We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOT! NOISY! But staff is really nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Wagelia Turrialba
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Turrialba
SanDiego
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“HOT! NOISY! But staff is really nice”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This hotel fronts the main drag in and out of town, so as others have eloquently said, the traffic noise is significant, and loud, bring earplugs. And any noise in the courtyard is magnified by all the tile in the patio. Plus there is no air conditioning, and even in rainy season, I found the room almost too hot to sleep until late in the morning. YEs, there are fans, but I find them too noisy for sleeping. Plus, there are no screens on the windows, so if they are open for air, you are a smorgasbord for mosquitos. If you are concerned about limiting your dengue exposure, you might give this place a pass.
On the other hand, the staff is really very nice, the bar and restaurant are good.
And oh yeah, internet only works near the restaurant, not in the rooms.

Room Tip: Away from the road is less noisy,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJFromSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    18
    33
    8
    2
See reviews for
11
21
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I frequently travel to Turrialba. While I usually stay with friend, there are times when that is not convenient. On those occasions I stay at the Wagelia. It is close to the bus station and the central park. It is within easy walking distance to the outdoor activity companies that provide canyoning, rafting, horseback riding etc. The rooms are fine. True it is not the Ritz, but Turrialba is not Paris. The rooms are clean and comfortable. I believe breakfast is included in the price. The hotel has a restaurant and bar and the prices are reasonable. From time to time a fella on a bike named Tomás comes by with local-made souvenirs. You can bargain if you wish, but the prices are next to nothing. I usually pay what he asks and feel better for it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

unfortunately noisy due to the very busy heavy lorry traffic passing right next to the hotel in the day. Adequate room, staff mostly pleasant and helpful, breakfast was a reasonable typical cooked meal, the only problem was there is only one waiter serving everyone and he's possibly also helping in the kitchen. He tried very hard but service ought to be better. Coffee was slow to arrive . It's ok for a day or two , but not to stay for any longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrMike28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2013

This is a very basic room. I had the twin bed and my husband had the double bed. My husband's bed was horrible. The room was clean and that is about the only good thing I can say about it. Way too much money for what you get. I've had cheaper and better rooms in the US. The most depressing thing was the turtles kept in the lobby. In the 3 nights we stayed, I never saw any food and sometimes no water. One turtle's shell was starting to shrivel up, probably from lack of proper nutrition. I understand turtles need sunlight to manufacture Vitamin D. These turtles got none. For a place that bills itself as environmentally friendly, I'm surprised that they have so little respect for wildlife. These turtles should be released in the wild if possible, or given to a sanctuary that can properly take care of them. I heard from a local that the hotel used to have many more turtles. I wouldn't be surprised if they died from lack of proper care. Terri D

Room Tip: If you decide to stay here, pick a room in the back, away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Turrialba hotels

State of Sao Paulo
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Paid $55 for a room with smelly blanket, poor breakfast, very noisy (from staff shouting in the corridor) and other guests. Curtains did not close completely, lacking privacy. Cannot find anything positive to say, except it is in the center, close to amenities, and front desk staff were friendly.

Room Tip: If you want wifi, be closer to reception, but bring ear plugs, because it is very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler4Fun_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Parking is very limited and tough to get in and out, but the hotel was perfect for us. Food at the restaurant was very good with a great breakfast included in the price of the room. The hotel is on a busy street that gets noisy at about 5am. get a room as far away from the check in desk as possible. Great location in downtown Turrialba. Staff is super friendly and spoke some english. For an affordable hotel, this is a good choice.

Room Tip: As far away from the check-in counter as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blake O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples fl
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We wanted to be in town and this hotel was a good choice. It was convenient, clean, and breakfast was good. The town is busy and sometimes we heard street noise. Ask for a room near the back.

The courtyard interior set up is charming. But Watch the ramp and steps - it is easy to fall as the edges are not clearly marked.

Room Tip: Away from the front. 121 was about as quiet as we could get
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyO119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turrialba
5.3 mi away
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
#2 of 12 in Turrialba
272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Interamericano
Hotel Interamericano
#8 of 12 in Turrialba
65 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Turire
Hotel Casa Turire
#3 of 12 in Turrialba
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Florencia
Hotel Villa Florencia
#4 of 12 in Turrialba
102 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
261 reviews
15.5 mi away
Hotel Rio Perlas Spa & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wagelia Turrialba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wagelia Turrialba

Property: Hotel Wagelia Turrialba
Address: Turrialba centro, Turrialba 997150, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Turrialba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Turrialba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Wagelia Turrialba 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Wagelia Turrialba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Wagelia Turrialba Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing