We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Experience of a lifetime!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rio Perdido

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rio Perdido
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bagaces
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Manhattan Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Experience of a lifetime!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

For Spring break I took my two kids, ages 8 and 11, to Costa Rica for two weeks and we spent 5 nights at Rio Perdido. We planned to stay only 3 but found the adventure opportunities, including zip lining, inner tubing, local river tours and white water rafting to be worth an extended stay. The staff was incredibly friendly and professional. Edgar was extremely helpful in arranging tours for us and the on-site adventure guards we fun, well-trained and the equipment was better than any we had experienced in a few countries, including the US. The rooms are separate stilted cabanas, modern, fresh and comfortable, with all the amenities. We plan to return soon and have already recommended recommended Rio Perdido to friends. Carrie B.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    63
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
188
326
14
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

When I made the reservation there were few reviews as the hotel had only been open a few months. I booked it looking for a way to break up the drive from the coastal beaches to Arenal. It was very much worth the stop. Seeing the pictures on the website I was curious to see whether it lived up to the oasis-like presentation and all I can say is that it really makes an impression. After driving through dry cowboy land and bouncing along the bumpy roads the last few km, it is amazing to drive up and see the contemporary facility and the bungalows.

The main building with the restaurant is gorgeous and the restaurant itself was a great experience. We had dinner and breakfast there and enjoyed both. At night it is romantic and gorgeous and in the morning it's a pleasure to see the trees, hear the birds. Dinner was excellent, as was service. When we first arrived for breakfast service was too slow as they had too few servers for all the diners, but then a rush of servers arrived and they picked up. Very tasty food. Great menu also at the swim up bar, we ordered food there for a late lunch and it was great.

The pools are phenomenal and the short hike to the hidden river is well worth it. Really neat experience.

The bungalow is a treasure of well designed and versatile space. Surprising luxury for the remote setting. Very well done. We stayed with a 5 year old and an infant and they had a crib waiting per my request. With the four of us in the bungalow and all our luggage, things got tight but it was still nice. All the staff were wonderful with the kids and made us all feel very welcome.

I felt that it was a very good value. In comparison, we spent the next few nights at Tabacon at Arenal and Rio Perdido service was as good and the experience even more memorable in a lot of ways. Very special place well worth visiting.

Wish I'd had a chance to visit the spa. This would be a great retreat for a few days with girlfriends. Our visit was a family visit with young kids on a vacation. There were others there more for hard core adventure, biking, ziplining and such. Everyone's needs were met.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

I originally found this place because of the mountain biking. I like to mountain bike and was excited to try out trails in Costa Rica, so my friend and I ended up staying here. We were very pleased: the rooms are modern, clean and simple, but very tidy. I particularly liked the hammock chair things on the outdoor deck. We spent some time in the thermal river, which was really fun, and spent a bit of time in their pools as well. They are on the small side, but there's a bar you can swim up to, and they make nice juice blends.
The mountain biking trails were awesome! There's something for everyone, and there's some pretty cool, legit trails happening, with the help of some biking pros. We stayed on the more beginner trails and had a great time. There's some cool views, and great riding to be had no matter your ability. We were fortunate to go with the owner so we were able to follow him, but I hope they are working on making maps and signs for those who venture onto the trails by themselves. If you are an avid biker, it is worth your while to bring your bike - the ones on offer at the hotel are fine but not great. I struggled not being able to clip into the pedals, and had trouble with the tire. The owner and staff were really helpful and accommodating, but I recommend being prepared with some extra tubes and a hand pump as well.
The food at the restaurant was ok - you don't really have an option other than the hotel, which is a bummer because it's on the pricey side. The bar is well stocked and has some nice Costa Rican rum. All in all, a great stay, and I hope to come back to spend some more time on the bike trails!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I heard about Rio Perdido from the owners and went with our kids ages 3 to 11. It was an amazing family vacation filled with adventures, relaxation and great experiences. We loved the food off of the menu anfelt that the service was superb.

I did not expect this to be such an amzing experince with such superb service. We only spent one night and wished we stayed another. We will be back in May to complete many things we still want to do. We look forward to a great mountain biking experience!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gally_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Rio Perdido was wonderful with great staff and very nice facilities. The pools and thermal river were amazing! Don't miss the hotel's adventures including mountain biking, canyon tubing and zip lining, as all these were very exciting and worth the money. (Note: Mountain biking is hard and only recommended for those with good experience). Their food is also wonderful! You can order off the menu for $15-25/plate. There was also a lunch and dinner buffet, which was extraordinary, for $25/person. I only have a few negatives about the hotel. First, it is within 1-2.5 hours of most things but is not close to anything. For that reason, transport is expensive, especially if you plan to leave the hotel each day to see the rest of Costa Rica. Somewhat related to that, I think it would be good if the hotel had a designated person who could help with excursions away from the hotel. The front desk was always willing to call and find out information for us but we generally had to know what we wanted to do and where beforehand. It would be nice to have someone more dedicated to this job. Other than these 2 things, the hotel was wonderfully comfortable and amenities were great!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioPerdido, Conceptualizer & Co-founder at Rio Perdido, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hi Ashley, thanks so much for writing your review.

We appreciate your positive comments regarding our talented and caring staff. Also, we are glad that you appreciated the cuisine. We do our best to always have fresh and local ingredients - and to prepare savoury dishes, of course. Wellbeing starts with food!

Regarding the RP Bike Park…
To date, this is the only activity that truly excludes beginners. But we will be changing this in the very near future with a brand new segment that follows the beautiful edge of the White Canyon. This spectacular ride will appeal to EVERYONE and make the bike park more universal. Also, signage and mapping will improve and we will add some new technology to the activity...

Ashley, we are currently training 2 of our staff members to become experts on the largely unexplored and very beautiful surrounding area. Nevertheless, off-site operations for those without access to a vehicle (rental, etc) are a challenge for us. Firstly, we offer so many activities and things to see/feel within our 640-acre private reserve that it is not common for guests staying less than a week to opt for leaving the site. Also, and more importantly, off-site excursions do not occur in an environment that is “controlled”. It is not easy to get properly insured and we must designate a special (and rugged) vehicle specifically for this purpose. That being said, we do plan on expanding our 20 bungalow hotel in the near future and, with that, we will most likely organise our own operation for activities in the area, which will include many cool options, set at the very skirts of the Miravalles Volcano, at waterfalls, at authentic farms, etc.

You will most definitely have to visit us again!

Warm regards from CR!!

Gabriel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

It is by far one of the best hot springs ever! The energy you feel while enjoying the water in such a comfortable and natural environment, it's amazing.

The service is great, the concept of natural ingredients in the food, the fact is that most of it is grown and harvested local, so you know you are getting delicious healthy food. Makes you feel renewed.

The hotel is so comfortable, you get everything you need and more... Yet it is so respectful with its surroundings by being hidden in the forest... It just make you feel part of it.

If you like nature, biking, hiking this is the place to go!! Do not forget to explore the lookout for the sunset!!

Love it! I'm going back, for sure!

Room Tip: If you are traveling as a couple ask them to prepare your bed so you don't end up trying to asse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank MRCtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I heard about rio perdido thru one of my work colleagues, he was talking about the amazing place he went and he was not wrong. We went for a weekend arriving Friday and leaving on Sunday. It is about a four hour drive from San Jose, the last 5 miles of the road are bumpy but that is common in the rural areas of CR. The rooms are very pretty, modern style in the middle of the jungle, very comfortable and great for relaxing. The pools are great either one with a wet bar. I would suggest to do the tubing tour on Saturday and the canopy on Sunday so you take advantage of all the Hotel premises, both very exciting with lots of adrenaline.
For us the best part was the natural hot springs on rio perdido, there are plenty of natural pools on the river, easy to access walking (no wheelchair access) and although the Hotel was full you felt you were alone in the river! The guys at reception are very nice but need to improve their knowledge about Hotel and Tour information and prices.
We had an amazing time just hoping to go back soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CR83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioPerdido, Conceptualizer & Co-founder at Rio Perdido, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hello there!

We are very glad that you enjoyed you stay at Rio Perdido. It is rewarding for us to see how the online community and also "word of mouth" has led to many travellers opting to visit our very new and unique destination.

In the near future, we will add new modern, informative elements to make sure that guests know about all of what there is to see and do in the reserve (most of it at a short walk's distance from the bungalows). This will include more complete maps and even digital apps that will hopefully be compatible with most portable systems and OS.

We have team of highly experienced individuals but, because we are so new, we also have a couple individuals that just started working (reception, etc) and are still in training. So we hope that by your next visit, everyone will be very much in tune to the many spots that you wont want to miss.

Cant wait to have you back.

Regards from the "deep south"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bagaces
18.1 mi away
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tenorio Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
14.6 mi away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
16.4 mi away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#3 of 6 in Rincon de La Vieja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
11.0 mi away
Hotel La Pacifica
Hotel La Pacifica
#1 of 3 in Canas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
12.6 mi away
Tenorio Lodge
Tenorio Lodge
#3 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Perdido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Perdido

Property: Rio Perdido
Address: San Bernardo de Bagaces, Bagaces 50401, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Bagaces
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bagaces
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Perdido 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION Rio Perdido is in Guanacaste, 60 minutes southeast of Liberia's international airport, near the base of the Miravalles Volcano. Regional attractions include Rincon de la Vieja Volcano and Palo Verde National Park, among others. HOTEL AND PRIVATE RESERVE FEATURES The centerpiece of the 600-acre private reserve is a unique THERMAL RIVER that runs for over a mile along the base of a rocky gorge. Visitors access the hot river by descending stone stairwells and trails. There are a couple of dozen untouched river pools to swim in. The architecturally awarded restaurant has sweeping terraces that afford views of the canyons, volcanoes and the Miravalles dwarf forest. There is a full-service spa, a bar/lounge, and 3 hot mineral pools with floating sun decks and wet bar. There are 15 miles of hiking and biking trails. Breakfast, wireless internet and guest parking are complimentary. The staff can provide 24 hours concierge services, tour/ticket assistance and wedding services. ROOM AMENITIES The 20 air-conditioned bungalows at Rio Perdido have direct access to the hot river gorge. They include an elevated terrace with hammock and are equipped with minibars, safety box, Iphone/Ipod player /alarm clock, coffee/tea makers and complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. LCD televisions are equipped with HD cable channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Rio Perdido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing