We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tried it On a Hunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Zaguan - CLOSED

El Zaguan
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish, Central American, Costa Rican, American, Steakhouse, Seafood, South American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
New Jersey
Level Contributor
96 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Tried it On a Hunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

We saw the tour bus parked here and decided to try it for lunch as we were on a tight schedule on our way to the airport. Sat outside on the front porch and chatted with two lovely women from Austria who offered to share their table with us. I ordered the seafood plate and it was outstanding! Clams, mussels, two kinds of fish, calamari and I think, abalone. My husband ordered the shrimp and rice and like that too. The portions were very generous. The wait staff was very competent. Would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bravegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    14
    10
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

I love having plantains with my meals. I miss that the most about Central America. They are yummy. The breakfast was good, coffee was good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Customcruises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
225 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly, and convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

Very convenient location. Friendly and nice people. Food was great as well. I asked to borrow their phone to call our hotel and they even help me dial the hotel. Thanks.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Avrilx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good option”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

The food at El Zaguan does the job. It's not spectacular, but it's not bad either.

It's good for a meal, but I wouldn't be a repeat customer.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JustinaL370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
390 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

Near the main plaza and church in Liberia sits an inviting corner restaurant with a nice long veranda with tables looking on the road. There is no great view other than people/car watching but the atmosphere and the food makes it worth sitting outside.

This was our first day and first time in Costa Rica so it made sense to try out their Costa Rican fare such as Arroz con pollo and a typical traditional dish. Both were very flavorful and in large portions. We added an Imperial beer and a Coke and it was a perfect lunch. Total for two people was about $25 which was reasonable. Plus our waitress was very cheery and willing to explain to Gringos what the food was all about. As I said, a very nice place to eat.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidTAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Zaguan also viewed

Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
 
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
 
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing