We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lodge that feels like home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Turrialba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This lodge is just amazing for people that like great service and rooms that are clean and well kept.The owners Pedro and Roseanne treat every client as if they
are special.Have stayed at the lodge for 6 years in a row and every year they
exceed my expectations. A must stop in Costa Rica
Cuba Discovery Tours

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank willie1Brandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

Fantastic views and comfortable rooms. Excellent birding and great food. Had an excellent cooking class and a warm fire every night. Arsenal visible and closeby.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank f0cus0nsmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

My Girlfriend and I went there to stay for a night, We read on the news that the weather was going to be very nice for us to get to see the Volcano. But unfortunately the clouds took over the whole place, and we did not get a chance to see the Volcano... The owners were very nice to us and advised us to go to the Monumento Guayabo regardless of the weather condition.... We actually enjoyed very much and had a very good time... THe hotel is very nice, clean, and the rest is also very nice as well as the food, the price is very affordable.

THe only problem that we had, was the quality of the mattress since it was not very good we didn't sleep that well on it.

Room Tip: If you are not in Turrialba or coming from somewhere where you must pass Turrialba, which means you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reubenuk777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This wonderful and friendly lodge is beautifully situated within view of Turrialba Volcano and has a magnificent night view of Turrialba's city lights sparkling in th valley below. If you have a chance to arrange for a cooking lesson, do so. It is fun and your meal will be delicious! This is a good place to relax for several days and is within driving distance to Irazu Volcano, the Guayabo archaeological site, Cartago, CATIE and the Orosi Valley.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Veraguas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed in a suite with a spectacular view from our bedroom window and balcony. The room was spacious and very private. We couldn't have asked for a friendlier atmosphere that far exceded all of our expectations. Our hosts were very hospitible and gracious to our entire group. We enjoyed a two nights stay where we enjoyed walks on the property, full of lovely surprises of flora and fauna. One night the owner and her staff gave us a cooking lesson where we were given the opportunity to have a hands on experience of preparing a traditional meal. We wouldn't hesitate to return to the Guayabo Lodge where we could relax and enjoy the peaceful atmosphere.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite separate from the main lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laurakotschorek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We spent the night at Hotel Guayabo Lodge and loved our stay. Our room was spacious with an amazing view of the volcano. The service was amazing. Pedro and his staff went above and beyond to ensure we had everything we needed. We especially enjoyed breakfast with fresh juice, melon, homemade bread and pineapple marmalade. We highly recommend this lodge and hope to return soon. The Donahues

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisnash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

enjoyed my short stay-room was small but nicely appointed-grounds are lovely and common areas are inviting-not so impressed with food though-

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turrialba
9.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Turire
Hotel Casa Turire
#3 of 12 in Turrialba
294 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
263 reviews
14.2 mi away
Orosi Lodge
Orosi Lodge
#1 of 3 in Orosi
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Florencia
Hotel Villa Florencia
#4 of 12 in Turrialba
102 reviews
14.1 mi away
Pacuare Lodge
Pacuare Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pacuare River
550 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Interamericano
Hotel Interamericano
#8 of 12 in Turrialba
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Guayabo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Guayabo Lodge

Address: Sur del Cementerio de Sta Cruz 300 m | Santa Cruz de Turrialba, Turrialba 30504, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Turrialba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Turrialba
Price Range: £53 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Guayabo Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guayabo Lodge is a 24 room cozy mountain eco-Lodge located in the outskirts of the Turrialba volcano, 2 hours from the airport. Excellent rooms and magnificent views. Enjoy nature, rafting, canopy or hiking, tour the smoking volcano, visit the Guayabo Archaeological Park or the CATIE botanical garden. Our restaurant offers a selected menu of Costa Rican and international dishes, taking advantage of tropical ingredients and creations from Guayabo Lodge Cooking School. Our bar is open every evening and offers a great selection of fruit juices, cocktails, beers and wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Guayabo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Guayabo Lodge Costa Rica/Turrialba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing