We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is the redeeming quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Liberia
GreenLeadersSilver level
Miami, FL
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Location is the redeeming quality”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Background: I've been traveling to CR at least once/year since 1992 and have Tico friends in Liberia, so I've spent many days/nights in this lovely little city that has personality and charm.
After my "regular" Liberia motel closed unexpectedly, I booked two nights here in July, 2011 so I could be right in the center of the action for the end-of-July holiday celebrating Guanacaste's annexation ("Anexion") from Nicaragua by Costa Rica in the early 1800's. This two day event is capped by a horse/rider procession of over 1000 riders from all over CR but also features traditional music and dancing. And a State Fair rivaling the best ones in the US. If you can be in Liberia around July 25, plan to attend this celebration to get a sense of the Guanacaste traditions. A great time to be in Liberia!
So, El Sitio...A bit reminiscent of any number of nameless anywhere US hotel chains. Room was nothing to write home about but there were none of the glaring issues I've read from other reviewers. Either they're sprucing up (esp for the Anexion) or I just got lucky. The pool is unquestionably the best feature; it's huge and clean with both sunny and shady spots. I chilled for hours after shooting the Anexion. It's walking distance from "downtown" Liberia and I got a good price for three nights, so it met my needs.

Didn't eat there but highly recommend Paso Real on the corner by the Church and Central Plaza and also Pronto Pizzeria about 3 blocks behind the Church for clay oven-style pizza. My favorite pizza anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Palmisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viviana M, Gerente at Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Thank you for your comments about us, we hope to see you again in Liberia, Guanacaste and stay in our hotel.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    89
    74
    51
    52
See reviews for
81
101
36
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012 via mobile

I don't recommend this hotel at all. I have stayed here several times because of work, but not anymore, I have had a lot of bad experiences at this place. Just to name some: dirty rooms, tv doesn't work, air conditioning not working,lack of hot water, even once lack of electricity. Very old rooms, that lack renovation. Worst of all: people at the reception, Jocelyn; Viviana general manager. Arriving at 9 am at the hotel with a baby 6 months old after a 3 hour ride in car; they were unable to fix a room, although they had empty rooms, although I offer to pay more for the early check in,etc. Not only were they unkind, but disrespectful. I do not know how someone with so little skills in customer service got to be general manager of a hotel. It's a disgrace for Best Western to have a hotel like this.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Paola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Liberia hotels

San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I arrived at night with no reservation beforehand, and find a room, clean but really think the hotel needs a refreshing process, great location, right across the main highway and just 2 minutes away from downtown Liberia. What I could say it was reaaly bad was the reception at night, the rest is average but breakfast was really good. The parking is next to the street and the cars have to be parked in the grass if the hotel is full.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viviana M, Gerente at Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Thank you for your opinion, We are working to do improvements in the hotel to be able to offer a better service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Good hotel, but the service at the reception is bad.Good pools, good food, but the wifi doesn't worked at the rooms. Parking space is minimun. Room service very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alvaro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberia, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

If this place was locally owned I would cut it some slack. It's owned by the Best Western and it looks like it is owned by the woman in Great Expectations. This place hasn't been updates since 1990's. It's run down and semi-comfortable. For what you get, you're better off supporting a locally owned hotel and not a huge chain that refuses to invest in its' property.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JujuSandytoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This hotel was our first stop for the night when we arrived in Liberia, Costa Rica. We arrived at dinner time on a Wednesday night. The hotel is located about a 10 minute drive from the airport and about 5 minutes from the majority of car rental agencies. Check is was easy and the young woman working at reception was very kind. The rooms are located on two floors in two side by side complexes; one facing a street side and one on the inner side. I would definitely book the inside room. There is not much out side as this is located in a mostly business/industrial area. But somewhere near there is a restaurant/bar which plays very loud music until about 3am.

The room it was self was dates and very musty smelling but it was clean. The beds were very hard but the sheets were clean and crisp. It had the usual, radio & TV. During the night everything echoes; people talking outside, opening and closing doors, etc.
Parking is free and is available right out front which is nice. An internet computer is available is available near the front desk for guests.

Breakfast is included and consisted of a breakfast bar with fresh fruit, rice and beans, scrambled eggs and toast and juice or coffee/tea. It was decent.

There is large court yard in the centre with a pool and a small play area for kids. We did not use the pool as it was covered with filth.

All said and done, for the price you pay, we could certainly do better in the area. But for an overnight stop, it is tolerable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the court yard, not the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Stayed there for three days. Room, bath, and beds very comfortable. Daily free breakfast including FRESH FRESH tropical fruits! Nice swimming pool and hot tub, also a cute little playground. One night the hot tub wasn't warm when I got there, but the staff immediately set to remedy that -- in an hour it was ready to go :) Staff in general very sweet and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms are either street-side or pool/playground side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stjarnisgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liberia hotels
6.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
1.3 mi away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 13 in Liberia
188 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rincon del Llano
Hotel Rincon del Llano
#10 of 13 in Liberia
76 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Siesta
Hotel La Siesta
#11 of 13 in Liberia
30 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#12 of 13 in Liberia
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino

Property: Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino
Address: | next to Plaza Santa Rosa, Liberia 13450, Costa Rica (Formerly BEST WESTERN El Sitio Hotel & Casino)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Liberia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino offers 52 standard rooms, complete with 2 queen-size beds, air conditioning, cable tv, coffe maker, hot water showers, hair dryer, safe box and closet. Our hotel site is beautifully landscaped with jungle flora surrounding two shimmering pools... One for adults, one for children. We also have tennis courts, a gymnasium and play areas for kids. In addition, we have facilities for meetings and events with capacity for 300 guests.Located in Liberia, capital city of the Guanacaste region, Best Western El Sitio stands adjacent to the Panamerican Highway, just 30 minutes from the beautiful tropical beaches of the Pacific. Visitors have easy access to a myriad of activities including surfing, sailing, fishing and SCUBA... And close proximity (25 minutes by car) to Costa Rica s national parks with waterfalls, bike trails, capony tours and more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western El Sitio Hotel And Casino
Best Western El Sitio Hotel Liberia
Best Western Liberia
Liberia Best Western
Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino Costa Rica/Liberia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing