for the rest of our Costa Rica trip after a rough start.

Was priced a little higher than I expected for the "Green Season", but other than that, it was a great hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelelguarco, Gerente at Hotel y Restaurante El Guarco, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Hello David S.
First we would like to thank you for your comments, they are very helpful for thousands of travelers.
Second, we like to know that your stay with us was to your liking and you enjoyed rest in our rooms, but after all that happened during your trip.
Our warmest hug, expect them back soon, we'd love to meet you and your wife.
Regards,
General Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We had problems escaping San Jose and ended up driving all different places trying to find a place to stay. This hotel was a welcome site and it was great that the first thing we found had nice rooms, good security, and a good breakfast the next morning. It ended up being a really stormy night so we were glad to have secure lodging for the night. Next morning we were right were we needed to be to take off for the mountains. I would head here if arriving early enough in San Jose and forget trying to find a place in the city. Staff was very friendly!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartago
12.1 mi away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
249 reviews
6.6 mi away
Paraiso Orocay Lodge
Paraiso Orocay Lodge
#3 of 5 in Cartago
38 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Las Brumas
Hotel Las Brumas
#4 of 5 in Cartago
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hotel Rio Perlas Spa, Resort & Casino
7.3 mi away
Orosi Lodge
Orosi Lodge
#1 of 3 in Orosi
390 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Reventazon
Hotel Reventazon
#2 of 3 in Orosi
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel y Restaurante El Guarco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel y Restaurante El Guarco

Property: Hotel y Restaurante El Guarco
Address: Carretera Interamericana Sur | 1.5 km south of the Industrial Park of Cartago, Cartago 30801, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Cartago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cartago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel y Restaurante El Guarco 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our surroundings:El Guarco Hotel & Restaurant is located in Cartago, Costa Rica. It is the only hotel in the province that is adressing mainly towards a corporative public. We are located very close to a lot of important commercial spots, such as Mega Super (supermarket, 500m. away), Paseo Metropoli Mall (2 km. away), Cartago Downtown (which is only 5 km. away) and, finally, only 47 km. separate us from the Juan Santamaría Airport.We offer the services of accommodation, food, transportation, catering service, national & international tours and assembly rooms, that provide the latest technology, which is ideal for meetings, trainings, weddings, baby showers and birthday celebrations, among others. We also offer laundry service, daily room cleaning, Wifi, parking w/roof, 24 hour security and national and international phone calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel y Restaurante El Guarco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel y Restaurante El Guarco Costa Rica/Cartago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing