We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week in Costa Rica”
Review of Las Espuelas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Las Espuelas Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Liberia
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A week in Costa Rica”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Went there with my husband for our anniversary. Picked Liberia because is close to every thing we wanted to do during that week. People at the hotel were really helpful, gave us a lot of advise about what to do, where to go, what to see, where to go for nice dinners. Have to Mention Gaby, the girl at the front desk and the cheff... One night we decide to stay and he prepared a very nice dinner. The hotel was simple and clean, no complain. The breakfast was very good. I recommend it to any one who wants a clean place to sleep and next morning go on adventures.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank especruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    80
    54
    11
    9
See reviews for
55
67
19
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Only stayed 1 night , the rooms are old, ok for 1 star rating the breakfast (buffet) was quite good but the evening meal was poor.. BEWARE took 1 payment under the name Las Espuelas which was correct, when I checked my internet bank I find that they had taken another payment under the name Hotel El Sitio, Not up-to B W standards, I live 5 hours drive away , but when I pass through Liberia again they will recieve a Personal call. would I stay again certainly NOT...

Room Tip: Old nothing else to say
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank chippy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Liberia hotels

Charlottetown, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

This was my least favorite place that I stayed during my trip to Costa Rica. The rooms were very old looking, the staff were not overly friendly and disorganized (I never received my wakeup call that I asked for..) The computer that is free for guests to use is extremely slow and kept crashing. The food quality was poor, especially for the prices you pay. The one thing that I enjoyed about the hotel was the pool and the fact that we were pretty much the only guests at the hotel (although, it did create a creepy atmosphere). I would recommend spending extra money and looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PathoSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

It looks decayed and poor and is very expensive for what it is. The cherry on the cake was the white light bulbs over the bedside table which gave a really cold and freakish atmosphere to an already sad room. What sort of saving is that?

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

We flew into Liberia to start our Costa Rica adventure on Continental. Since the flight from Houston arrived at 8 PM, and the car rental places closed soon after, we figured the best plan was to stay in a hotel near the airport - that way, if the plane was late, and the car rental agencies were closed (they are not open 24 hours), we wouldn't end up stranded at the airport.
The best part about this hotel is the buffet breakfast - scrambled eggs, black beans in rice, small sausages, various fruits, and juice. The room was quiet and comfortable, the staff was friendly. Price was great too - only $74 for a one night stay in a double, including all taxes. The only negative I have is that the hotel does not have a shuttle, so we ended up paying $20 for a taxi ride from the airport. However, next morning Budget Rent-A-Car sent their shuttle to pick us up for free when we called (local calls are free from the hotel, but front desk has to dial for you).

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enyedy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lier, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
406 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

2km south of liberia on the roadside op panamerican Hwy (but limited noise of passing trucks) ... you need your own transportation to get to town.
airco room was good and clean, entire hotel was clean, garden and poolarea clean. all rooms on ground floor. small breakfast buffet.
good value for money (67$/night per room incl. breakfast) ... if you need more luxury rooms : go to Hilton Garden Inn (12km) and pay 2,5x more per room !

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ludovicvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2010

Booked through a travel agent, pre-paid, and they still dinged us for an additional $87.70 saying that the room was only reserved for one. We had arranged in advance to store two bicycles there for two weeks, but after the hassles with them we decided not to trust them with anything! The room was marginal and my daughter and son-in-law got bed bugs. Efforts through travel agent to get any refund was completely ignored. This owner is unscrupulous!

Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank McDuffVictoria_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liberia hotels
6.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
1.3 mi away
Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino
1.2 mi away
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Siesta
Hotel La Siesta
#10 of 13 in Liberia
29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rincon del Llano
Hotel Rincon del Llano
#11 of 13 in Liberia
75 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#12 of 13 in Liberia
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Espuelas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Espuelas Hotel

Property: Las Espuelas Hotel
Address: S. of Liberia on Int'l Highway 2 km, Liberia 50101, Costa Rica (Formerly BEST WESTERN Las Espuelas)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Liberia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Espuelas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Las Espuelas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Las Espuelas Hotel Liberia
Best Western Liberia
Liberia Best Western
Best Western Hotel Liberia
Las Espuelas Hotel Costa Rica/Liberia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing