We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best driver around”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Charlie B
2 reviews
“Best driver around”
Reviewed 21 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Best 4x4 driver in Costa Rica. Super safe and super confident driver. would recommend to anyone looking to see some great sights.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2017
Hello Charlie B,
Thank you very much for review. We appreciate it alot!
Was a pleasure to work for you and the group!

God bless you

Pura Vida
Eladio Castro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YassasMpl...
Mpls. Mn.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent base for exploring north central Costa Rica”
Reviewed 29 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Delightful casa, and well-kept by Eladio, Vanessa and their associate Fareed. Ideal starting point for exploring the less visited northern beachs, Rincon de la Vieja volcano park, and near-by resort, called Boriquen, where for a $25 day pass you can enjoy a soak in thermal waters, splash in a sweet pool with swim-up bar, and walk the well-manicured grounds. Casa is basic, but well-laid out, with decent air conditioning in the two bedrooms, plain and pleasant grounds, with a relaxing outdoor pool. Eladio knows his beautiful country very well, and was spot-on with travel advice and even supplied very-accurate, hand-drawn small maps (which he called croques). There is some hiway noise (from main road number 1), but it was tolerable. Overall a very pleasant place and experience, greatly enhanced by Eladio's insightful advice.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blancoy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Ever CR Experience”
Reviewed 13 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We had the best experience with Eladio and his family. Planning a follow up trip next year to see more!
His tours are custom and you will meet the amazing people of CR.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2017
We are more than glad to know you enjoyed our adventure trips!
Will be a pleasure to show more of other ones of our adventures trips on your next visit!

Thank so much for everything

See you forward!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabrina12...
Epping, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is Costa Rica! Pura Vida. Epic adventure.”
Reviewed 11 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is the best of Costa Rica! Great location, wonderful hosts, experiences you'll never forget. Lovely Costa Rica house, great pool, close to Liberia, and the best adventures you'll ever have in Costa Rica.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2017
We aprreciate a lot your nice review
we are glad to know you had a good time in Explore Paradise!

Thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamieCate
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfecto!”
Reviewed 28 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Eladio and his family were perfect hosts! We have stayed all over the world, and have never been so welcomed and treated so kindly. We experienced so much more of Costa Rica than we could have ever done through a resort or on our own. The property grounds are kept perfect and welcoming, and the house was very homey. Anything we needed was provided with a smile. Our kids loved Lucia and Gabriel, and Vanessa was lovely. She even went out of her way to feed us Costa Rican specialties! Eladio took us on amazing adventures (we saw a sea turtle, tucans, rare butterflies, had the MOST incredible lunch in the forest, and so much more!). Our only wish is that we could have stayed longer than a week! This was our first TA booking, and so I really put trust in the other reviews here...and we are so glad we did! Much love from the Cate family to your family, Eladio! Pura Vida!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2016
Hello Jamie
Thank you very much for your nice review!
We just wanted that you had a nice stay at Eladio's Place.
You has a beautiful family. We really appreciate you stayed at Explore Paradise.
Thank you very much for everything.

God bless you and your beautiful family!

Vanessa, Ana Lucia, Gabriel y Eladio
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeromeHud...
Kelowna, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hiden gem owned an operated by wonderful poeple”
Reviewed 26 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We heard from Eladio's place from word to mouth once in Costa Rica. The description matched the experience we went through and went beyong. What a exceptional experience touring the Rain Forest while being accompanied by Eladio himself and his helper Carlos .... Eladio is a very passionate person who could live in the rain forest the year around so he loves it ... He is very respectful of the environment and has very good knowledge of the local wildlife and plants .... Amongst all the animals and plant we saw, the white hawks and the blue jeans red frog (tiny frogs) in their natural habitat was nice to witness.... And the natural hotsprings after a nice but short hike was just fantastic ... And relaxing .... The amenities were well maintained and offered some flexibility as well. So one evening we had a nice BBQ outside with Eladio and Carlo and enjoy the nice inground swimming pool the following day.
Kudos to Eladio the passionate tour guide / owner, his wife Vanessa and helper Carlos ... We will definitely go back one day soon ;-)
Jerome & Melanie from Canada (BC & Quebec)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We felt like home ... Wonderful and passionate owners
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann P
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pura Vida”
Reviewed 13 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Eladio's place is a must stay for those who want to have a true Costa Rican experience. His resort home is very nice and welcoming to those who he immediately considers a friend. His knowledge of the area and ability to take you on private tours is something you won't find from a tour company. We only stayed 1 night because our time share didn't start until the next day, but we all wished we would have booked here for at least 3 out of our 7 day stay in Liberia. You will not find a more trustworthy or better guide to show you the beauty of this area. This is not a five star Marriot, but it will warm your heart and make you want to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Eladio and his families hospitality
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing