We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and very friendly”

Hostel Casa del Cafe
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orosi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostel Casa del Cafe
Berlin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Comfortable and very friendly”
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in this nice house with 3 guest rooms. The beds were very comfortable and a treat for my back. The owner lives in the other side of the building with his wife and adorable kids. He is very helpful in all regards, as he made phone calls for us and described how to reach sights and activities nearby.
The short walk from Orosi to the hostel is spectacular as you walk over a suspension bridge (and big surprise, it's free!) that passes a wild river. Orosi is not that overrun by tourists which was a nice change in Costa Rica. Everyone treated and greated us friendly. There are free hot springs just outside the village and it was definitely worth going there.
Walter himself makes a very nice breakfast according to your wishes. The meals are accompanied by barista-styled yummy coffee. Great!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Big L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in that nice, homy hostel. We are a family of 5 and we were all very pleased! The breakfast is big, the place is very clean and Walter is always there for everything! Orosi valley Is a beautiful area which worth visiting with different attractions, in great prices! Highly recommended!!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Noa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karkur
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

The hostel is simple but good. The rooms are a bit small but everything is clean and comftorable to use. We stayed in a private room (for couple) and it was 30 dollars a night including a good breakfast.
The owner is the best part of the hostel. Walter is a very nice guy and really helpful! He made phone calls for us and helped us find something to do even though it was raining. He knew that we are leaving early so he made us breakfast at 6:00! And his kids are adorable and friendly.
Also, walter makes great coffe wich is part of the service :)

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pelegkushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puyallup, WA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

For the price, rooms & shared bath were fair. Ample breakfasts. Walter provided helpful information about the area. The issue I have with Walter--he was watching their 2 young boys (wife busy at their soda in town), while wanting to converse with us, his visitors. I can get past the youngest being tearful--he had a medical problem that they were getting care for. It was Walter's failure to deal with the 4-year old son's vying for attention that was unsettling.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I just returned from Costa Rica after spending 3 nights at the Hostel Casa Del Cafe. The Hosts, Walter and Sucel are very nice and helpful and they will show you around Orosi. For the price, this small hostel cannot be beat as breakfast is included. I will be back in 2014 for a much longer stay. The only objection is the shared bathroom. The location is very peaceful and clean. The hostel itself is also clean and attractive and it is close to the center of Orosi. It is possible to walk to the town center in about 10 minutes. I have visited Costa Rica for many years and I would say that the Orosi valley area is one of the nicest areas in central Costa Rica, especially because of the climate.

Room Tip: The front room is probably the most private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
123 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

My wife and I were trying to reach Orosi, then Tapanti NP after we had problems at another location farther east. We took the road from Cachi towards Orosi, not realizing that the only bridge over the Orosi River for vehicles was closed for construction. We started heading back to find another way, and saw the Hostel Casa del Cafe a short distance from the road, hoping that maybe we could get lunch.

When we parked and went in, Walter met us and let us know that he only served coffee to non guests, but we decided to drink some coffee and talk to him. Enjoyed our conversation as we talked about the changing climate of tourism in Costa Rica. Before leaving, we looked at each of the rooms. Though simple and small, they are spotlessly clean as is the bathroom. Kitchen facilities are available to guests. And the price is very low.

And the surroundings are really nice. The river is a short distance away with a footbridge into Orosi, and there are lots of beautiful birds flying around the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

Walter is the perfect host, serving excellent breakfast and delicious coffee. Always prepared to give good advise for your daytrips.
The hostel is small, clean and quietly located, walking distance from the center of Orosi. Great value for very little money.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Youngcoupl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orosi hotels
0.0 mi away
Orosi Lodge
Orosi Lodge
#1 of 3 in Orosi
389 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Reventazon
Hotel Reventazon
#2 of 3 in Orosi
58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chalet Orosi
Chalet Orosi
#1 of 4 in Orosi
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Montana Linda Hostel
Montana Linda Hostel
#1 of 9 in Orosi
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Guest House Montana Linda
0.0 mi away
Finca Agropecuaria Queveri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Casa del Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Casa del Cafe

Property: Hostel Casa del Cafe
Address: 200 mtrs norte de puente azul | y 125 mtrs este casa amarilla, Orosi 30203, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Orosi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Orosi
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing