We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous view, lovely rooms, wonderful value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Turrialtico Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Turrialtico Lodge
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous view, lovely rooms, wonderful value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

We arrived here the night after staying in a loud small city near San Jose. It was just the peaceful oasis we needed. This is a great place to stay the day before or after a river rafting rip on the Rios Paccuare. There's not a whole lot to do at the hotel, but the views are breathtakingly beautiful and the rooms are lovely. There is a little trail you can hike down to a waterfall and swimming hole. That was a lot of fun. Also, there are two hotel dogs who are fun to play with.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    32
    24
    6
    2
See reviews for
18
48
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South China, Maine
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We had a comfortable room in this little hotel perched on a knoll. The panoramic views are great from the dining room. Our jungle room view was perfect for bird watching. We enjoyed the little hike through the rainforest to the waterfall. Isolation is fine if you have your own transportation. We did not, and found that taxi service here is very expensive, and it's too far to walk to town for the bus. The receptionists here are not friendly. They should take lessons in public relations from the wonderful wait staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed one night at the Turrialtico Lodge. We thought there was a view from the room but we were disapointed. Beautiful view at the restaurant though. It might be a little expensive for the quality of the room. Staff is friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColetteR46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We absolutely loved staying at this lodge. I had read about it in Lonely Planet and after a long day of rafting found some serious solace here. We had a great supper in the restaurant and enjoyed gorgeous views looking down toward Turrialba. If you go near this city for rafting or the volcano- or are just passing through town - you won't regret staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Isidro de El General, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Our second time there and enjoyed it just as much as the first. As has been said, the rooms are pretty small and basic but the amazing views more than make up for it. In the main building there is a large upstairs sitting area with comfortable furniture and even when it is raining is very pleasant. The hospitality shown by everyone is wonderful and they make you feel like an old friend. The food was very good and the margaritas made fresh. There is a nice walk to enjoy.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the upstairs room in the main building. Beautiful views from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CostaRicaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

My wife and I spent a few days at Turrialtico in July, It is a wonderful place While the rooms are rather small and simple, they are certainly adequate. The views from the balcony are spectacular. One evening we had a glass of wine and sat out and watched thunderstorms roll through the valley. There is a nice walk down the to the river and waterfall with flowers, birds and butterflies. The dog Luchos was a great guide. We enjoyed the restaurant and I managed to get a really nice steak, which can be a challenge in Costa Rica. The dining room is full of "artifacts" almost a museum, including an old Costa Rican marimba and a lot of old wood carvings. The staff were very nice. The only drawback, and in my opinion a minor one is that the walls are rather thin.

Room Tip: The rooms over the kitchen have the best views if you don't mind the sounds of the patrons talki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triumphman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Views from the rooms and restaurant are amazing. The food in the restaurant is very good. The rooms are basic but the place has a real character and a nice atmosphere. The dog Luchos is really friendly and Mauricio who ran the bar and restaurant did a great job. In summary excellent value for money and thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmsJones26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turrialba
8.1 mi away
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
#1 of 12 in Turrialba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Turire
Hotel Casa Turire
#3 of 12 in Turrialba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Florencia
Hotel Villa Florencia
#4 of 12 in Turrialba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
4.0 mi away
Green Mountain and Lodge
Green Mountain and Lodge
#5 of 12 in Turrialba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hostel Casa de Lis
Hostel Casa de Lis
#1 of 17 in Turrialba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turrialtico Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turrialtico Lodge

Property: Turrialtico Lodge
Address: Ruta 10, Cartago 8 km de Turrialba Carretera a Siquirres, Turrialba 121-7150, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Turrialba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Turrialba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Turrialtico Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turrialtico Lodge is an adventure hotel with picturesque views of the Turrialba Valley, Angostura Lake, and Turrialba Volcano. Equipped with fee in-room wifi, an on-site waterfall hike, rooms overlooking orchid gardens, and an open air restaurant and bar, the Turrialtico is perfect for relaxing on-site or taking day trips to area adventures, including zip-lining, repelling, rafting, and nature hikes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Turrialtico Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turrialtico Lodge Costa Rica/Turrialba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing