We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rio Perlas Spa & Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cartago
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
“Beautiful Place”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

It was a great experience. Beautifull place with very nice people. Located in the cloud forest. Great food and weather, although depending on the time of the it may rain on you a little. Close to alot of tours, we went whitewater rafting. The thermal pool was awesome. Quiet and nice.

Room Tip: alot of different style of rooms to choose from,we liked the log cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samsy34227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    53
    54
    40
    20
See reviews for
59
97
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We wished we stayed longer than 2 days at this hotel. It's hard to find but it's well worth the drive. The property is set in the middle of a river surrounded by mountains. It has an amazing thermal pool which I was told is fed by a vein from a close volcano. We had a stardart room which was big and spacious, the rate included breakfast which you can choose any from the menu. The staff was very polite and friendly. The hotel exceeded our expectations. We'll recomend it to friends.

Room Tip: The rooms are all separated so they feel very private. Unless You want to pay more there is no need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goetz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My son and I stayed there once before in 2008 and had a great experience. However, there reservation website requires credit card and passport information and then the staff NEVER gets back to you if they are booked. After three attempts, we had to call them (international call) to see if they had availability, only to find out that they did not have any vacancy. What happened to the courtesy of a response to let you know that this wasn't a phishing website. I don't know if it is still owned by the former Braniff Airline pilot, but it sounds like the staff needs a good kick in the (well, you know what) or it will go the same direction as the airline.

So now we are down to the last minute to make reservations and the FINE folks at the Orosi Lodge were VERY accomodating and helpful. A German family owned and operated lodge that we enjoyed. Even when we were wrong in our belief of checkout time and came back two hours late, there was no penalty. Now this was also because the room was not booked afterwards. However, they could have charged extra.

So my put on this is to stay at the OROSI LODGE if given the choice.

Room Tip: Book at the Orosi Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cartago hotels

San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

This a very nice quite hotel right inside the mountains. It is all about nature and relaxation, so ince. It looks like a small hotel, but you will be surprise. I just love it. the service is very good, but the food could be a litle bite better

Room Tip: chose the ones that are far up the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauricio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flemington, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

The grounds are well kept but when you go into your room you are immediately disgusted by the dead insects on the floor. The places is outdated and the TV doesn't work because the channels are all blurry. The bathroom's hot water supply is not hot but warm, and the shower stall doors are stuck and screws are coming loose. The restaurant had horrendous food they over charged and our waitstaff was friendly but blindly unaware that Christmas lights should only be used during the holidays and packaged cheese slices should never be used on salads. Everything we ordered was too salty and even our drinks could not be done correctly as their sodas were flat. I have never been to a place that looks so good in pictures but turned out to be such a place I would never want to visit again. Sorry!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karson Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Have been visiting Rio Perlas for over a year to use hot spring pool but always put off staying by reviews on Tripadviser. However, due to Orosi lodge being full just spent lovey two nights here with my wife, 4 year old daughter and friend visiting from England. Our rooms were spacious, nicely maintained, came with coffe makers and freebies such as shoe shine,sowing kit etc.Setting is lovely and you can go for a fairly extensive hike in the grounds, followed by a lovely swim in hot spring. Breakfast was a buffet with good selection of eggs, Gallo pinto, fruits, pastries and toast. We ate in the restaurant one night and food was alright and by costa rican standards good value. Overall a lovely place to stay and if you are there do check out the many splendours of the lovely Orosi valley.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kieran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

To be fair, this is the Green Season and they were working on several projects. The grounds are beautiful and there are trails leading up into the mountain. The mineral pool was an ungodly murky green when we arrived. We've stayed at hot springs spas/ resorts and the water ususally has a green tinge but with this pool you expected the Loc Ness Monster to surface. The swimming pool was cloudy and they were doing some kind of construction. So, 1 day to use the pools and we couldn't. The next morning the mineral pool was unbelievably clear! We saw several workers around the pool the previous afternoon and they worked a miracle! We had to leave before using the pools so I can't report on them.
Our room, while large was spartan. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. The floors had been mopped but were not clean and this is the first time I have ever put my sandals on just to walk across the floor. To the defense of the housekeepers, there are no rugs and the asphalt drive tracks in to the room.
I think this is probably the best accomodation in the Orosi area but it the rooms are outdated. Everything has an old and not cared for look. Like a lot of places, the first glance looks good but it is only surface. The porticos have a warm feeling but no chairs on which to sit.
The restaurant is "upscale" but our meals were only so-so. there is a complimentry breakfast which was meager. They have breakfast on the menu but it caused a major confusion when we wanted to order off the menu so we gave up and ate the buffet.
There is free WIFI near the gate house.
Because of the season, our room was $111 including tax and they said the room in High Season would be $136. I only mention this so you can compare.
Since this is Costa Rica and not in a metro area, we didn't expect English to be spoken and other than at the reception, it wasn't. However, all the staff needs more training to provide a better vacation experience for the guests.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joyceh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartago
8.0 mi away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
255 reviews
3.1 mi away
Paraiso Orocay Lodge
Paraiso Orocay Lodge
#5 of 5 in Cartago
39 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Las Brumas
Hotel Las Brumas
#4 of 5 in Cartago
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Reventazon
Hotel Reventazon
#2 of 3 in Orosi
58 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel y Restaurante El Guarco
18.0 mi away
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve &...
#2 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rio Perlas Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rio Perlas Spa & Resort

Property: Hotel Rio Perlas Spa & Resort
Address: Valle de Orosi, Cartago 95-7100, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Cartago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cartago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rio Perlas Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 65 rooms ravishing property, Among the finest five star hotels in Costa Rica is set in the beautiful and legendary Orosi Valley 39 Km./ 24 Mls. from San José represents the only Mountain & Spa destination in the area. the exclusive Hotel Río Perlas Spa & Resort is surrounded by tropical gardens of the rain and cloud forest with many natural attractions as: Tapantí National Park (15 Km./ 9 Mls.), the Irazú Volcano (57 Km./ 35 Mls.), the Turrialba Volcano (30 Km./ 19 Mls.), the Arqueological Reserve of Guayabo ( 30Km. / 19 Mls.), the Pacuare and Reventazón Rivers normally used for white water rafting, the Lankaster Gardens (9 Km./ 6 Mls.), the Ujarrás Valley and also the Cathedral of Nuestra Señora de los Angeles located in the center of the old Costa Rica metropole: Cartago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rio Perlas Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rio Perlas Cartago
Hotel Rio Perlas Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Cartago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing