We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok restaurant”
Review of Marina Papagayo

Marina Papagayo
Attraction details
Level Contributor
322 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Ok restaurant”
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed a couple of hours at the restaurant I took some chicken wings and my wife the catch of the day the mahi was ok . the 13% of taxes and the 10 % of service are not included be aware of it
Food was pretty good the service ok
I heard so much about the marina that I finally went to see
80 of the docks were empty may be 10 boats were there
It was quite a deception and it is not very easy driving to find the place there are not signals

Helpful?
Thank Jcbga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    1
    0
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice marina - great bar”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Arrived by yacht after dark from Nicaragua. Marina staff arranged for customs and immigration to come to yacht the following morning to clear entry. They were pleasant an efficient. Confusion with a neighbor yacht on customs protocol that their boat captain blamed on bad information from marina management. Be sure to understand procedures. They were not granted visitor visas. I don't know who was at fault.

Nice ship's store. Excellent bar restaurant - The Dive Bar. Bartender made fresh, unsweetened iced tea for us. All Latin America seems to have only sweetened iced tea. Had excellent fish and chips made of fresh Mahi Mahi. Very friendly and efficient service. Beautiful grounds.

Marina has rent cars on site. High quality Toyotas. They arranged for us to drive to Los Sueños and drop the cae off there.

Very nice people.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morehead City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We own a charter boat (Dragin Fly) out of Los Suenos Marina and went up to check this marina out. We met with the marina manager and had a wonderful experience. We had a nice tour of the area and he spent as much time with us answering our questions about the area and the marina as we wanted. The place is beautiful! I have looked through the other reviews and the negative ones strike me as odd. We have worked in Costa Rica for over 15 years and the folks working in this area are pros! I imagine that if you attempt to take advantage of the Wi-Fi or sneak into the pools or the showers without being properly docked you may run into some issues, but if you are doing the right things this place is a welcome oasis. We look forward to building a relationship with this marina and its staff over many years to come. Our boat fishes at least one tournament out of here each year and we get superb service.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DownEastGuideService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bradenton
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Marina”
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Great Location. Great marina, great staff. Our plan was to go south to Golfito area for the summer. Turns out Guanacaste has less rainfall than the mid or southern portion of Costa Rica. We wanted to cruise but need a reliable location as a base. Marina Papagayo proved to be a perfect choice for us. The marina is located 25 minutes from the new airport in Liberia,and is so much easier to deal with than San Jose. The Dive Bar located at the marina was a treat as well, with plenty of fresh fish.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rick c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A real gem on the Pacific”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We had a very pleasant experience during our recent visit to Marina Papagayo. The marina is just a few years old and very efficiently managed by Dan and his staff. There is a Four Seasons Resort located on the property which was absolutely fabulous. We even managed to get in a round of golf on their Arnold Palmer designed golf course. It was a real treat to stop at this marina and be pampered after a few rough days coming down. We look forward to returning.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank smi1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marina Papagayo also viewed

Artola, Province of Guanacaste
Area de Conservacion Guanacaste, Province of Guanacaste
 
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
Tenorio Volcano National Park, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Marina Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing