We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food & drinks”
Review of Hotel Liberia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Liberia
Ranked #1 of 14 Liberia B&B and Inns
Revelstoke, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food & drinks”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Although we stayed at another hotel in town, we had lunch at Hotel Liberia one afternoon. The casados were very tasty and we had the best sangria ever... noche tropical. My traveling companion rarely drinks alcoholic beverages but he really enjoyed one of these refreshing cocktails. The service and atmosphere were great as well!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingHL L, Owner at Hotel Liberia, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear friend,
Thanks a lot for your nice comments, everybody is always welcome to visit us due our café-lounge is open for visitor as well! We hope next time you have the chance to stay with us in one of our rooms, so can have the whole Hotel Liberia experience.
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    120
    54
    21
    22
See reviews for
23
118
59
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We stayed there one night. The rooms are very clean, only the bathroom was a bit small.
They offer breakfast, but its not included. The portions of food are a bit small.
The value is ok. There's also a very good hairdresser next door. :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josef_GER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

Perfect for all kind of visitors. It is a beautifull peacefull place with accomodation for all kind of bugets. The food is great and for a good price. Service is more then you can ask for and the Hotel is right by the centre of Liberia.
I am very happy I found this great hotel for my many days in Liberia.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hwot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pebble Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Hotel Liberia was a both relaxing and economic stay; the room was small but private and comfortable. The dining area/lounge was beautiful and the food was really fantastic. I will definitely stay here again the next time I fly into Liberia airport.

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank christianannschaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Hotel Liberia is a low budget gem offering an oasis of tranquility in Liberia thanks to its delightfully relaxing courtyard. We stayed for three days and ate and drank in the beautiful courtyard as it was so peaceful and incredibly inexpensive. The staff are all very helpful and attentive. I would recommend the day trip to Rincon de la Vieja national park for a mere $20! If you are on a budget and want good service and a relaxing stay then Hotel Liberia is your best bet.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

I´m a solo traveller, at the moment not on vacation, but rather travelling for a longer time, therefore can´t splash the cash. But in general I prefer my own 4 walls to dorms. I was very happy with my choice thanks to the reviews of Tripadvisor.

In general the hotel is in a great locaton, just few meters from Central Park! It was relaxed and quiet. It is also very clean.

I feel sorry that a guest had this thing with the taxis, but I must say that is the going rate from the airport, I was chatting to a Canadian at the central park, and he mentioned the same price when he was taken from airport by just "a" taxi (nothing special) to a hotel.

I, for my part, experienced excellent service. I worked myself in customer service, and I was pleasantly surprised how good the attention is. As soon as you start approaching one of them you´ll get their eyes and they come to help you.

My personal suggestions to the hotel would be:
- check the lock on the 3rd floor bathroom - it was such a hard work to open the lock and I made quite a bit of noise struggling with it. So I imagine the dorms that are directly next to it, heard the bangs. But I assume when the cleaners clean, noone has the habit of locking themselves in to verify if all is in good condition :)
- also my lock on my door was hard work. It looked like a bit older, so I supposed it will get swopped out soon... In the beginning when I couldn´t find the "trick" to open it, I turned the key into a an 8.
- I´d suggest to change one of the fried breakfast into granola-fruit-yoghurt deal. I just felt with so many international guests and in such a hot climate, it would have been nice to have something like that as an option (granola is easy to make too).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paragon_y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingHL L, Owner at Hotel Liberia, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Thanks a lot for such a nice opinion about our hotel, getting the satisfaction and recommendation from our clients makes us keep working as good as we try to do it everyday.

Regarding the door locks observations, we will be fixing or replacing them inmediately. Besides checking the rest of doors as preventive maintenance.

Hoping to have the opportunity of have you as a guest again, all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to stay in Liberia. It's a very very cute place. The rooms are clean and very affordable. The best part about this place is the great staff! The owner Warren and his son Eduardo are great people. They make your stay as comfortable as possible and do their best to make you comfortable. I definitely recommend this place if you need somewhere to stay in Liberia!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank preetz00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liberia hotels
6.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
1.2 mi away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 13 in Liberia
188 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rincon del Llano
Hotel Rincon del Llano
#10 of 13 in Liberia
76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#12 of 13 in Liberia
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Liberia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Liberia

Property: Hotel Liberia
Address: Calle Real | 75 mts sur del parque central, Liberia 50101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Liberia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Liberia 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer the oldest 'bed & breakfast " accommodation in Liberia city, capital Guanacaste province. Located on the main street (Calle Real), 75 meters South of Central Park and the main Catholic church, rowed in a line of old houses, hotels, restaurants and cultural elements characteristic of the history of this legendary beautiful city. The hotel has an old house with thick walls and high bahareque (centuries-old technique of building with mud and grass) and decorated mosaic floors, where there are 6 rooms of the Casona and the main dining room.The hotel offers close proximity to the bus station, taxis, supermarkets, banks and shops, and it is located in the heart of the city being the oldest street in Liberia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Liberia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Liberia Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing