We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical”
Review of Hotel Quelitales

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Quelitales
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cartago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Quelitales is without a doubt one of the finest places you can stay while in costa rica, the location is great, rooms are amazing, the place is simply magical, not to mention the food ohhh the food, Don José is one of the greatest chefs i've met , all the ingredients he uses are natural and veey tasty. I recommend this place 100%

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcotrigueros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José A, Propietario at Hotel Quelitales, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Marco thanks for your comment,You and your wife we keep tin our hearts.

regards

Jose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2014

One month ago, we did our wedding in this beutiful place, it was perfect, not only because the view and great weather, also because the service is AMAZING. Thank you to Quelitales team, especially to Eliseth and José for a great job and attention to all the details.
Our wedding was just perfect and magic thanks to Hotel Quelitales.

Room Tip: All the bungalows are amazing! Choose any one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José A, Propietario at Hotel Quelitales, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014
Google Translation

Gracias Dannia y a Marco por darnos la oportunidad de ser parte de este dia especial en sus vidas, los tendremos siempre en nuestros corazones.

Un abrazo

Jose.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We have traveled widely and have been to many exceptional restaurants. This rate as one of the best. We traveled there on the recommendation of the owner of Finca Christina for lunch with another couple. It was an interesting trip up the rough road but once we got there we were surprised and excited. Chef Jose was and extra ordinary host. The meals 2 fresh trout, 1 shrimp and one chicken universally enjoyed. Don't let the trip there deter you it is worth every twist and turn of the road. Ban Appetit

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cloudhanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José A, Propietario at Hotel Quelitales, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thanks for the comment is very important for us and our future friends, I perfectly remember You and your friends hope to see you again here.

Regards

Jose.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

the hotel is really beautiful, surrounded by rain forest and really ecologic and respectful with the environment. Very comfortable beds, I would say the best from the whole trip.
the location is unique, the valley is secluded, out of the mass touristic places, where you can experience the real Costa Rican life. the valley Orosi is worthy the visit, simply fantastic, relaxing, with lots of activities
but ... the best of Quelitales is ... José and his employees. They are so friendly, that you will feel like at home. José cooks like the angels, don't miss to eat at the restaurant.
we spend 2 nights there and then move to our next destination (Rara Avis, where we had booked 2 nights). The experience at Rara Avis was so bad and unprofessional that we decided to leave after 1 night and drive back 3 hours to Quelitales, what was an excellent decision and we had a fantastic dinner, night and breakfast. My husband had birthday and José and his people sang for him. Really nice stay !!! Pura Vida !!!

Room Tip: we had two different room types, both were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans-Eugenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José A, Propietario at Hotel Quelitales, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Eugenia Thanks for your comment, I'm not sure if I'm the best chef in the world but I love Quelitales.

Thanks for getting back Hans to celebrate his birthday with us.

Regards

Jose.

.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My wife and I and 3 year old daughter spent the weekend at Hotel Quelitales. Jose welcomed us like family and prepared the most amazing meals for us using as much as he could from the gardens on the property. Our bungalow was clean and private with views of the forest and waterfall. My wife lost her shoes and Jose let her borrow his own for the time that we were there! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I spent the weekend with my wife, the location is outstanding if you want to relax. We stayed at the Mariposas Suite, the room was very comfortable and the outside shower great. You can easily walk to the fall. The food prepare by Don Jose was excellent. Highly recommended place.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcoC997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

The service you receive is the best! The food is delicious gourmet; the location and the nature is beautiful! ♥ I am in love with everything! I will recommend this place to everybody! It is so romantic, so calmed that you can rest sooo much!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ZuriVillalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartago
8 mi away
Hotel Rio Perlas Spa & Resort
5.5 mi away
Paraiso Orocay Lodge
Paraiso Orocay Lodge
#5 of 5 in Cartago
42 reviews
6.2 mi away
Orosi Lodge
Orosi Lodge
#1 of 3 in Orosi
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Hotel y Restaurante El Guarco
20.2 mi away
Pacuare Lodge
Pacuare Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pacuare River
575 reviews
19.3 mi away
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve &...
#2 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quelitales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quelitales

Address: 3 Kilometros Este de Plaza de Deportes | Cachi Dam, 2 Kilometers South and 3 Kilometers East on Penas Blancas, Cartago 30204, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Cartago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cartago
Price Range: £77 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Quelitales 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have three bungalows and six suites and two junior suite,that have been built and are operated with low environmental impact. All bungalows and suites have space between them (PRIVACY) and spectacular views of the surroundings, including Dona Ana Waterfall. The garden and trail are a birdwatcher's paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Quelitales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Quelitales Costa Rica/Cartago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing