We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, friendly staff and awesome breakfast”
Review of Hotel Liberia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Liberia
Ranked #1 of 14 Liberia B&B and Inns
Denmark
1 review
“Nice rooms, friendly staff and awesome breakfast”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We are very satisfied with our stay here at Libreria Hotel.
The staff was very smiley and friendly, the rooms were bright and clean and the frut/yoghurt/coconut-breakfast was the best we have had in central america.
We can recommend this place to anyone also there is for different budgets (stayed at a dorm with 3 beds for 12 dollars per night)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    120
    53
    21
    22
See reviews for
23
116
59
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Hotel Liberia has a really great atmosphere. Staff are friendly and can help with tours and transport. The breakfast thet they serve (not included in room price) are great! The trip to the National Park Rincon de la Vieja is really worth the money!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YvonneVHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Family run and it feels like it.

Big rooms comfy beds and clean bathrooms. Very helpful and happy staff. The grandaughter of the original owner speaks very good English and is extra helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gosnellc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2011

We arrived in Liberia as a stopover to the Nicaraguan border and didn't have high demands for our hotel that night. However, we were welcomed in a very friendly way, the hotel was recently painted and looked really nice. Our room was very clean and the hotel had a nice relaxing area. Furthermore, it is located just a few steps from the central park. Not a waste of our only night in Liberia!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexR87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryazan, Russia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

The hotel is nice and is in a great location. It is easy to travel to anywhere in the city from here. I stayed there with my little son. The rooms are good. I was provided a room which was clean and tidy. The bathroom was also clean and spacious. There were necessary things in the room. The bed sheets were new and the bed was comfortable enough to sleep well at night. The staff are nice. The service is appreciable too. Hotel premises are clean and quiet. My stay at this hotel was a nice one.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jasscoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Deutschland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Well, coming from Nicaragua, 14 US $ a night, seems much, but your get the following:
free 24 h WIFI, very central located, next to the park, private bathroom, just cold water, ceiling fan, clean bed sheets and towels, soap and toilet paper (extreme thin one though). In every room some thing are broken or missing, f.e. a table, a lamp, a hanger for cloth or for the towel, the mirror in the bathroom, ...

The ownership of the place has changed and the new one is attempting to make it nicer. There is a dorm for 10 US $/night in the second floor. The lobby has a TV for all guests. No kitchen or fridge facilities. Staff is friendly and helpful. Walls between the rooms are like paper. You hear everything. The church bell is close but not so loud. What I noticed coming from Nicaragua, drivers respect traffic signs here and there is not a constant honking of horns. Liberia is a quiet and relaxed place to hang out.

Notice the neighbor business is a restaurant and their cooking smells enter in the rooms, which might be disturbing.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amberlena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2011

The rooms were dingy and the service was non existent but it was only one night so we decided to stay. At 10:30 I noticed visible bed bugs in the bed so we got out of there fast. The response to my report of bugs was a shrug of the shoulders. It was obvious this was not the first time they had heard it. After a big of a fight we did get our money back, but no apologies.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skwsimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Liberia hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liberia hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino
0.4 mi away
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
6.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 13 in Liberia
186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rincon del Llano
Hotel Rincon del Llano
#11 of 13 in Liberia
76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#12 of 13 in Liberia
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Liberia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Liberia

Property: Hotel Liberia
Address: Calle Real | 75 mts sur del parque central, Liberia 50101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Liberia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Liberia 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer the oldest 'bed & breakfast " accommodation in Liberia city, capital Guanacaste province. Located on the main street (Calle Real), 75 meters South of Central Park and the main Catholic church, rowed in a line of old houses, hotels, restaurants and cultural elements characteristic of the history of this legendary beautiful city. The hotel has an old house with thick walls and high bahareque (centuries-old technique of building with mud and grass) and decorated mosaic floors, where there are 6 rooms of the Casona and the main dining room.The hotel offers close proximity to the bus station, taxis, supermarkets, banks and shops, and it is located in the heart of the city being the oldest street in Liberia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Liberia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Liberia Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing