We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nature all around” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palo Verde National Park

Palo Verde National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$120.00*
and up
Palo Verde National Park Riverboat Cruise from Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The water system in this park sustains the largest population of waterfowl and wading birds in Central America.
Warszawa, Polska
Level Contributor
354 reviews
268 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Nature all around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Palo Verde is a very big park, which by nature lovers should be visited at least for a few days. You can enter the main park from the north or take boat rides from the east or south west. When travelling with small kids we decided the latter to limit walking. It's a 1h ride on dirt roads to get to the sleepy village of Puerto Humo.

We arrived around afternoon so there were already no crowds (usually arriving early morning). We knew there will be a bit less to see, but aimed to have a less crowdy experience. It was nice to see we were not ripped off by the boat agent and we got a bigger priviate boat for our family for a price <2 people joining a crowd. Having the boat to our own use allow the guide to tailor the trip to our preference.

We did see a lot of birds, monkeys, aligators in an amazing scenery. Really worth the bumpy ride. Having said that I can image it can turn in to a nightmare visit if you are on crowdy boat, floating for 2-3 hours and on a mandatory lunch. We took 1h+ trip with no lunch , private boat and enjoyed every minute of it. The kids loved it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolszczak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    89
    23
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fun, scenic ride along the river”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

It's not hard getting to. A unpaved rocky road is a little troublesome but not undo able. The docking area is were all the boats come in. The boats can seat 9 people and has life vests. It's a leisurely ride seeing some croc's ,birds, iguana's,monkey's. About 2 hours. We experienced a low tide going out but coming back we were stuck at a spot because of very very low tide to the point we could not return to the dock without a swamp boat that skimmed along the soupy mud mess. It took us an hour to wait our turn to be ferried back. We were not in danger at anytime. Our tour included a very delicious Tico meal (choice of fish,beef,chicken,drinks and dessert) at Palo Verde Boat Tours restaurant. Seems everyone on different tours went there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Real Thing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

7. Palo Verde O.T.S. (Organisation for Tropical Studies), Palo Verde National Park – 4 out of 5
This was the most basic place we stayed in Costa Rica but consequently felt a bit more like the real – 25km of bumpy road from anywhere, ceiling fans, mosquito nets and a serious need to check your shoes for scorpions and the path for snakes. If a tarantula hole next to your front door is not going to bring you joy this place may not be for you but we wouldn’t have missed it. The guide Sergei is excellent – we learnt huge amounts about the dry forest and bird-filled wetlands during our free guided walk and the chef is also good – it’s set meals so just as well. The wildlife is truly spectacular and up close – white-faced capuchins crossing the track in front of you, caracaras and great curassows outside the window at breakfast, crocs and mud turtles beside thousands of whistling ducks on the wetland with a huge assortment of other waterbirds. Soaring wood storks probably our favourite although the roseate spoonbill and bare-throated tiger heron might have been best twitch. It’s also fun to chat about the crocs with the guy who’s studying them (young ones he can grab, the larger will let you lasso them and then after 5 minutes or so struggle settle down and can be measured… After you.)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dee365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We went a bit after the crowds were gone and basically were the only ones in the boat and on the river. Saw a lot of monkeys, crocodiles, iguanas, tropical birds, etc - all very close up.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JPO1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Lots of animals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Booked a last minute boat tour from our hotel (Riu Guinacaste) and glad we did! We went in August. The boat tour was relaxing as all we did was sit on the boat. Our guide was great and pointed out many creatures including red-winged grasshoppers, capuchin monkeys, termite nests, lots of iguanas, probiscus bats (well-camouflaged right in front of our eyes), etc. Great chance to see the animals!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nutstarr02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palo Verde National Park also viewed

Province of Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Province of Guanacaste, Costa Rica
 
Province of Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Area de Conservacion Guanacaste, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Palo Verde National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing