We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to eat”
Review of El Zaguan - CLOSED

El Zaguan
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Costa Rican
Restaurant details
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
406 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat”
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Near the main plaza and church in Liberia sits an inviting corner restaurant with a nice long veranda with tables looking on the road. There is no great view other than people/car watching but the atmosphere and the food makes it worth sitting outside.

This was our first day and first time in Costa Rica so it made sense to try out their Costa Rican fare such as Arroz con pollo and a typical traditional dish. Both were very flavorful and in large portions. We added an Imperial beer and a Coke and it was a perfect lunch. Total for two people was about $25 which was reasonable. Plus our waitress was very cheery and willing to explain to Gringos what the food was all about. As I said, a very nice place to eat.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidTAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    14
    10
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loomis, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Unexpected pleasure”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Our favorite restaurant in Liberia closed, so on a lark we tried this. Had the chicken Cordon Bleu-outstanding, they got it crisp, without the cheese melting out-loved this. My wife had the sirloin tips in pepper brandy sauce--they were tender, flavorful and would order again. The best dish we saw, and will go back for is the whole Pargo-red snapper--it was just too much food to tackle at lunch....

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent food”
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Our hotel recommended this restaurant. Fairly extensive menu, tourist oriented. Friendly service, decent food though hardly spectacular. We shared the tortilla soup and each had the grilled tilapia, which came with two sides ($32 in total). The fish was fresh, but I found the food to be quite salty.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank quitobound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamaica
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“good start to the day...”
Reviewed 17 November 2012

we visited this place early one day. We had what they called a continental breakfast - all fruit and coffee. Overflowing with the fruit, all currently in season. Too much as we could not finish our plates even though it was so fresh and tasty. They were completing renovations to the washrooms. Parking is on the street - the place is on a corner on a main thoroughfare.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank im44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good seafood,but steak was like leather”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

My family of five ventured into El Zaguan on our last night in Costa Rica because it was near our hotel and it was recommended by the hotel owner. The service was friendly and prompt, but the t-bone steak that was recommended by the waiter (and which cost c7,500 (about $15.00) was one of the toughest pieces of meat encountered by my family on our five week trip to Nicaragua and Costa Rica. I would love to give this place a better rating, but the second unpardonable sin was the soggy french fries that were served up. Lo siento mis amigos!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SebGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Zaguan also viewed

Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
 
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
 
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing