We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home, sweet home”
Review of Hotel Liberia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Liberia
Ranked #1 of 14 Liberia B&B and Inns
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Home, sweet home”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. It is located in the center of Liberia, straight at Calle Real in the colonial style building. The patio and the restaurant are very nicely equiped, the rooms are small, but sufficient and very clean. The place has really a family atmosphere, the staff is so nice, helpful and friendly. We didn't want to leave that place. Definitelly have a breakfast and also a dinner there,you won't be dissapointed. They have excellent cousine.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Petra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    120
    54
    21
    22
See reviews for
23
118
59
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Great place. Good price for a double room with a shower, towels included and a fan. We had a tv in the room and a coffee machine- which needs better stocking. We only had one coffee sachet. The shower was clean, petite but okay for two people. The beds were comfy. We stayed here for breakfast and dinner. Both were delicious. They serve a range of local food too , fresh fish, fresh fruits and cocktails. The staff were friendly, attentive and made us feel at home. Possibly better air conditioning would be good. We would stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank angela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I travel in feb. 2014 as a single really blond and white female, and i really felt safe there. The owner of the hotel came to pick me up at the airport when i arrive at 1 am. Explain to me that this hotel was a familly legacy. I stayed in 2 differents room 1st one was semi private with 1 other bed in it. It was clean and correct for the price, the sec one was one at the lowest rate bad were a bit outdated but it did the trick for the night. Food was really good. Price average ( comaparable to canada) Service was EXELLENTE! the front desk lady was amazing very helpfull and resources full just for that i would go back there in a hartbeat! This hotel is a five min. walk form the main street.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IzyBreezeie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castellanza
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel as a transition point when I first arrived in LIberia. I arrived a day late due to flight cancellations and the staff were very understanding and friendly. They have nice courtyard. The single room is basic, small, no window and a shared bathroom. Everything was clean and nice. I enjoyed my time here. Food is quite good as well although there are cheaper options outside the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Very big/charming courtyard area where you can eat/chill out, this was a pleasant surprise. Paid circa $20 for a single room on 3rd floor. All was fine except for the wall situation which is painfully thin and you can hear everything next door in HD quality. You are putting your faith in other guests to be considerate and recognise the situation as it is, however, clearly there are characters either too selfish or oblivious to this - earplugs are not up to the task! 1) Had to tolerate an insufferable Australian girl proclaiming her undying love to her gf about a boy she'd met the week before for about 45 minutes from abt 11.45 to 12.30 - I could together an ode it was so OTT! 2) the cliche guitarist who unfortunately was strumming away sporadically between 10 - 3 ish, despite been reminded not to on various occasions. Had a v early flight the next morning, sure enough I slept well. Dear owners plse put some sort of rule in place to avoid this!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jl06agac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingHL L, Owner at Hotel Liberia, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear guest,
Concerned for your comments, we had a meeting with our staff and manager to see our flaws about Guest service. We all have committed to be more careful and thoughtful to try to avoid situations as you experienced.
Unfortunely there are not much to do right now with the walls, but we definitely will be paying a lot more of attention from now on regarding noise.
Thanks for letting us know your opinion, so this feedback is really helpful for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavle, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We sleept in a dorm for 3 people. The staff was very helpful and nice to us and the breakfast was good. The restaurant at the hotel had reasonable prices, but one thing ruined our stay for the night...BEDBUGS!
Me and my friend have been traveling for a long time so we are very familar with bedbugs and the way they look! My friend saw two bedbug in 2/3 beds. It was so late so we could'nt change rooms when we saw this coz there was no one in the reception and we were only gonna stay one night. Now my friend has around 25 bites on both of her legs including 3 on her face!!!
I have around 15 bites...it's horrible and all good things in Hotel Liberia becomes forgotten!
I seriously hope u will do something against this, coz when people pay money to sleep u don't want to be eaten on at the same time!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Swedenbackpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingHL L, Owner at Hotel Liberia, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear client,

We are truly sorry about the bugs bed situation and understand this experience was not pleasant for you. We have an extermination program runned every month, but still it seems to be there is a new kind of bug comming from Nicaragua that is affecting us mostly in our share dorm beds.

We have changed the fumigation products using something stronger to exterminate this bug and will be really aware to do what it takes regarding this problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Liberia hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

As soon as we got to the hotel we were not received very warmly and decided to find a different place. However, even though Hotel Liberia was more expensive than the other few hostels around it, it is by far the best hotel around the area, so we decided to go back. We didn't regret our choice. We left the hotel and came back a few days later to pick up our stuff and the staff was amazingly friendly, we got to use the showers for free, got complimentary coffees and great advise for the rest of our travels. A bit expensive for backpackers but definitely worth our stay.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liberia hotels
6.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
1.2 mi away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 13 in Liberia
188 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rincon del Llano
Hotel Rincon del Llano
#10 of 13 in Liberia
76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#12 of 13 in Liberia
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Liberia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Liberia

Property: Hotel Liberia
Address: Calle Real | 75 mts sur del parque central, Liberia 50101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Liberia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Liberia 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer the oldest 'bed & breakfast " accommodation in Liberia city, capital Guanacaste province. Located on the main street (Calle Real), 75 meters South of Central Park and the main Catholic church, rowed in a line of old houses, hotels, restaurants and cultural elements characteristic of the history of this legendary beautiful city. The hotel has an old house with thick walls and high bahareque (centuries-old technique of building with mud and grass) and decorated mosaic floors, where there are 6 rooms of the Casona and the main dining room.The hotel offers close proximity to the bus station, taxis, supermarkets, banks and shops, and it is located in the heart of the city being the oldest street in Liberia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Liberia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Liberia Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing