We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looove the food!!”
Review of EL MESON LIBERIANO - CLOSED

EL MESON LIBERIANO
Cuisines: Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Best Restaurant at Liberia Guanacaste.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Looove the food!!”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Great food and environment! The best Alfredo pasta, fully recommended. The food, music and service combination was great!

Helpful?
Thank Adri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    10
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ChiquiChiqui
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Absolutely Awesome!”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We had lunch here while in Liberia, Costa Rica and it was wonderful! We had the casado....and it was awesome! We thought the prices and the food were great. The atmosphere in the courtyard was perfect for enjoying a good meal and we were not rushed. We definitely would go back again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChiquiChiqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

In 3 weeks, this was the best ambiance,food and service experience we had in Costa Rica. The ambiance is delightful as the restaurant is in a 120 year old building which has a display of the original structure which is typical of the era. It has a beautiful courtyard with a giant almond tree that we sat under. We had excellent ceviche and the best casado, a typical Costa Rican dish. Service was the best of our trip and although the prices may seem a little high on the menu, keep in mind that they include the 13% tax and 10% service. A memorable way to end our trip.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pallin70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The restaurant is located in an old house, meaning it has an internal patio, which is good for the Liberian hot afternoons. They have a nice menu with great steaks! The menu is no different from most restaurants in town, but it is still good. The prices are a little bit high for a budget dinner, but it is definitely a nice option to go on a night out with the significant other.
The only problem I saw was the location of the restrooms. When it rains (and believe me, it pours cats and dogs during the rainy season in Costa Rica) people can easily get wet because the restrooms are located on a side of the restaurant, and there is a little roof that doesn't cover you during windy storms. They also didn't have a light out of the restroom, so you can't look at yourself while washing your hands (not a problem during daytime, but weird at nighttime).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrnlcastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We enjoyed an incredible meal, amazing service and beautiful surroundings for our last meal in Costa Rica. If we return to Costa Rica, we will definately return to this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveltips621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed EL MESON LIBERIANO also viewed

Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
 
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing