We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very fun”

Sky Adventures - Arenal Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$99.00*
and up
Sky Adventures Park Combo Tour: Ziplines, Hanging Bridges and Aerial Tram...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Costa Rica Sky Adventures its an adventure theme park located at Arenal Volcano, near La fortuna. In this park you can do the exiting Sky Trek zip lines, the Sky Tram cable car tour and the trilling Sky Walk hanging bridges, all in one same place offering you souvenir shop, Chill Out restaurant, hotel shuttle service and a hummingbird and orchid garden complementary tour.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“very fun”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

we did the sky tram up to the zip lines and it was a blast, worth the money! the walking bridges tour was 2 hours long, it is just a hike through the forest and you walk on some suspension bridges. we saw a couple pigs and that is all for wildlife. we saw a very nice waterfall. it is pricy for just a hike! i would recommend not getting a tour guide or it will turn from 2 hours to probably 3 hour hike. if you have hiked in hawaii, this is the exact same as that but you pay!!! the wives would not do zip lines, too scared, so we took them on the hanging bridges tour. if you have hiked in hawaii, skip the hanging bridges tour, its the same thing minus the bridges. the food at their restaurant was very very tasty! cheap too.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank timhoeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,093
    251
    57
    28
    27
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wimberley, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spectacular adventure”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

My husband, brother-in-law & I took the tram up & zipped down. It was our first time on zip-lines & it was exhilarating. The views are stunning. The guides were wonderful & there was a good camaraderie among our fellow zippers as we progressed down the mountain.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't fault it!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

The guides made us feel safe and secure on the zip wires as well as making us laugh! Several members of the family were nervous but every single one of us wished to go again once we'd reached the end. We also had a great tour over hanging bridges, through the rainforest just before we went on the zip wires. It was so informative and the guide spoke brilliant English! This trip made our holiday!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoë M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monrovia, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A MUST!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I am A 72-year-old retired schoolteacher. I even got stuck hanging toward the end of the first line. I was never afraid because of the guides who are always with you. Alejandro rescued me and he made me laugh to safety. It is one of the most fun things I have ever done in my life. An experience and no one should mess. Guides, safety, and ease all make this company the best.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 303Pam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Total commercial rip off”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We went on the sky tram in the Arenal areal area. We were told this was a very popular attraction and reservations were required in advance. We called early to make reservations and indeed there was no availability in the morning or at noon, the earliest possible was at 3 o’clock in the afternoon. Upon arrival we got some information at the front desk. The tram ride would take 30 minutes up, upon we would reach a platform were we would have nice views on the volcano and lake arenal and we would walk around for about 10 minutes, after which we would take the tram ride down again some 30 minutes. We were recommended not to forget to bring our camera so we could take pictures from the wildlife whilst on the tram. We agreed upon, and paid 40USD per person to receive a ticket. Indeed pricey, but we assumed it would be worth it. We still had to wait and thus grabbed a bite and a drink in the restaurant. Food was good, staff was friendly and the outside over the lake was very nice.

Upon time to go on the ride there was a big group zip lining, and we were put in a cart with 4 of the zip liners. We were 2 persons, hence paid 80 dollar and expected at least to get individual cart for that price. We were told a guide would join us, but there was no guide in our cart. There were zip lining guides in some of the other carts. First of al, the tram ride itself was very short, just 10 min up (NOT 30min!), second it was quite boring and there was totally no wildlife to see. Third the platform we arrived upon was small, and the view on the lake was nice but not more special than we had from the restaurant, and as the volcano was surrounded with fog it was not visible. After 5 minutes we were quite bored and wanted to go down. We asked the zip ling guides, but it we could ride the tram by ourselves down and had to wait for a guide. We waited, and after a while, again we asked when we would able to go down. The called a guide which had to come up and then take us down. Finally the guide arrived and took as down. In the cart he was trying to have small talk all the time which was quite annoying. We were not happy as the whole thing was a total rip off and cost us a lot of money, and were not really interested to tell him about what we eat and drink in our home country and about our travel trams. All the talking and noise from the moving tram would certainly not attract any animals to stay in the neighbourhood. If you want to see animals, just take a hike in the woods near the volcano but do not go on this ride. Furthermore, I would like to emphasize that the whole time we were there, the tram carts were not that busy at all. Sometimes they were not full at all, and they were certainly not going up and down very frequently. So I am not sure why you have to make advance reservations at all, I guess it’s just a commercial trique so people believe it’s a very popular and busy attraction.

In conclusion I really cannot understand that this is a legal attraction and they can ask so much money for it! Travel guides which recommend the Sky Tram should reconsider, seriously! I wish I had read the Tripadvisor reviews in advance, because all the reviews regarding the Sky Tram rate is at very poor and confirm our feeling. If you go zip lining, you will go up of with the tram and this will be included in the price and I can understand that when the zip lining is fun you have a nice experience. But the Sky Tram should not be a standalone attraction, and I feel they should have refunded our money as we were not pleased at all! This was the most costly and disappointing attraction in all of our Costa Rica trip.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Jessica_on_vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sky Adventures - Arenal Park also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Sky Adventures - Arenal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing