We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great restaurant, staff, and grounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Yoko Termales

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yoko Termales
Elora, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, staff, and grounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We just stopped in for lunch and directions....the service was great and our waiter was very friendly and helpful. Our meal was excellent, and I was impressed with their beer and wine selection. We didn't have time to explore the grounds, but the water features looked beautiful from the dining room window. A great experience all around.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    17
    16
    2
    3
See reviews for
21
17
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

This place is far into the mountains. A beautiful drive, but long. It has 4 pools, but only 2 different temperatures: very warm and hot. The image shown is the only interesting pooling architecture. The others are rectangular. There's no shade reprieve at all, so you're sitting in hot water directly under the hot sun. The rules sign prohibits the use of body creams or lotions, including sunscreen presumably, but you're sitting directly in the sun to enjoy the pools. ?? There's a sauna, but no cool/cold water pool for a refreshing reprieve from the heat. I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vamosalaplaya333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalsmeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
298 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We ended up here accidentally. We sat in the warm water, had a mud covering and enjoyed the view. We had dinner in the restaurant and slept in a bungalow. Nothing special just ok. It is a Costa Rican place, and we were the only foreigners.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MvdHoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

We went to Yoko in may 2013. The place has a the best views of the Miravalles Volcano. Has really nice rooms and its a nice place with lot of space. People are nice, not that cool, but nice.

Sadly fast food at the bar is TOO expensive for that quality. Also, food at the restaurant is also too expensive for what you actually get. I wouldnt eat there again.

They are missing a better restaurant, a gym and better pools.

So what I mean, place is ok for the price per night, food is too expensive but it has really nice views. I would go again, but not to eat.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

Our family arrived early one morning specifically so the kids could enjoy the waterslide in the hot springs. After only 5 minutes at the facility with a few trips down the waterslide, we found a used condom floating in the pool where the waterslide is located. We advised management of the issue and requested that they refund us our money, since we had specifically come for the waterslide pool. They refused, and said we had all the other pools to enjoy for the day. They assured us that the water in the pools is continually flowing in and out and would naturally cleanse itself. We did not feel re-assured with that answer and decided to leave the facility. We ended up going next door to Thermo-Mania and had a great day. Unbelievable that Yoko Thermales would not refund us our money after finding something so disgusting in a public facility.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJDeMars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

Thermal spa / hotel. It seems to be very popular with locals as the place was full of ticos having fun. The view on the Miravalles is impressive. The thermal baths were great, lots of space to swim there (but some more shadow would be appreciated on sunny days... not a lot of trees or shadow there during the day)

The rooms are clean and confortable. Food was pretty good (try the nachos). Good place to relax and cheap for the quality you get.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We had only a couple days in Costa Rica and the thermal pools came highly recommmend by our host at Linda Guest House in Ometepe Island Nicaragua. She found this place for us and we were delighted. Very clean and hospitable and with the thermal pools. I believe it is locally owned and we love helping the local Ticos! Delicoius meals so we didn't have to leave to find a place to eat. We highly recommend this little paradise.

Room Tip: Near the pools!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesther A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bagaces
14.9 mi away
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tenorio Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
11.8 mi away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#3 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
#5 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thermomania
Thermomania
#7 of 9 in Bagaces
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
8.4 mi away
Rio Perdido
Rio Perdido
#1 of 1 in Bagaces
5.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yoko Termales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yoko Termales

Property: Yoko Termales
Address: Kilometros Al Norte del Proyecto Geotermico Miravalles 2 | Edificio Color Amarillo Al Lado de la Carretera, Bagaces 50402, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Bagaces
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Bagaces
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Yoko Termales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing