We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of charm, but some drawbacks” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa de Papel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Liberia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa de Papel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Liberia
brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lots of charm, but some drawbacks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

There is one stretch of the old Posado Real in Liberia that has beautiful old colonial houses. Casa de Papel is on that stretch, though it's not really that old. It is a much more authentic alternative to the modern hotels in the area. There are very comfortable outdoor areas, beautiful gardens, and some great decorating in the public areas. But...several things to be aware of. Our room (#1) faced the street. It could be noisy at times, but that didn't really bother us, since windows were closed. What did bother us was the see-thru curtains that faced both the street and the lobby area. And the lock (which apparently was on all the rooms) which was a common bathroom lock which could be opened with any key. We kept valuables in the car, but if you don't have a car there's no way to really secure things. There was no wi-fi. They claimed there had been a lightning strike, but others told us they never had wi-fi. Just had a router to make it look like there was. The pool was very cloudy and unappealing - a small tub with a strong jet in the bottom seemed cleaner and was enjoyable. Breakfast was OK - but don't count on strong portions. Apparently prices are flexible - don't pay more than $65 and try to get it lower. Check out your room first, if you can. Some have private bath, some have AC, some don't. Ours had 2 sets of bunk beds plus a king size - great for a family or group! No credit cards accepted, so be ready with cash - exact change if possible, since I get got my change back. Some good restaurants on the same street, but not a whole lot to do in Liberia.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aspen89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    20
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
13
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

We spent 2 nights here and had an excellent time. Adrian can organize ANYTHING. Friendly staff, Adrian speaks perfect english. The best part of the is the big porch with the pool. There is nothing better than waking up, go for a swim, relax in the hammock and then have your first coffee of the day. There are also lots of magazines, books, a TV and even a stereo. A good place to spend a couple of hours just chilling. Rooms are very clean, partly with A/C, beds are very comfortable. Adrian still has no Website, so I uploaded a picture of his business card.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabine20359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chassahowitzka
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We decided to tack one extra day onto a group tour so we could explore Liberia and get some gifts before leaving. This charming colonial was such a surprise. The 130 year old original tiles, the antique stirrups and wooden period furniture, and most of all, the patio and pool with lovely garden. Our first room (#4) was beautiful with an amazing bathroom, but the AC would not cooperate so they moved us to a larger room (#1) on the front near the road. I was worried the noise from street traffic might keep me awake, but it was covered by the AC and two industrial strength ceiling fans that kept us very cool and comfy. The owner is a polo player and had interesting horse related items in the décor. When he learned we liked handicrafts, he rode with us by taxi to open a store he runs (Tierra Nuestra) which displays locally crafted pieces. Each item had the name of the crafter which he recorded while ringing up our purchases. Another thing I really enjoyed was the hotel's location, very near shops, good restaurants and a park where we bought coconut drinks for $1. I recommend the food and café especial from the Hotel Liberia's restaurant, and the service was phenomenal. I had the grilled mahi with tamarind sauce--outstanding! Cathedral bells chiming, doves, nice breeze in the evening, and a pool to cool off during the hot days. I would certainly stay here again and recommend it to others. The breakfast was included and very nicely prepared, served on the covered patio at requested time. Huge thank you to the staff for making us so comfortable. As two women traveling, we felt safe and the price was very reasonable. They also allow you to use the refrigerator, so I bought drinks at the Pali and kept them cold. Would definitely recommend to anyone who wants something with more cultural flavor than a typical generic hotel.

Room Tip: I was glad we requested a room with AC during winter months when it is hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, MA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Like gebgdc said -- an absolute oasis. More of a b&b than a hotel, this was a fabulous find. Very, very centrally located -- about two blocks from the main park in Liberia and within a block of two of the very small number of Rough Guide restaurant recommendations. Most of the hotel folks didn't really speak much English, which was a bit of a challenge for us, but was all part of the experience (and our fault for not speaking any Spanish).

We spent one night here, in between the Rincon de la Vieja and Playa Samara segments of our trip. And were very happy that we did. Our visit happened to coincide with the Fiesta de Liberia, which we didn't know until the owner told us. The common areas of the house are gorgeous -- perfect for kicking back and relaxing a little in between activities. And the owners are very friendly, welcoming, and helpful. And there's a lot of history here.

Parking is available in a secured courtyard, and a home-cooked breakfast is included. Very reasonably priced -- this was a winner in my book.

Room Tip: Note that some rooms have private bathrooms, and some don't. We had booked a room with bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Liberia is a safe, very clean little city and Casa De Papel is situated very close to restaurants and the central square, so it's nice to stroll about and look at the shops.
The hotel is small with a beautiful covered seating area/eating area in the courtyard. Very pretty and well kept garden and pool. Very clean.
The staff is very friendly and accommodating. You can do a shop at the super down the street and store your beer/snacks/what have you in the fridge.
Reasonably priced and a hearty breakfast with fresh fruit, eggs, toast etc. is included. Super glad we took a chance on this hotel as were the other guests we met there. Will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gebgdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merced, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

My favorite part about this hotel is the outside - the entire building is covered in old Costa Rican newspaper articles. It's really beautiful and fun to look at! As for the hotel, the prices are good and the service is great. The staff is friendly and able to speak English if needed. The rooms are a little small, but I felt that it was very fair for the price.
Our room didn't have air conditioning or even a fan, so this was my biggest complaint because it was HOT. Luckily, I was able to borrow a fan from Instituto Estelar Bilingue, an English / Spanish school that is directly across the street.
Inside the hotel, there is a small pool that is really pretty and surrounded by greenery and hammocks - a very relaxing place to be.
Overall, I enjoyed my experience with this hotel and I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharai K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
149 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Nice historic home with easy to find location,but disappointing in most other ways. Room was stuffy even with the A/C. Futon mattress on a platform. Pool was a bit cloudy and uninviting, but the setting was beautiful with lots of greenery and a large covered living space nearby. Breakfast was flavorless, dry scrambled eggs with dry toast, no butter or jam offered. Coffee was good, no juice or water offered.
Keep in mind this city has very few street signs.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravelgreeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liberia hotels
0.1 mi away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 16 in Liberia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
1.2 mi away
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN El Sitio Hotel & Casino
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#15 of 16 in Liberia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rincon del Llano
Hotel Rincon del Llano
#14 of 16 in Liberia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Papel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Papel

Property: Casa de Papel
Address: Calle Real, Liberia, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Liberia
Also Known As:
Casa De Papel Costa Rica/Liberia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing