We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Friendly, and Quiet”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orosi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kiri Mountain Lodge
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My friend and I stayed here two nights. Kiri Lodge is located in the cloud forest right next to Tapantí National Park. The cabin was very clean. It was simple, but it had what one needs: comfortable bed, bathroom, shelf space. The bathroom was a beautiful piece of art: the walls and shower were of dark rock set in the wall. We had a table and a front porch which were great to sit at when we woke up in the morning and watched birds before going to breakfast. There were many Oro Pendola (giant blackbirds with long, bright yellow tail feathers) right in front of our cabin working on their nests in the palm trees. We enjoyed listening to their colorful calls and watching their busy nest building.

I found out this Lodge is run and owned by a family. The women who I met at the restaurant were mother and daughter, and they were very sweet and helpful. The daughter is knowledgeable about birds and appreciates the wildlife. There are bird books available for guest perusal.

It is a birder's paradise, or a paradise for anyone who likes nature and animals. There are trees and flowering plants, and birds all over and in all colors. The restaurant is gorgeous. It has a large, elevated outdoor section. My friend and I enjoyed sitting out at the canopy-level restaurant with our binoculars and looking at birds while drinking coffee and eating. The grounds are very nicely landscaped with flowers, trees, and dark rock motif walkways.

The place is very reasonably priced: you and another person can stay in a cabin for $45 a night, and this includes a generous fresh breakfast with coffee. The restaurant is convenient for eating the other two meals: the food is delicious, too. The full trout is fresh and prepared in pineapple or garlic, and the pineapple was really good, I ate it twice. The family offers the traditional casado for the lunch and dinner.

The family will also run you down to the nearby National Park Tapantí for a small fee, or you can walk there (about 3 km). The park is beautiful with trails and plenty of views and jungle plants and animals to keep you busy all day. Kiri Lodge is on a large piece of land and they have their OWN trail for guests, too, to a waterfall behind the cabins. It is good, long walk, and it has many vistas and gains in altitude. You should allow half a day for it.

We loved this place. It is so incredibly beautiful and quiet, and the owners of the Lodge were really nice. We felt at home here. I highly recommend Kiri Lodge!

Room Tip: Just ask for extra blankets if you get cold. No heaters here.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy44881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
There are newer reviews for Kiri Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

Beautiful environment.....A paradise for bird-watchers.....
Hummingbirds, Oropendolas and others love to feed around the lodge...
Friendly staff...
Highly recommended.....

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cclc2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed one night at the kiri lodge and had a good time. Its excellent to go to the national park from there and u are surrounded by djungelmountains. The lady in charge is lauta and she was super sweet and a great cook. They breed their own trouts there and its interesting to see plus its super delicious for only 8 dollars! Njoy! We would come back!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vfromd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Just a few minutes from Tapanti National Park. Nice duplex lodging, very inexpensive.
The family restaurant is based on their trout ponds, which are fed from the stream which
tumbles through the property. Weekends see a lot of Costa Ricans
who come to catch their own fish and have it cooked in the restaurant. Otherwise no crowds.
Tico food is very well prepared and quite inexpensive. The bird feeders outside the restaurant
attract numerous gorgeous tropical species at breakfast.
Nights are cool; bring silk long underwear or warm PJs.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

the young lady who dealt with us when checking in/out,and for dinner/breakfast,was great-very cheerful,and patient with my stumbling attempt at spanish.the two adjoining rooms for our group of 6 were spacious and clean,(bearing in mind that this is a very wet rainforest area).some panes were missing in the bathroom which maybe? allowed in a few extra bugs.the trout for dinner was v.good,but the cheese square in 2 slices (toasted sandwich) was a little dissapointing!.the breakfast was good quality and of reasonable size.sitting on the veranda watching all the birdlife/and the reception more than made up for any minor niggles.very close to tapanti park which is pretty (from what we saw through the mist/rain),but didnt see any fauna-except birds,(and 1 v.v.large tarantula).dont forget a walk around the gardens/fish ponds!.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rob-t-35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

We stayed here after leaving the Sanchiri Mirador. It's way out of town, you can reach it by normal car, but 4X4 is probably more suitable.
The rooms are basic but ok. There are no dark curtains, but if you use the spare blankets the rooms are dark enough, The place is in the middle of nature and we loved it, We do not share the experience about the beds, they were ok and we had two good nights sleep.

Service is excellent, the staff makes you feel very comfortable and they are really helpfull. There is a restaurant and they serve the freshest trout you can ever get. Part of the Kiri lodge is a trout nursery and you can have them for lunch and/or dinner. During breakfast you can see all kind of bird including hummingbirds.

From the lodge it is easy to visit the Orosi valley and the Tampanti national park. You can also do a hike from the lodge, but in the green season the path is very muddy.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jk3972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

My partner and I spent three nights at kiri. A wonderful experience! The hosts are very friendly and aim to please. The location is wonderful, 2.5 km from Tapanti' NP and very isolated. Will return and recommend to any traveler.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMMarical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orosi
0.0 mi away
Orosi Lodge
Orosi Lodge
#1 of 3 in Orosi
404 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Boutique La Casona del Cafetal
0.0 mi away
Hotel Reventazon
Hotel Reventazon
#2 of 3 in Orosi
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chalet Orosi
Chalet Orosi
#1 of 4 in Orosi
104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tetey Lodge
Hotel Tetey Lodge
#3 of 3 in Orosi
31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Guest House Montana Linda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiri Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiri Mountain Lodge

Address: 165-7100 Paraiso-Cartago-Costa Rica | 1km from the Tapanti National Park entrance, Orosi, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Orosi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Orosi
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing