We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Liberia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Liberia
Ranked #1 of 16 Liberia B&B and Inns
Killarney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Nice little hotel that we used before crossing the border to San juan del sur. The food was nice and the staff were friendly. The walls are very thin and that was the only issue I had. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    113
    50
    20
    21
See reviews for
21
110
56
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

As soon as we got to the hotel we were not received very warmly and decided to find a different place. However, even though Hotel Liberia was more expensive than the other few hostels around it, it is by far the best hotel around the area, so we decided to go back. We didn't regret our choice. We left the hotel and came back a few days later to pick up our stuff and the staff was amazingly friendly, we got to use the showers for free, got complimentary coffees and great advise for the rest of our travels. A bit expensive for backpackers but definitely worth our stay.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed here for one night after flying into Liberia very late at night. Good security with someone by the door and gates locked. Shown straight to the room and not much else said by the receptionist.

Very basic with oversized matresses for the dorm beds which turned out to be okay. Shower and bathroom were again cleanish. Not much to keep you in Liberia so moved on the next day. Only 5 blocks away from the main bus station which is convenient. Nice courtyard where you can sit down and relax with a beer.

Overall, pleasant enough hostel to get your head down for a night before moving on and reasonable value for money

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barnaby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingHL L, Owner at Hotel Liberia, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thanks for your comments!

We have been remodelling our facilities and services during last months, A/C the superior rooms and new matresses for share dorms as you stayed are in our list of things to improve.

Best regards,

The staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chassahowitzka
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed nearby but found this hotel's charming courtyard and loved the food, service and prices. Highly recommend the grilled mahi with tamarind sauce if you like sweet sauce, and the café especial was so good we came back the next day for more!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

The dashing father and son owners of Hotel Liberia are clearly focused on service and customer care. Their team is knowledgeable about the region and city. The main foyer of the hotel is bright and cool.
The restaurant staff take great care in both food quality and presentation. I recommend the Special Fruit Plate & Shrimp Stuffed Avocado. They even remembered mention of my mother's birthday and included a candle & song for a mini-celebration.
This spot is good for budget conscious travellers who like to eat & sleep in the heart of a bustling (but quiet!) city.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stpear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
953 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is really well located close to the main square.
The staff members are very friendly and the place is very clean.

Rooms are nicely designed and are comfortable.

We also enjoyed their restaurant which was really fairly priced and the food was quality!

Recommended!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelReviewer1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Wound up in Liberia for a night when the border crossing from Nicaragua took longer than expected. The single room with shared bath was basic but clean, and the bed looked saggy but was actually pretty comfortable. Light sleepers beware: the walls are very thin! The courtyard and restaurant were very pretty and pleasant.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank MoViaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liberia hotels
6.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
1.3 mi away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 16 in Liberia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN El Sitio Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rincon del Llano
Hotel Rincon del Llano
#14 of 16 in Liberia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Bramadero
Hotel El Bramadero
#4 of 16 in Liberia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Liberia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Liberia

Property: Hotel Liberia
Address: Calle Real | 75 mts sur del parque central, Liberia 50101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Liberia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Liberia 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer the oldest 'bed & breakfast " accommodation in Liberia city, capital Guanacaste province. Located on the main street (Calle Real), 75 meters South of Central Park and the main Catholic church, rowed in a line of old houses, hotels, restaurants and cultural elements characteristic of the history of this legendary beautiful city. The hotel has an old house with thick walls and high bahareque (centuries-old technique of building with mud and grass) and decorated mosaic floors, where there are 6 rooms of the Casona and the main dining room.The hotel offers close proximity to the bus station, taxis, supermarkets, banks and shops, and it is located in the heart of the city being the oldest street in Liberia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Liberia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Liberia Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing