We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Rio Perlas Spa & Resort
Nearby Hotels
Hotel y Restaurante El Guarco(Cartago)(Great Value!)
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Las Brumas(Cartago)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Quelitales(Cartago)
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paraiso Orocay Lodge(Cartago)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Reventazon(Orosi)(Great Value!)
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveller rating
54
62
64
46
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
62
64
46
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ricathermal waterhoneymoon suitebeautiful propertythe wi firomantic getawaychickenorosi valleyhiking trailsout of the waypollopoolsgroundsbirdsnatureranchomountains
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 248 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2014

When I first saw the resort it took my breath away, the website doesn't do it justice. The landscape, the spanish style suits, the pools, and trails--absolutely gorgeous. You can wake up in the morning and hear exotic birds singing while you drink your coffee, it is so tranquil and calming. We loved it. We stayed in the suites they were huge AND clean. They had separate rooms for sleeping and one for watching tv. The food was delicious, service was a little slow inside, but they were quick to give me my drinks outside while i bathed in the pool. It was such a pleasant experience, we loved it. We will go again.

Room Tip: The suites, you have to get one of the suites, it's big and spacious, the rooms are separated with a living room.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioPerlasResort, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Rio Perlas Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014
Google Translation

Nos complace mucho saber que cumplimos con sus espectativas, comentarios como estos nos instan a seguir mejorando día a día. Esperamos nos visiten nuevamente. Saludos cordiales.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This hotel consists of a lot of huts, some duplex, many individual, strung out on paths on a very long river valley. The valley is so steep that there is no path at the river itself. Cars are not allowed - they take you from the check in, by the entrance, and car park to your room, by golf buggy, and then you are on your own. Our room was ok - not well maintained, and it took them four hours to replace two light bulbs. TV is pathetic, but I only tried it just to see if it worked!

We stayed up on maybe the third level above the valley. There were enough lights to see the way to the restaurant, after descending many paths to the river bridge, and then hauling up the other side. Dinner was ok - local fish comes from ponds, off of the river, half a mile upstream and is quite tasty. The spa were helpful. The large cold swimming pool was refreshing, after walking 1/2 mile to get there. Breakfast was buffet, and lovely views in the morning. There is fairly thick vegetation going up the sides of the valley, and lots of birds.

The grounds have lots of scattered "hot tubs" in the open air, they are discoloured because the water is natural geothermal, often scalding hot, and full of that crazy rotten eggs smell from the sulphur. The river falls continuously, so there is some noise.

I would not call it romantic.

It's great for exploring the valley of the Orosi River, and Lankester Gardens, etc. Best to have a 4 wheel drive vehicle.

The chapel and small "conference area were not open.

Room Tip: Higher levels have more light, less noise, but more walking!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This was a one night romantic getaway for us; we did enjoy it a lot. We MUST say the service, the staff was remarkable, and workers are really friendly and willing to help very nice happy staff that made us feel welcome from the moment we entered.
The Grounds are beautiful, gardens are very well kept, magic scenery, very green, and if you love nature you will love it here, it has a nice river that goes through it. It also has a little chapel very nice and cozy and a conference center next to it. The place is very secluded, no phone signal, the Wi-Fi only works well in certain common areas and is really weak in the rooms. I think this is a good thing if you really want to get away from work and just relax, it was fine for me. But other people might find this as a con.
We had dinner and breakfast at the restaurant Taberna del Capitan Bar, Restaurante and Grill, for dinner my boyfriend ordered chicken stuffed with veggies and cheese this was excellent, I ordered a garlic trout filet which was very salty; not what I expected, the restaurant is decorated nicely and as mentioned before the staff was really welcoming. Breakfast was average, gallo pinto, eggs (scrambled with too much milk) sausage, and very tasty plantain.
Now this place is promoted as a 5 star hotel but it doesn’t meet the criteria to be considered 5 stars. The place was design nicely but it is desperate need of an update and maintenance. The owners need to invest some money into it.
The rooms were comfortable and big but felt really old and outdated with regular TVs’; I think to be a 5 stars they should upgrade to flat screens, also had a big mirror, refrigerator, coffee maker, safe box, hairdryer, table and 2 chairs, fan, and lamps. There was only one room next to ours and we could literally hear the person snoring in his room.
Cleanness: I found cockroach in the bathroom. My boyfriend and I decided to go for a walk to know the whole property which is really stunning itself we could wait to get into the hot tubs since they have several, but, some of them if not all of them were REALLY dirty, with green stuff on the walls, like the last time they were cleaned was months ago! Disgusting! During our walk we crossed a little iron bridge and this awful smell hit us, to our surprise when we looked down we saw drain water (SEWER) going in straight to the beautiful river SO DISAPPOINTING this place is CONTAMINATING THE RIVER!!!! They must find a way to control their drain waters ASAP. LOOK AT THE PICTURES.
Overall as I said the best thing they have is the staff, the place, the gardens the grounds are very nice, in extreme need of an update and take actions with the hygiene of the tubs and fix the sewer problems.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Naomi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We went on a romantic gateway to Hotel Río Perlas. We rented a junior suite wanting to get some privacy and quiet time. But the walls were so thin that we could hear our neighbors, who to our misfortune were way too noisy. We expected to hear nature’s sounds, not other people´s TV and family problems!!! It does not definitely deserve the 5 starts they claim for themselves! It probably was a great hotel some years ago, but it looks as if it had not received any maintenance since its opening, so everything looks outdated and worn-out. The room looked like an old cabin and it was really moldy; on top of that, the fan did not work much, so we could not ventilate it to get rid of the awful smell. The safe was not working properly and when they came to check, they said it had run out of batteries but did not solve the problem. I’m pretty sure other more modest cabins in the Los Santos area will be way better!!
The location is splendid, the scenery is magic. It’s a real shame because it could be a stunning place to relax and enjoy nature. But as it is, it’s just a horrible pricey place to visit!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SNR80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Our family stayed here 2 nights/3 days. We had an incredible experience, very clean rooms, friendly staff, food was great for $15 on average. Very accessible from San Jose, we had lots of fun observing the nature, the trails, the fish, birds, swimming in the near-by river, and hanging around the pool. The warm pool was great because the weather is not necessarily hot. Loved the place and we will come back. Great place for relaxed vacations

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews