We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEDBUGS in dorm”
Review of Hotel Liberia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Liberia
Ranked #1 of 14 Liberia B&B and Inns
Gavle, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BEDBUGS in dorm”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We sleept in a dorm for 3 people. The staff was very helpful and nice to us and the breakfast was good. The restaurant at the hotel had reasonable prices, but one thing ruined our stay for the night...BEDBUGS!
Me and my friend have been traveling for a long time so we are very familar with bedbugs and the way they look! My friend saw two bedbug in 2/3 beds. It was so late so we could'nt change rooms when we saw this coz there was no one in the reception and we were only gonna stay one night. Now my friend has around 25 bites on both of her legs including 3 on her face!!!
I have around 15 bites...it's horrible and all good things in Hotel Liberia becomes forgotten!
I seriously hope u will do something against this, coz when people pay money to sleep u don't want to be eaten on at the same time!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Swedenbackpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingHL L, Owner at Hotel Liberia, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear client,

We are truly sorry about the bugs bed situation and understand this experience was not pleasant for you. We have an extermination program runned every month, but still it seems to be there is a new kind of bug comming from Nicaragua that is affecting us mostly in our share dorm beds.

We have changed the fumigation products using something stronger to exterminate this bug and will be really aware to do what it takes regarding this problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    120
    54
    21
    22
See reviews for
23
118
59
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Killarney
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Nice little hotel that we used before crossing the border to San juan del sur. The food was nice and the staff were friendly. The walls are very thin and that was the only issue I had. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

As soon as we got to the hotel we were not received very warmly and decided to find a different place. However, even though Hotel Liberia was more expensive than the other few hostels around it, it is by far the best hotel around the area, so we decided to go back. We didn't regret our choice. We left the hotel and came back a few days later to pick up our stuff and the staff was amazingly friendly, we got to use the showers for free, got complimentary coffees and great advise for the rest of our travels. A bit expensive for backpackers but definitely worth our stay.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellin, Colombia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed here for one night after flying into Liberia very late at night. Good security with someone by the door and gates locked. Shown straight to the room and not much else said by the receptionist.

Very basic with oversized matresses for the dorm beds which turned out to be okay. Shower and bathroom were again cleanish. Not much to keep you in Liberia so moved on the next day. Only 5 blocks away from the main bus station which is convenient. Nice courtyard where you can sit down and relax with a beer.

Overall, pleasant enough hostel to get your head down for a night before moving on and reasonable value for money

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barnaby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingHL L, Owner at Hotel Liberia, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thanks for your comments!

We have been remodelling our facilities and services during last months, A/C the superior rooms and new matresses for share dorms as you stayed are in our list of things to improve.

Best regards,

The staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chassahowitzka
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed nearby but found this hotel's charming courtyard and loved the food, service and prices. Highly recommend the grilled mahi with tamarind sauce if you like sweet sauce, and the café especial was so good we came back the next day for more!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

The dashing father and son owners of Hotel Liberia are clearly focused on service and customer care. Their team is knowledgeable about the region and city. The main foyer of the hotel is bright and cool.
The restaurant staff take great care in both food quality and presentation. I recommend the Special Fruit Plate & Shrimp Stuffed Avocado. They even remembered mention of my mother's birthday and included a candle & song for a mini-celebration.
This spot is good for budget conscious travellers who like to eat & sleep in the heart of a bustling (but quiet!) city.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stpear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,242 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is really well located close to the main square.
The staff members are very friendly and the place is very clean.

Rooms are nicely designed and are comfortable.

We also enjoyed their restaurant which was really fairly priced and the food was quality!

Recommended!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelReviewer1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liberia hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino
6.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
1.2 mi away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 13 in Liberia
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rincon del Llano
Hotel Rincon del Llano
#11 of 13 in Liberia
75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#12 of 13 in Liberia
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Liberia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Liberia

Property: Hotel Liberia
Address: Calle Real | 75 mts sur del parque central, Liberia 50101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Liberia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Liberia 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer the oldest 'bed & breakfast " accommodation in Liberia city, capital Guanacaste province. Located on the main street (Calle Real), 75 meters South of Central Park and the main Catholic church, rowed in a line of old houses, hotels, restaurants and cultural elements characteristic of the history of this legendary beautiful city. The hotel has an old house with thick walls and high bahareque (centuries-old technique of building with mud and grass) and decorated mosaic floors, where there are 6 rooms of the Casona and the main dining room.The hotel offers close proximity to the bus station, taxis, supermarkets, banks and shops, and it is located in the heart of the city being the oldest street in Liberia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Liberia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Liberia Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing