We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lavas Tacotal(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Linda Vista Hotel(El Castillo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Kokoro Arenal(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Fuego Arenal(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Reviews (1,574)
Filter reviews
1,574 results
Traveller rating
1,042
376
98
45
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,042
376
98
45
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluxury suitehanging bridgesheated poolswim up baroutdoor showerla fortunahappy hourcosta ricaarenal volcanogolf cartrocking chairstabacon hot springshiking trailssteep hillgift shoplava flowrental car
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
467 - 472 of 1,574 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014

First the good... Location is truly in the middle of the rainforest. Spotted lots of animals including an anteater. This feels authentic and a Costa Rican experience. Food is priced fairly inexpensively for a hotel. Close to activities 5 minute drive to the hanging bridges and 20 minute to Sky Trek (awesome Zip Line) and 20 min to Hot Springs.

Know the shortfalls...
1. room is MUSTY and mold smelling. We never took clothes out of our suitcases until we would wear them.
2. In the rain forest SO LOTS OF BUGS. LARGE BUGS. Would have to check bathrooms each time for critters for the kids (i.e. three inch wide spiders and 6 inch long beetles)
3."Outdoor" shower was cool, but no light so to shower in the evening after a day's activities was tricky, You are showering in the dark (remember BUGS)
4. Room was large but not functional.
5. Room was very dark, not enough lighting.
6. No management anywhere.
7. Service bordered on plesant to almost rude. Breakfast servers were unhelpful.
8. Breakfast buffet almost unsanitary. Flies in the food. 20 plus bees in the syrup. We would put syrup at the end of the table let the flies and bees swarm to it and eat on the other end.
9. Closest off site restaurant is a $30 cab ride...if you don't have a car it gets pricey to leave.
10. A/C units only worked on one temperature setting...Antarctic Blast.
11. Trails not maintained for walking around hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lost-iguana-Resort, Owner at Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2014

Dear Guest,
I'm very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at Lost Iguana. We are immersed in 120 acres of rainforest, so we do have a lot of animals and sometimes bugs around. We do not spray pesticide because there is a natural balance between the insect eaters and insects which normally keeps the bugs to a minim. The outdoor showers have candles that make showering in the evening very romantic. Most guests have loved this.
You will be happy to know we are currently remodeling all the buildings and mid 2015 all will have kitchenettes and be more functional. The air conditioner controls will all be fixed this month so we will not have anymore "arctic blast" problems. September and October are our slow months and I work with gardeners and maintenance to clean up gardens and work in all the rooms.
Sincerely, Elaine Knight

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This was our last stop on our honeymoon and we were told it was pretty tranquil. It definitely was in the rainforest, at night all you could here were frogs and insects. Which didn't bother us since we love the outdoors. We had an outdoor shower, with no light and cobwebs covered the walls, a back stoop with an amazing view of the volcano, and an outside jacuzzi. The jacuzzi was nice, after we cleaned it. The room it self was quaint, a steel spring king size bed(uncomfortable), TV that didn't have cable and an AppleTV connected to it with 4 movies. There was a lack of lighting in the room as well. There was also an ever present smell of mold, inside and out, so much so that all of our clothes had acquired it. We were there less than 48 hours. The mini bar was severely lacking. The bar only contained a diet coke, regular coke, two beers, and a bottle of red and white wine. No snacks were to be found. The food at the restaurant was of mediocre taste but overpriced. The service was almost non-existent. Each time we went there I had to go looking for a server, and one night we left without our bill after waiting 20 minutes without seeing our waiter. A bottle of wine at the restaurant was 34$, and the same bottle was in our mini bar for 22$. My wife put it best, the Lost Iguana looks as if it was once a gorgeous resort, but has fallen due to lack of upkeep. We will not be staying there again, sadly.

Room Tip: Don't get bottom floors, it smelled of mold and the ceilings are thin. You can here everything above you.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank sam h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lost-iguana-Resort, Owner at Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2014

Dear Guest,
I'm sorry you visited during the rainiest summer on record. When we don't have sunny mornings like normal, it makes it hard to get the rooms aired out. We are surrounded by the rainforest which is very harsh on the buildings and trails. We will have moss on our brick roads one month after power cleaning. The resort is not in disrepair. Every year during September and October (our low season) the maintenance paints and does general upkeep in each room. Every year we replace worn bedding items as well as major projects to keep the hotel fresh. We also do several large projects each year like upgrading all the bathrooms, remodeling the restaurant and reception. This year we are putting new floors in all the rooms. During 2015 we will completely remodel the rooms with new furnishings including kitchenettes. I have guests who come every year and love seeing our improvements.
When the hotel opened12 years ago we did not have phone lines or internet. I had to buy the telephone poles in order to get 2 telephone lines. This year we will finally be able to buy fiber optics so we can have good cable TV and a stronger internet signal.
We will never be the most modern hotel, but I do hope we will always be able to offer a unique view of the rainforest that you can only encounter being outside the town.
Sincerely, Elaine Knight

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed at Lost Iguana for 4 nights in July 2013. Our whole experience was terrific. The hotel is beautiful and you feel like you're part of the forest that surrounds you. The view of Arenal Volcano is top-notch.
The service at the restaurant and pool area was great. The staff was always willing to help us get what we needed. The front desk staff helped us organized trips to zip lining and white water rafting. We enjoyed both of those and highly recommend!
My family can't wait to return to Lost Iguana.

Room Tip: our room was a 2nd floor unit - we had a great balcony and A/C. hotel is rather quiet no matter where your room is.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We visited the Lost Iguana in July for 3 days and it rained off and on each day, but we had our rain gear and the weather did not stop use from doing activities in the area The hotel is well sited to take advantage of zip lining, hanging bridges, horse back riding, and white water rafting. Hikes on the extensive property are also possible. It is also near an elaborate thermal spring that we did not have time to see. We found the staff to be first rate from reception to restaurants, and all spoke good English. After we left, they went to considerable effort to retreive and mail back to us a Kindle that was left behind. We had most of our meals at the hotel restaurant, and although not gourmet, we had no complaints. Our second floor room had a great view of the volcano which we finally saw (at least 90%) on our last day. My wife and grand-daughter especially enjoyed the large heated pool with swim up bar.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Our first floor luxury room with outdoor shower and Jacuzzi was perfect and compensated for the rainy weather. The room was always clean but there were some bugs because you're in the RAINforest. The outdoor porch with rocking chairs provided a perfect view of Arenal Volcano when the clouds cleared. The grounds have several well marked trails which provide great hikes. There are both a warm and cold water pool for swimming. Most guests come to the pool for happy hour between 4 and 5. Luis the bartender is fantastic. The gift shop is exceptional with many high quality Costa Rican crafts.
The food in the restaurant was only fair. The resort is 18 kilometers from the town of Last Fortuna via a winding road so a car is recommended. The front desk arranges tours which can pick you up at the front desk. A plus is that the resort is close to the volcano, Lake Arenal and the Hanging Bridges.

Room Tip: Get a lower level room with outdoor twin showers and Jacuzzi.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rondvous78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews