We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but enough” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Liberia
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Basic but enough”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

I stayed in Hotel Boyeros for 2 weeks. The room is very basic yet it is enough. A bed and shower is all we need, right? :) Free wi-fi throughout the hotel. Air Conditioning available which is a great plus. Good breakfast.
Excellent location. In walking distance to all Liberia attractions. Great supermarket across the street. The supermarket has the best coffee shop in town. The coffee is so delicious and cheap.
Has a pool and a hot tub!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bates2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    74
    61
    27
    7
See reviews for
52
68
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vallejo, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

My basic requirements for lodging in Liberia were safe, clean, air conditioned and with a pool. I booked Boyeros because there aren't a lot of options, and even fewer that fit that bill in that price range. Boyeros is okay, but it could be quite nice with a modest investment in maintenance and upgrades. It has a great pool, beautiful gardens, a lovely fountain that is relaxing to listen to as you sleep, a conference center, play area and restaurant. It's central location was perfect for my needs- on Highway 1, across from a grocery store, pharmacy and restaurants, and serving as an informal local transportation hub. The street noise would be a draw back, but the restaurant and conference center block the noise from the rooms. Where they miss the mark is in the details. For example, they did a nice job remodeling the bathroom with all new tile flooring and shower, but then left the old water damaged bathroom door. They have lovely balconies with wood easy chairs where you can have a drink and enjoy the garden from your room, and new flat screen TVs with cable, but the linens are tired and scratchy. The rooms are basic and clean, but some well chosen art work, quality linens, and better attention to maintenance details would be all it takes to elevate this place to a 3 star, or even maybe a 4 star for this area. The one thing that we did get the heebie jeebies over was the hot tub. The pool was so nice we were looking forward to an evening in the hot tub to soak our feet, only to discover that the water smelled foul and had algae floating in it. Hotel staff was hit and miss. One woman at the front desk was so helpful and accommodating of my horrible Spanish, yet the other woman always seemed put out when I needed assistance. Breakfast was good for food and service and came with the room- again, an example of what this place could be with the right management, especially since it is well designed for events, group travel and family travel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back will have less street noise from Highway 1. I liked having a room near the founta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlecAndJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

The hotel is located along a busy road so it is a bit noisy. It is surrounded by barbed wires which made me feel strange at first. However, inside the courtyard there is a vey nice garden with banana, mango and avocado trees around the pools. There are 2 pools, one bigger and a smaller jacuzzi type one. We had a great time eating mangos that were falling around the pool...

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

I am not a picky hotel person, but this place was kinda scary. It is located in a not so hot part of town and there is a 10 foot barbed wire fence surrounding the entire hotel. Once you are inside the gates you feel like you are in prison.we had a reservation prior to showing up, once we got there we stayed all of 15 minutes and then checked out and went to the Hilton down the road.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Teri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Liberia hotels

Keswick, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

The room was decent and clean. The air conditioner had a remote control and was very quiet for sleeping. The safe in the room had a lock that you get to choose the code for and it was free. It has a big pool and a smaller kiddie pool. There were some nice trees on the pool deck so nice shade for sitting by the pool. It was a good place to stay for our early morning flight out. The hotel staff are all nice and helpful. They booked us our ride to the airport in the early morning hours and the cab they called was even a few minutes early to pick us up. You are within walking distance to a bunch of fast food restaurants and other shops.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Room was old and dingy looking. The shower was like a mouse peeing in your foot. Water didn't even come away from the wall far enough to wet your head. The water in the Jacuzzi was cloudy, I wouldn't go in. The pool had green mold on the bottom. I expected more from the reviews it got. The grounds are very nice, they just need to work at it. I will try something else next time. It was safe and at a really good location but not worth the price. Look out for the mosquitos at night.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allpartoftheadventur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Corn Island, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

We showed up without a reservation, and they had plenty of rooms, the rate they gave us was higher than the internet rates, and they wouldn't honor the discount rates online. It was a convenient location, close to international bus stops. The room was okay, clean, but with many spots on the walls that had been patched, where they moved light fixtures and enchufes. The water in the shower was so weak, it was difficult to shower, let alone wash your hair. The jacuzzi was covered in mold, so we didnt go in, and the pool was quite cloudy and murky (although nicely decorated). For the price paid, I would try a different hotel.

Room Tip: get a room away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank americangirl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liberia hotels
6.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN El Sitio Hotel & Casino
1.2 mi away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 16 in Liberia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Bramadero
Hotel El Bramadero
#4 of 16 in Liberia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rincon del Llano
Hotel Rincon del Llano
#14 of 16 in Liberia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#15 of 16 in Liberia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
Address: P.O. Box 85-5000, Liberia 50101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Liberia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boyeros Hotel And Conference Center
Boyeros Hotel Liberia
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center Costa Rica/Liberia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing