We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff with nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Villa Florencia
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Turrialba
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This hotel is around 5 KM out of town, so you need a car or a round trip Taxi ride could cost up to $20. The grounds are very pretty and the facilities are nice for lounging! Rooms are clean and nice. The restaurant is very expensive for the type and quality of food, so expect to pay $25 for the Typical Plate. Maybe because we were off season the chef was some local women. The staff had limited English, but were easy to work with. One night there was a private party on the grounds and I was happy that the staff informed us of the party and made sure it quieted down by 10:30 PM.

Room Tip: The top rooms are really lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

We had a reservation for the "family room", but we were offered 2 separate rooms instead which was an awesome option, since we are 4 adults. The setting is lovely with the pool and gardens. It was a relaxng next to last day in Costa Rica after a drive from Jaco. Tavo was an awesome host, he is the chef in the restaurant and it was the BEST meal we had in Costa Rica!! He also had our daughters laughing with his broken English and tempting fruit appetizer! He was a huge help early in the morning helping me print our boarding passes for our flight home later that night after our river rafting adventure!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fwblondy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This little lodge is located in a hill surrounded by sugar cane plantations, close to the town of Turrialba. It has a nice park and mountain view. I stayed there only two nights with a colleage. We got a large room with two queen-size beds, small closet (not enough for two, actually), complimentary wi-fi access, satellite TV, rather poor mini-bar, coffee maker, fan (no A/C!), and a lot of bugs as usual for tropical countries! Outside the room, we had a small table and two chairs right on the garden, which was very nice. You could see and hear a lot of birds.

The bathroom was big, with limited ammenities and, oddly enough, instead of a regular door, it had a large mirror (mirror side facing the beds) as a sliding door. Our W/C did not work properly so after the first night we ended up using the restaurant's bathroom! Of course, they said they fixed it, but it was not really the case... Another problem is that there is nowhere to hang anything and nowhere to put the toiletries! The bathroom mirror is located opposite the bathroom basin, which is quite unusual.

Outside in the garden there is a pool with jacuzzi. There is also a small gym. There is a restaurant, but I did not have the chance to eat there. Breakfast was quite limited: eggs, cheese, ham, bread and fruit.

Staff is friendly and ready to help.

Overall, except for our 'bathroom adventure', we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Palasatenea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Spent a couple of nights here as part of a business group and really enjoyed it. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable, modern baths etc. Breakfast was fine, with good service and very friendly and accomodating staff. Best of all however are the grounds and surroundings. The garden is made up of mature trees, flowering plants. A walk up the road behind the hotel in early morning took me through sugar cane fields to some indigenous forest, and when the mist cleared, a view of a smoking volcano in the distance.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ditchnapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We had only one night in this gorgeous place but recommend it highly. The gardens are sublime, the room was very comfortable and spacious and the food delicious. A terrific stop over point for white water rafting. Intimate and peaceful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed here in March 2012. The location of the hotel is very nice, and the scenery lovely. The hotel and grounds are well cared for. The front desk staff were outstanding. Our room was fine, other than a problem with the door latch. The latch would not catch without applying the force of a 300 pound gorilla. When this was brought to the attention of the staff, they sent the maintenance man, who was clearly aware of the issue. He demonstrated how to apply the 300 pounds of force to get the door to latch, and nothing more. The food in the restaurant was not particularly good during our stay, and the staff in the restaurant were not friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JF&PM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Within twenty minutes of arrival I was lolling in the Jacuzzi, and the swimming pool staring at the moon. Lovely property way up dirt roads into sugar cane fields - a zillion brilliantly colored birds.
Very gracious staff. Excellent food. My only complaint is with travelers who don't stay there when
they are in Turrialba.

Room Tip: My lovely room faced out towards hills, the front porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jchapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turrialba
8.1 mi away
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
#1 of 12 in Turrialba
290 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Turire
Hotel Casa Turire
#3 of 12 in Turrialba
296 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Interamericano
Hotel Interamericano
#8 of 12 in Turrialba
65 reviews
12.4 mi away
Pacuare Lodge
Pacuare Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pacuare River
557 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Wagelia Turrialba
Hotel Wagelia Turrialba
#9 of 12 in Turrialba
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Florencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Florencia

Address: Metros Noreste de la Ciudadela la Susanita 800 | 800 Metros Noreste de la Ciudadela la Susanita, Turrialba, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Turrialba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Turrialba
Price Range: £123 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villa Florencia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Florencia is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the beautiful landscape of the Turrialba Valley.Settled in the middle of Sugar Cane plantations and surrounded by mountains and tropical gardens, this hotel offers its guest a family oriented atmosphere and all the comfort of a boutique hotel. Villa Florencia Hotel offers an open air concept, surrounded by gardens, an open air gym, trails to walk on your own, a wonderful Jacuzzi and a beautiful swimming pool.The hotel has 11 guest rooms that allowed for a personalized service and a warm setting. All the rooms have private bath with hot water, satellite TV, coffee maker, hair dryer, safety deposit box and unique décor. Villa Florencia has a gourmet restaurant “Veroliz” named after the flower of the sugar cane, and offers a variety of menus including special diets upon request. The restaurant offer fresh ingredients and creative cooking, full of flavors, they even have a special menu for kids design by the owner’s daughters and a special menu for honeymooners on private garden. The area offers a enormous diversity of activities, that the staff of the hotel will be happy to organize for you, rafting the Pacuare and Reventazon River, visits to Guayabo Arqueological site, exploring the CATIE Botanical Garden or the very active Turrialba Volcano are just some of the activities located a few minutes away from Villa Florencia. Turrialba is also known as one of the best areas in Costa Rica to observe wildlife, specially birds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Florencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florencia Hotel Turrialba
Hotel Villa Florencia Costa Rica/Turrialba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing