We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go for more than the birds!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rancho Naturalista

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Turrialba
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rancho Naturalista
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Turrialba
Certificate of Excellence
Santiago de Puriscal, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Go for more than the birds!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We spent a weekend at Rancho with a group- the Birding Club of Costa Rica - expats and Costa Ricans that go all over the country on birding trips. The reason to select Rancho was because of its reputation for birding, and it did not disappoint! BUT... if you are not a 'birder' but want to see a really beautiful part of Costa Rica and have a wonderful time - head to Rancho. First, the rooms are wonderful - we stayed in the Lodge and see for yourself in the photos - beautiful room looking out over both the hummingbird feeders and a spectacular view of the valley and the Irazu and Turrialba volcanos. Meals are another huge plus - seriously great food . We are vegetarians and they are well prepared and served some of the better vegetarian dishes we have had in the country. Service is incredible - Lisa the manager and her team are attentive, helpful and cater to your every need. Hiking , horseback riding are available , and you are a day trip away from wonderful sites to see such as the Sloth Sanctuary on the coast and the newly updated National Monument Park at Guyabo - a really interesting pre-columbian site to visit . Oh, and the birding is great too ;-) We saw over 100 different species over the weekend and the guides were wonderful. All in all , a most wonderful stay - highly recommend it to any lover of nature as a base for visiting this part of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomaSchultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TexasTicaCR, Manager at Rancho Naturalista, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
We feel that it was an honor for us to have had the Birding Club of Costa Rica as our guests at Rancho Naturalista. We know that you travel all over Costa Rica to the best birdwatching sites and that you have seen most of the best places to stay, so we are super happy that you enjoyed your stay at our little Lodge. Thank you for the kind review and know that you are always welcome back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    28
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
26
94
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Recently traveled here on a birder trip to Costa Rica and have to say this was a fantastic place to stay. I loved the owners Lisa and Mario who made sure we were a happy crew and we were! The experience of having so many varieties and numbers of hummingbirds plus other birds was marvelous. I have to say the food was spectacular and really close to a 5 star restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaReal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TexasTicaCR, Manager at Rancho Naturalista, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
We feel honored that you rated our gourmet meals at Rancho Naturalista so highly! We hope that you will return again someday to enjoy some birdwatching and maybe to look for some of the ones that you haven't seen yet. Thank you for taking the time to give us a nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monteverde, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

It's time to get out the thesaurus and find lots of superlatives. My husband and I and two companions recently spent 2 nights at Rancho Naturalista. It was an extremely positive experience. Lisa, the manager, was helpful, efficient, upbeat, and did everything to make our stay just perfect including giving us advice of a place to stay the night before we got there and other travel tips. The staff are extremely well trained. We loved our rooms (in the main building). They were extremely spacious and comfortable with lovely views. Everything was tiptop from the comfort of the bed to the fluffiness of the towels.
We all really enjoyed the food—even though I'm a bit of fusspot about food and don't eat meat. I would imagine it's important to tell them ahead of time of dietary restrictions because all food is ordered and prepared for whoever is there. I found the vegetarian plates they made for me some of the very best I've been offered as a non-meat eater in Costa Rica.
Two of us are avid birders but all four of us enjoyed the well maintained trails. The moth attracting light was really cool. First thing in the morning we could go and see some very interesting birds at the breakfast buffet of insects. Some birds, like the white-belled wood wrens and red-throated ant tanagers that are usually hard to get a glimpse of were right there in the open, super easy to see. A unique attraction is a series of natural pools in the forest where hummingbirds come to bathe. There is an observation deck above the ponds and it's great fun to sit there in the afternoon watching as various hummingbirds come for a bath. Of course, for wonderful close up views of many species in really good light, the hummingbird feeders by the main building are excellent. We also liked the idea of the hummingbird feeders in the woods where slightly different species come and the setting is more natural.
One morning we hired Cali, one of Rancho's local guides. He was excellent and we saw many birds with him, including nesting sun bitterns at a nearby location. With his help we saw 3 lifers before breakfast (and our Costa Rica list is over 500 so it's getting hard to add new ones.)
Really the only thing wrong with our stay at Rancho Naturalista was that it was much too short. We hope to be back soon and spend more time in paradise.

Room Tip: Casitas might be quieter if you are staying when a big group is there, especially if some of them ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rududucarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TexasTicaCR, Manager at Rancho Naturalista, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
It is so nice to have our guests feel happy and satisfied with the Rancho Naturalista experience. We thank you for the wonderful review! We really enjoyed having you as our guests and we hope to see you back again soon. Good luck with building up your impressive Costa Rica bird list!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

The most wonderful birding experience in Costa Rica. The host and hostess, Mario and Lisa, and their staff were gracious and very knowledgable of the birds, flora and history. Saw many endangered species if birds. The food was delicious and authentic. I highly recommend this mountain resort. We were a party of ten and we all agree this was the highlight of our Costa Rican birding trip. :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TexasTicaCR, Manager at Rancho Naturalista, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
We loved hosting your group and having the chance to meet them! We are sure with a lively group such as yours, every day is an adventure and we hope your vacation continues to be exciting as you travel to new locations in Costa Rica. The morning spent at the farmers market in Turrialba "La Feria" was a lot of fun! Thank you for the nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed here as part of a group birding tour ( Ornitholidays for ref). However I must stress that from observation, individual travellers received the same fantastic service and support as a group. Our room was in a separate block, two huge beds so happy nights in one each! Rooms clean and airy. Wow if you get chance have laundry done good price and returned that day ironed and neatly folded! Food most enjoyable and plentiful the open terrace stunning for birds as you ate. The service professional. Environs superb for birds ,( and tarantula) with on site guides so helpful. One reason we chose our bird tour was because they stayed here - exceeded expectations! Visit them!

Room Tip: Rooms off main building better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puffinmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TexasTicaCR, Manager at Rancho Naturalista, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Wow!, all I can say is "What a nice review" and "thank you!" We are truly satisfied to have our guests leave as happy about their stay at Rancho Naturalista as you did. You would be amazed at how many people appreciate the little things like the laundry, and the details of the rooms. Most people have high expectations of all the birds they want to see but when they arrive at Rancho Naturalista, they are nicely suprised!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Everything was top-notch at Rancho Naturalista. Wonderful birding on the trails and many places to visit nearby. It's a beautiful setting with wonderful views. Both the casitas and main building accommodations are spacious and attractive.The hummingbird feeders made for constant activity and easy viewing. A highlight is the snowcap, often spotted around the grounds. A special treat is the short hike to see the hummingbirds bathing in the natural pools.The family-style meals were simply outstanding; some of the best dishes I have had anywhere. The staff were all very attentive and welcoming the entire time. Lisa and Mario go out of the way to make sure everyone feels at home.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyCone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TexasTicaCR, Manager at Rancho Naturalista, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review about Rancho Naturalista. We are really happy that your group had a good time and felt at home while they were here. We enjoyed visiting with such a nice group and we hope you will come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allendale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

My wife and I stayed 3 nights in the main building and had all our meals there. The room was spacious and very attractive with a lot of wood furnishings and floor and an entrance onto the wrap-around balcony. The staff was helpful and efficient, the public areas were pleasant, and the family-style meal service was fine.
The setting in thee hills, surrounded by forest was levely, with many walks and trails leading from the lodge. The balcony is lined with hummingbird feeders and there are several bird feeders scattered around the back yard below the balcony and outside the dining area. You can easily spend a good piece of the day just watching the several varieties of hummingbirds and the other colorful birds from the balcony.
Most people come for the birds and we went on several birding hikes with Harry Barnard, a guide who was amazingly knowledgeable about not only the birds but nature generally, and was also enthusiastic and funny - we couldn't have asked for a better experience and saw a great variety of birds and learned a lot about their behavior and niche in the ecology..
We want to return and do it again - you certainly can't take advantage of all the hikes available in 3 days.

Room Tip: we were in rm 4 in the main house, 2nd fl, and it was perfect - all rooms seemed quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraMike68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TexasTicaCR, Manager at Rancho Naturalista, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Rancho Naturalista and we thank you for the great review. We are happy that you plan to return once again, it is guests like you that make Rancho Naturalista such a fun place to be!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turrialba
14.9 mi away
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
#1 of 12 in Turrialba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Casa Turire
Hotel Casa Turire
#3 of 12 in Turrialba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Pacuare Lodge
Pacuare Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pacuare River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Florencia
Hotel Villa Florencia
#4 of 12 in Turrialba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
20.1 mi away
Orosi Lodge
Orosi Lodge
#1 of 3 in Orosi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Naturalista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Naturalista

Property: Rancho Naturalista
Address: 1 Km este de Tuis de Turrialba | Tayutic, Turrialba 7150, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Turrialba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Turrialba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The premier birding lodge in Costa Rica, Rancho Naturalista is among the finest in Central America. There are plentiful hummingbirds on the large, open upstairs balcony where you can view the distant smoking volcano. Over 430 species of birds have been recorded in the area. You can hike and bird the trails on your own, and excellent guides are available as well. At Rancho Naturalista the atmosphere is warm and relaxed, and the staff are friendly and welcoming. This comfortable lodge is famous for its excellent food, well prepared, and made with the best fresh local ingredients. (All meals are included.) The weather is almost perfect, not too hot and not too cold. Rancho Naturalista is a wonderful getaway for bird watchers, hikers, and nature lovers! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rancho Naturalista Turrialba
Rancho Naturalista Hotel Turrialba
Rancho Naturalista Costa Rica/Turrialba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing