We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“nice property, a few things to keep in mind”
other travellers have booked this property
Palma Real cottage,  Gorgeous  shared pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Palma Real cottage,  Gorgeous  shared pool
Eladio's Place-Explore Paradise, Palma real cottage. Palma Real cottage, front view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
Palma Real cottage,  Gorgeous  shared pool
Eladio's Place-Explore Paradise, Palma real cottage.
Palma Real cottage, front view
Palma Real cottage,
outside corridor!
Palma Real cottage, living, dining and kitchen
Kitchen and dining
Living room
Bedroom with queen size bed.
Bedroom with twin single beds
Toilet and sink
Bathroom
Gazebo BBQ and furniture outdoor
Our cottages offer an ample and safe parking area!
Rainforest of Rincon de la Vieja Volcano. It's only an one hour away from our cottages.
Junquillal beach. it is a beautiful beach and a wildlife refuge.
We offer several tours within them the snorkeling tour by boat
We have scope and binoculars for our guests!
Beautiful beach only a 40 minutes away from our cottage. It's a private refuge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
lynn f
highland park,nj
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“nice property, a few things to keep in mind”
Reviewed 19 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

My family (2 women, 9 year old twins) rented Palma Real for a week earlier this month. The cottage is mostly as advertised and was comfortable for the 4 of us. We were frustrated by a few things:
1. the recently installed ADT security system, which "beeped" about once a minute through the night and then we managed to activate the alarm in the middle of the night while trying to make it stop. Eladio turned off the alarm for the rest of the week but I would ask him for an update before booking. The cottage is in the middle of nowhere, not sure why an alarm system is needed.
2. The wifi access didn't exist in the cottage, so we spent most of the week taking turns sitting in Eladio's kitchen to access the internet. This was a bit uncomfortable for us and also for his family, though they tried to not mind. Eladio bought all sorts of devices to try to improve access in the cottage, but by the end of the week we were still without usable wifi. Again, if wifi is important to you I would ask for an update before booking.
3. We found the two dogs to be intimidating, not cute and playful. They scared us (adults) and they scared our son.
4. We followed Eladio to Playa Naranjo and had a lovely time. For the rest of the week, we went off by ourselves- this worked for our comfort zone.
5. Vanessa is a lovely woman and provided us with a nice plate of pork and rice. Our kids said the pork was really good, we all enjoyed the rice. Moms are vegetarian.
6. Vanessa is happy to do laundry and does a great job. Prior to getting to the cottage, I thought we might have our own washing machine.
7. 10 year old Luke says "overall good, pool was great, good place to sit outside and look at nature- we saw lizards, toads, birds. We rescued really cute little frogs from the shower too. Beds were nice, comfortable overall."
8. Property is 6 miles (12 km) north of Liberia. Good supermarkets in Liberia, but not too many good restaurants. If you are an omnivore, it sounds like you should take advantage of Vanessa's great cooking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: nice comfortable cottage
Liked least: alarm system, scary dogs, limited wifi access
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CubaSO
Deux-Montagnes, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a great place!”
Reviewed 26 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We are a family with 2 teenagers, and we wanted to visit Costa Rica otherwise than in those all inclusive hotels. Therefore, we chose Eladio's Place. And what an happiness!
A few kilometers away from Liberia, the Castro family was waiting for us. There was a large ground well maintained by Sergio, some houses very appropriate(clean) and well organized and the swimming pool. Eladio the owner is authentic, his sweet spouse Vanessa, is an excellent cook, Hugo was our private guide for the week. What an expert! We had an incomparable welcome by breakfasts ,plate of fresh fruit, delicious natural juice. Eladio and Hugo took us on Naranjo Beach to Witche's Rock and we practiced surfing. Followed during the week by excursions in forest in some national parks. On the volcano Rincon de la Vieja we visited the famous fall La Cangreja; magic! All this, far from the tourist crowd.... We continued our trip but returned to Eladio for the last night before our flight. Everybody came to say goodbye around a costa ricain feast. We were so happy to find friends. The people in Costa Rica are so sympatic.Thanks to all for this warm stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The calm and the bird songs in the morning.
Liked least: Going back home...
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2012
THanks friends
WE appreciate a lot your so nice review, thanks for all!
Pura Vida
Eladio Castro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Reviewed 7 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
theresaCa...
calgary
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Hospitality”
Reviewed 19 March 2012 for a stay in February 2012

We stayed at Eladio's place for four nights and loved every minute of it. His property is just lovely and he takes pride in creating a zen environment for his guests. Our daughter had a blast exploring the grounds and looking at all the flora and fauna. The pool was a highlight for us as it was so beautiful and refreshing on warm days. We booked three excursions with Eladio and each day was an adventure. From hiking to secluded waterfalls to exploring the dry and humid forest, each adventure left us in awe of the pure beauty of costa rica!! Eladio's wife prepared home-cooked costa rican meals for us and we felt like we were in heaven!!! She is such an excellant cook and took care of all of our needs. We highly recommend Eladio's place to anyone travelling with children and those looking for some adventure and fun!! We can't wait to return!! Thank you Eladio and family!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Hospitality and adventures with Eladio and fun at the pool
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama
Reviewed 2 March 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Shangann
Austin, TX
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pura Vida!”
Reviewed 13 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012

My husband and a friend just got back from a 4 day stay at Eladio's place (our friend actually stayed an entire week). Describing our experience as amazing would be an understatement. The hiking, waterfalls, horseback riding, hot springs, pristine beach were all wonderful but Eladio really made our vacation un-forgetful. He acted as our private tour guide - full of enthusiasm every day and very knowledgeable. Made us feel like we were family and provided us with everything we needed. If you're looking for something off the tourist map, this is the place to go. The location is also awesome - didn't take us more than an hour to get anywhere. This is my 3rd trip to Costa Rica (1st time to Liberia) and would highly, highly recommend staying with Eladio. Thanks so much Eladio for making our stay in Costa Rica so wonderful . Pura Vida!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Reviewed 2 February 2012 for a stay in January 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing