We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, cute courtyard!”
Review of Hotel Liberia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Liberia
Ranked #1 of 14 Liberia B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Didn't stay at the hotel, though we did try ago get a room here as our hotel was so awful! We looked at a room, which seemed quite nice.

However we ate here 3 times and had delicious food and excellent margaritas in the really cute courtyard. The staff were really kind and helpful. Would really recommend you to come here for the good salads, great breakfasts, yummy desserts!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank trip-chick-munich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Liberia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

I stayed in the dorm for $13 which is a little more than what you would for a night in a dorm in costa rica. The dorm was a small room with 3 beds crammed into it, what was strange was that my mattress was too bid for the bed so it felt a bit awkward at first.

I will say that its got a nice ambience and the $4 continental breakfast was pretty good.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank JosephFoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Great location. 15 min drive from airport and in central Liberia one block from center of town. For a shared room it was $15 pp the rooms were fine, bathroom shared not my favorite but ok (costa rica version of hot water). The hotel entry, restaurant area and courtyard were beautiful and we'll kept. Great breakfast selection too. Only stayed one night but would recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Y0ungtraveler90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

By far the worst experience we had in Costa Rica. The room was awful, the bed sheets were so thin and old you could see the mattress through it. Everything seemed dirty and so old it could break if you touched it. And the owner! We were disappointed by the room and he would not give us our money back then when we went out for dinner late at night he would not unlock the gate's door when we came back! It took a good 25 minutes of waiting in the street before mister "absolute riot" (lonely planet) finally opened the door.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ananasvolant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingHL L, Owner at Hotel Liberia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear client,
Thanks for letting us know your comments, we would appreciate even more to know other details regarding the issues you mention (through inbox or our email), due we have spoke will all our staff and they couldn´t identify you as our guest during last October or remember the situations you are mentioning here. If you could tell us who specifically talked to, we probably could take care of this situation in a better way.
Normally we close the main hotel door at midnight every day, and security staff stays on duty in the lounge/front desk area (just 6-7 meters away from the door) the rest of the night. When clients are going out by night, our Front Desk let them know about the door and they are also informed about the guard. This have never been a problem before, as the guard opens the door inmediately when guests get back to the hotel after midnight.
We are really sorry if you have inconveniences and these were not fixed by our staff in the way you wanted, we work really hard to satisfy clients everyday according the hotel level and our rates, and that´s the philosophy we will keep promoting in our company. Several improvements will be comming on soon regarding facilities and services, we hope to have the chance of having another opportunity to host you better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This was a pleasant surprise. My friends and I booked it solely because of price and convenience, so when I stepped inside I was shocked to see the cute courtyard and wood floors.

Our room was basic and a bit stuffy, but it did the job. If you're a light sleeper, you might want to pack earplugs; I could hear street noises (possibly from a bar) in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mram28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stay at the hotel Liberia for 4 nights and it was really good. The hotel is really nice, with the garden and the restaurant. Room are good with nice decoration.
Is really convenient to have the restaurant inside, moreover there is good food and price are cheap.

And the most important was the personal, the owner is really nice and all the others crew members,

I recommend this hotel, and actually price are really convenient.

Belinda and Eugenie From France

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belibelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The hotel is tucked away in the colonial street of Liberia City, close to the Central Park. It's ambience was beautiful. It's modest and elegant, very warm atmosphere. Price is right, not expensive. No AC, just fan. Maybe that should be necessary during summer. And as I remember, no hot water. But it's fine. This place also has shared room for backpackers.

The lounge area is very homey. Food in the hotel is not expensive and fresh! We tried the vegetarian wraps, and it was nice. Juice came surprisingly in a huge portion! And what I would just recommend to have is their coffee. I had the best latté in my life here.

It is in the convenient location. Can explore neighborhood just by foot. Or to catch a bus is very easy, too. Taxi is reliable, normally 1000 colones for short distance and they don't play around with you.

This place can serve as a good base to other areas in Guanacaste, like a day trip to mud bath or waterfalls, hot springs etc. I would recommend this place to stay for medium budget and for those who loves beauty & quietness.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank psychedelicangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liberia hotels
6.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
1.2 mi away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 13 in Liberia
189 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rincon del Llano
Hotel Rincon del Llano
#10 of 13 in Liberia
76 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
4.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#12 of 13 in Liberia
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Liberia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Liberia

Address: Calle Real | 75 mts sur del parque central, Liberia 50101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Liberia
Price Range: £19 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Liberia 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer the oldest 'bed & breakfast " accommodation in Liberia city, capital Guanacaste province. Located on the main street (Calle Real), 75 meters South of Central Park and the main Catholic church, rowed in a line of old houses, hotels, restaurants and cultural elements characteristic of the history of this legendary beautiful city. The hotel has an old house with thick walls and high bahareque (centuries-old technique of building with mud and grass) and decorated mosaic floors, where there are 6 rooms of the Casona and the main dining room.The hotel offers close proximity to the bus station, taxis, supermarkets, banks and shops, and it is located in the heart of the city being the oldest street in Liberia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Liberia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Liberia Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing