We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Finca Canas Castilla
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I stayed at Finca Cana Castilla for 6 nights, and thoroughly enjoyed my time there. The trails on the property are excellent (borrow some rubber boots if you visit in the wet season), varied and interesting. Monkeys, crocodiles, agoutis, anteaters...The food was very good, and the shared tables mean you can enjoy meeting other guests (although you may miss some of the benefit of this if, like me, you cannot speak German!). My cabin was huge, comfortable and very clean. Agi was extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindernia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
69
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

A fantastic place, I did not stay in the offered cabinas but I have no doubt they are top notch. Guido and Agi - the, originally Swiss owners - let you camp on site as well, that's what I did. Therefore a perfect spot for the Panamaericana road tourers in cars, on bikes or motorcycles. There is a super clean bathroom and shower for the campers. There are multiple nature hikes (Waldlehrpfad) on the large Finca. One of them leads you up on a Hill belonging to the Finca and you can see all around, partly into Forest, partly into agricultural land. But honestly you don't even need to get out of your, provided, hammock, you will see monkeys, parrots and all kind of wildlife right there on site. Don't get eaten by the crockodile that is cruising the river in the mornings. If the crockodil did miss you for dinner, you should not, really: Don't miss dinner, it is outstanding, I mean OUTSTANDING. There is a Fish hatchary on the property as well and if you are lucky you will be spoiled with some fresh catch out of it for dinner. Either way it will be delicous.

A wonderful first stop in Costa Rica. One day I will go back!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebluetruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver, bc
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We just spent 2 nights at Canas Castilla and found the experience to be wonderful. If you are looking for good value this is it. For $50/night (low season) we had a room with a strong ceiling fan, bathroom, hot water, and a fridge. Upon arrival Agi was very welcoming and gave us alot of information about the property. She and her husband have identified at least 7 different walks on the property, and though we only went on one we saw a sloth, spider monkeys, 3 types of herons, many birds, a crocodile in the river and more. Breakfast and dinner are available for extra.The property is only 5 kms. north of La Cruz where you can eat in town, find an internet cafe or wifi at a restaurant, or head to the beach at another 10 kms. away. The only drawback is there was no A/C and it was a little too hot with just a ceiling fan so we didn't sleep that well. None the less, I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The Toucan cabin has the best view over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lotusland_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

What a wonderful discovery to find Finca Canas Castilla where we stayed overnight on two different occasions while traveling to and from Nicaragua from Atenas, Costa Rica. The property is so beautifull, with the river flowing by, monkeys overhead, a crocodile in the river, flowers everywhere, horses in the pasture, orange trees in a nearby grove, and unbeatable hospitality. Our party of four Americans enjoyed hiking the nearby trails, enjoying the wonderful meals, and watching the monkeys "come to life" in the early morning. On our second stay we were invited to attend a rodeo at a nearby farm, and that was a memorable experience. It seems that mostly Europeans have discovered this delightful place, and we would encourage more Americans to stay there. It is easy to catch the bus in nearby La Cruz, and someone from the farm will pick you up or take you to the bus station. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GRM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Central Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

A gorgeous off-the-beaten-path destination with friendly and generous owners! Our family of five stayed here for four nights as an alternative to the overdeveloped pacific coast beach areas. Pristine hiking right on the property was fantastic and we only covered a quarter of the distance available. The hard work that Guido and Agi have put into creating sich a gorgeous, park-like setting is inspiring.

This is not a place for nature-challenged folks (yes, you will encounter bugs, lizards, snakes, etc) or for people who need to be in an English-speaking environment (Spanish and German are the languages most frequently encountered although Agi speaks excellent English). But if you desire to get into the countryside and really get a taste of the flora and fauna, then this place is not-to-be-missed, especially if you are flying in/out of Liberia. Also, if you have a rental car, many remote beach/natural areas close by....

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jammin11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

This wonderful farm was one of the highlights of a long trip through central America. We were so impressed by the cabins, river setting, animals and family who run it. Agi and her family help you to have the best time and feed you delicious simple food. We did some horseriding here, only 15 bucks, the views are spectacular and the flora and fauna better than what we've seen in many national parks. You can see plenty of wildlife from your cabin too. The farm is huge with trails that are fairly long for one property with many different types of crops, landscapes, views to appreciate. We were very impressed by their well kept trails. We could easily have stayed here for a few more days. The best thing for us was it's location and ease of access from San Jose and Nicaragua. The farm is outside la cruz (they pick you up) which is a 5-7 hr bus ride from the capital on transportes deldu - just 6 dollars single. It is basically just off the pan American highway - the last town before penas blancas border. This is the perfect spot to break up the long journey from San Jose to Granada, Nicaragua. Forget the tica bus- stay in a very under visited part of costa rica that few people get to see. The area surrounding the farm is full of natural beauty spots and there are empty beaches nearby. If your on your way to Nicaragua the farm can arrange transport for 15 dollars for 4 people. A brilliant, convenient stop between San Jose/ liberia and granada

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kfogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastopol, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

This place was a surprise. While I did get a sense of how much nature is preserved on this working farm (from their website), I really had no idea how great it was going to be. We had planned to stay for 3 nights and extended to 5 nights. I'm a birder and this place has much to offer. But it goes well beyond birds. We saw Howler monkeys, who camped out for hours in a tree just outside our cabin, Spider monkeys on the trails, 2 toed sloths, agoutis, and of course their resident crocodile who they cannot release into the wild because he is habituated to humans. The Swiss owners, Agi and Guido, are wonderful people and can set up lots of interesting things to do. We took a day trip from there into Nicaragua and they handled everything and it went very smoothly -- highly recommended. We also went on their farm tour and Guido explained everything they are doing, much of which is done in a very environmentally aware manner. Our Spanish is only so-so, and he speaks no English, and us no German, but somehow it worked fine. (Agi speaks English though for those whose language skills are like ours.) The cabin with a kitchen is VERY well set up with anything you might need to really cook. But if you want to take meals there, they are great cooks too! Guido designed and built the cabins and they are all spacious and pleasant. I can't recommend this place highly enough. We'll definitely be going back. It would be a great place to start or end a trip as it's within easy reach of the airport in Liberia (~1 1/2 hrs.).

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judys2ACDs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Cruz
9.3 mi away
Blue Dream Hotel
Blue Dream Hotel
#1 of 4 in La Cruz
103 reviews
14.4 mi away
Parque Maritimo el Coco
Parque Maritimo el Coco
#1 of 1 in Playa El Coco
121 reviews
11.1 mi away
Dreams Las Mareas Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Ecoplaya Beach Resort
Ecoplaya Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in La Cruz
171 reviews
8.3 mi away
Ecolodge Blue Morpho
Ecolodge Blue Morpho
#1 of 1 in Cardenas
20 reviews
24.8 mi away
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
#2 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Canas Castilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Canas Castilla

Property: Finca Canas Castilla
Address: Apartado Postal 009, Sonzapote | 2km north of the soccerfield Sonzapote, La Cruz 51001, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > La Cruz
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in La Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cottages Cañas Castilla have a nice architecture y a big furnished outside área with hamack and to the River Sapoa and the lovely garden. All have hot water shower, a fridge, 2 ceilingfans and security box. Aircondition is availabe at additional price. Every cottage dispose one double bed and 4 of them have additionally 2 individual beds. There is the cottage Perezoso which has a equipped kitchen for those who want to cook by themselves. Enjoy the naturetrails on the farm, horsebackriding with our own horses, have fun with the small boat doing a cruise around the river Sapoa. Observe howler- and spydermonkeys, sloth and a lot of birds in their natural hábitat. Discover the lovely beaches of Bahía Salinas (Pacific), or take a daytrip into Nicaragua, a special adventure! Enjoy farm life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Finca Canas Castilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Canas Castilla Costa Rica/La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing