We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Excellent Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Las Espuelas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Las Espuelas Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Liberia
Heriot Bay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Excellent Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Las Espuelas is a very comfortable hotel and fine place to stay, I highly recommend it. The hotel is located 2 km. south of Liberia, just off the highway, but because of the hotel’s configuration you won’t hear the highway. The air-conditioned rooms are clean and very adequate, with comfortable beds and good showers. The attractive grounds are large with a wide variety of plants and huge shade trees. The pool is very large, refreshing and clean, pool towels are provided. The pool area is spacious, shaded and a great place to relax. Breakfast is a buffet with a wide selection of food including excellent fruit and great coffee.
Las Espuelas is a very well run hotel. The manager and staff are considerate, friendly, helpful and efficient. Many of the staff speak both English and Spanish. Rates a very reasonable with breakfast included.
My wife and I stayed here because of the hotel’s proximity to Liberia airport, but it would also be a very good place for extended stays while exploring the area around Liberia. It is a good choice for families. The hotel is single story so there are no elevators or stairs or people above you. Try it, you’ll like it.

Room Tip: ask to stay in room 11 or higher to block out any highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morelo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    79
    52
    11
    9
See reviews for
51
67
19
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

This place is in the middle of nowhere, in need of renovation and pretty dirty. My room had plenty of dead bugs on the floor, in the shower and even 5 or 6 dead flies on the bed.
The pool area is nice and the staff are friendly
The breakfast is not good and the restaurant has a very very limited selection, which is also really quite bland.

As you are still a $20 taxi ride from the airport, staying in Liberia would afford more opportunities to fine somewhere good to eat as its the same cost in a taxi from Liberia as it is from this Best Western.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Liberia hotels

Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

This hotel is right on the PanAmerican highway and there are major roadworks outside at the moment. We had booked two superior rooms with plenty of notice, but were put in basic rooms, which were really basic, as all the superior rooms were taken...not impressive.
We moved the next day and the refurbished rooms are much better.
Unusually for Costa Rica, the staff on reception were not very welcoming or helpful.
Breakfasts were very average and we kept having to ask for dishes to be replenished.
The best thing about this hotel is the lovely outdoor pool , with bar service.
There must be better options in Liberia.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room at the back, away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina S, Front Office Manager at Las Espuelas Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Mr.Greenjag,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your most recent stay with us. I am concerned to read that the experience did not live up to your expectations.
I apologize if for your first night you haven't been put in the superior room you've reserved, I will make sure this issue do not occur at any time in the future.

Kind regards
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

For an inexpensive property, I happily recommend this hotel. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and spacious. The pool and gardens are impecable. Breakfast is more than satisfying, with the staff very accomodating.

Due to flight delays, we were forced to stay in Liberia for a night. Booked this hotel through the Best Western web site, and was very pleasantly surprised at the quality for the low price it was offered at. You cannot do wrong by enjoying this property for a day or a week!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iflyuasea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina S, Front Office Manager at Las Espuelas Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Sirs,

I thank you for your kind feedback on your recent visit to Las Espuelas. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed the experience and how highly you valued all the aspects of your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back during your next stay in Costa Rica

Kind regards

Martina Sacchi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had a late cancellation of a flight 3-29-14. The airline's plan was to bus passengers 1.5 hours away to a roach motel. We luckily booked 2 rooms here. Only 10-15 mins from LIR. Very pleasant staff. Clean comfy rooms with good A/C. Neat bar and food open to at least 9pm.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Epidugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina S, Front Office Manager at Las Espuelas Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and how much you appreciated the service and the rooms you stayed in. I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards

Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We reserved this hotel based on location (hotel close to Liberia as we wanted to visit the volcano Rincon de la Vieja)) and TripAdvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. The lady at the desk was very helpful. Nice and clean room. The breakfast was beyond my expectation of a continental breakfast (eggs, pancakes, fresh fruits,etc...). Easy to find and well located. The whole family had fun in the pool. Great value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina S, Front Office Manager at Las Espuelas Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Michel,

I'm so glad to read your comment, I hope to welcome you and your family back as soon as possible!

Best regards

Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We arrived late as we drove from Monteverde to here as the finishing leg of our trip, only to fly out early in the morning. When we mentioned this to the desk they arranged for a taxi to take us to the airport (even at ungodly hours in the morning), arranged for us to get some food to go in the morning (just a little sandwich and some fruit, but appreciated none the less), and allowed us to still order food at the restaurant that evening (as were hungry from travelling all day). We had messed up the time we wanted to leave for the airport in the morning and went back to tell them a new time, which fortunately was later than previously stated, and they had no problem changing all our accommodations for the morning. We didn't stay long, mostly to sleep and get to the airport, but we had no complaints for the short time we were there. I thought the grounds were beautiful and the room was a usual hotel, nice shower and okay bed. I would stay here again and recommend to anyone as an interim stay while travelling to or from the airport.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenC012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina S, Front Office Manager at Las Espuelas Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Jen,
I would like to thank you for this nice review and for your generous support. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed a nice moment with us and will share your words with all the staff.
I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again

Best regards

Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liberia hotels
6.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
1.2 mi away
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN El Sitio Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Bramadero
Hotel El Bramadero
#4 of 16 in Liberia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rincon del Llano
Hotel Rincon del Llano
#14 of 16 in Liberia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#15 of 16 in Liberia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Espuelas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Espuelas Hotel

Property: Las Espuelas Hotel
Address: S. of Liberia on Int'l Highway 2 km, Liberia 50101, Costa Rica (Formerly BEST WESTERN Las Espuelas)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Liberia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Espuelas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Las Espuelas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Las Espuelas Hotel Liberia
Best Western Liberia
Liberia Best Western
Best Western Hotel Liberia
Las Espuelas Hotel Costa Rica/Liberia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing