We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard gig”
Review of Guanacaste Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Guanacaste Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Liberia
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Standard gig”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Nothing special here but for $12 I got my own room with bathroom. Looked a bit depressing but I still has a good nights sleep there. I stayed on a saturday so there was kareoke but that all packs up at 12 so I didnt really mind.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JosephFoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    10
    18
    20
    18
See reviews for
7
22
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Punta Uva, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
119 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

For $11 I got a room with a private bathroom a 2-minute walk from the bus depot for my 5am ride to San Jose. It's also 2 blocks from the Maxi-Pali so you needn't even splurge for a restaurant meal.

This is no Ritz-Carlton. Rooms are Spartan and the mattresses could use replacing, but the property is very secure, the fans powerful enough to drown out inevitable urban noise and it suits its purpose. I wouldn't look elsewhere for transfers for the neighouring busses to Coco, San Jose, Peñas Blancas and surrounds.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SocklessJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This hotel was surprisingly nice and clean! I came here as to the cheapest option in Liberia (9 USD for a small room with shared bathroom, which is for Costa Rica conditions unbelievable). After reading the reviews of other travellers on tripadvisor and hostelworld, I expected a "cheap Thail hotel" type of accommodation with cockroaches everywhere, eventually bed bugs.

I was shocked,that the whole place was very clean, both in the rooms and outside (it is like a hotel in a garden). The bathroom with soap and toilet paper, nice toilet, electrically heated water in the shower. I usually stay in dorms in hostels, but this is a HOTEL! They even clean your bed every day! And the bathroom is really shared - shared with the neighbour's room, so it is not one bathroom in the corridor for all the rooms as usually.

A very pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unprepared_franta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

It's simple but clean, the service is excellent. Loved the restaurant, comida típica with Casados and Gallo Pintos on the menu. Great cooking. A lovely atmosphere. Stayed a week and would have stayed more. You choose if you want to share a bathroom or not and even if there's no air conditioning, the climate and the ventilation are great. No suffering at all. This place made me incredibly happy.

Room Tip: I traveled with 3 more people so we chose two bedrooms and shared a bathroom. only 9 dollars a night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The Guanacadte Hotel is a well maintained and exceptionally clean property.
Select the Guanacaste Hotel if you like gardens/courtyards with nice walk ways and picturesque views.
the staff are very nice and friendly.
The property is self contained with everything you need\restaurants, gift shops, pools,bars,club, casino, and a magnificent lobby with a great entrance that beckons return visits everyday just to lounge. (Very spacious with large ceiling fans that offer cooling breezes--nice spacious seating areas)
Very happy I stayed at the Guanacaste Hotel vs. Its sister property, the Palace
because the Palace Guanacste(when I went next door one day ) seemed nice but very sterile cement modern and a bit conservative without the warmth from the regular Guanacaste Hotel. Stay at The Guanacaste Hotel .....,I loved it

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank overjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Riu are an amazing chain of hotels. We have stayed in quite a few around the world but this one really is a 5 star hotel.
The animation team work really hard all day long from 10;00 am right up until well after midnight.
The bar staff are all excellent especially Yenory Gomez Leal. She remembered our drinks every night and gave us really good service. Thank you Yenory for making our holiday!! ( We were always served international Gin and Vodka.) I would also like to mention Heiner Gallo Abarca what fantastic service we had rom this waiter. Thank you Heiner. (If the management get to read this please ensure that these staff either recieve the day off with pay that was mentioned or give them a big pay rise!!
The food was very good although I felt that the Italian restaurant was the weakest link.
All in all a Fabulous holiday. I would really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dinky1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saugerties, NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This choice was by need not choice. Room was fairly clean, no hot water and I have a closet that is bigger than the room I was given. We got in late at night and were leaving early by bus and this hotel was only a block from the terminal, so no cab was needed. There is a bar with this place and it was loud with music but able to sleep after 11pm. The best you can say is that it was affordable.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skibob_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Liberia hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liberia hotels
6.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
0.1 mi away
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rincon del Llano
Hotel Rincon del Llano
#14 of 16 in Liberia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#15 of 16 in Liberia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.4 mi away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 16 in Liberia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guanacaste Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guanacaste Hotel

Property: Guanacaste Hotel
Address: Liberia, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Liberia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Guanacaste Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Guanacaste Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guanacaste Hotel Liberia
Guanacaste Hotel Costa Rica/Liberia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing