We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Interamericano
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Cerro Alto Lodge(Turrialba)
View Hotel
  • Room Service
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Quelitales(Cartago)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rancho Naturalista(Turrialba)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
18
26
15
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
26
15
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrafting tripfirst floorstayed here for nightswhite water raftingsleephostelaccommodation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This hotel is clean and very fun. It has a wonderful atmosphere for a group of friends. The couple who runs the hotel speaks great English, and is very willing to help you with travel plans if necessary. The rooms are spacious and very great for the price! I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prothror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I enjoyed staying at the Hotel Interamericano in Turrialba. The property once was a railroad station hotel, so, although it is not new, it has a convenient location from which to explore Turrialba.

Turrialba is a good base for whitewater rafting but the area is also good for birders and also plant lovers or students of tropical agriculture. The world-famous research center CATIE is located in Turrialba. CATIE is a short bus ride away from town and has an interesting botanic garden ($10).

Turrialba is a little less touristy than a lot of places in Costa Rica, and that's a good thing.

The owners have wonderful, friendly dogs and two nice small children. They are busy but friendly. The kids and dogs are not allowed upstairs where the rooms are.

I enjoyed staying in a room near the porch. I would recommend a room with a window for ventilation.

One note - the bus station is a few blocks uphill from the hotel, so it is easy coming into town, but you may want to catch a cab going out if you have a lot of luggage or children.

Unfortunately, there isn't really a cooking area, so I bought some whole-grain bread at a health-food store nearby....and also ate fried chicken, which is ubiquitous in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Get a room with a window for ventilation. Shared porch is a good spot in the early morning for urban birding if you have binoculars, checklist, and telephoto.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R_S_10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

I enjoyed my one night here. I had a room with a shared bath, which was small but clean. Not too much street noise, and staff was helpful. Simple, clean, safe place within walking distance to everything in Turrialba. Greenmarket happens on train tracks in front of hotel on Fridays and Saturdays. GREAT way to get affordable produce and to try some queso de Turrialba.

Room Tip: Some don't have windows. The first one they gave me didn't, and because it wasn't full it was no problem to switch.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

The hotel was good for the price, with friendly staff, good location, and we were set up with a white water rafting trip very easily (everyone must do this). I would stay here again if I ever felt like returning to Turrialba.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssilver617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

The hotel is neat, clean and tidy. The owners are kind and eager to help organize rafting trips. We had a triple room with shared bathroom, and everything was just fine: clean rooms, good quality of sleep (despite some noise coming from the road nearby), clean toilets, hot shower, and very nice common area with plenty of books and table games.
The location is also good for exploring the town of Turrialba, and the room was also good value for money.
We would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorepansana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews