We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It had seen better days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Liberia
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“It had seen better days”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We arrived during mid afternoon and the welcome was kind of dry if not unpolite. We got a second floor room, accessible only thought stairs, to which we had to take our own bags.

The rooms door was on the outside of the building (nice view of the 8 feet high wall + 2 barb razor wire layers on top of it). One inside we found an ample room that was in urgent need of repair (see uploaded pictures) that include a light bulb on the ceiling as ceiling lamp, an frightening electrical installation on the bathroom and two bedside lamps that didn't work (and neither look nice). The room also had a private terrace looking into the swimming pool area (which was nice) and an A/C system than barely worked.

Regarding service, it was ..... uneven. The receptionist was unkind on our arrival but after that initial interaction they were very polite and helpful. On the other side the maid just decided to go into the room at around 5:00 PM without knocking the door (And I still don't know why she wanted to go at that time in the afternoon)

Breakfast was simple and no so good, but service was fast most of the time. We also had dinner at the restaurant and it was good enough. However, you can get better (and cheaper) meals close by.

PROS: Location, half decent price and front desk service (most of the time)

CONS: Cleanliness

Summary: Decent place for a couple of nights if you want to stay close to the Airport and don't spend too much. Just in case remember to store your valuables in the safe.

Room Tip: Take upper floor rooms if you don't mind to walk the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LostSpaniard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    78
    65
    27
    8
See reviews for
56
72
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This hotel seems to cater to well behaved truck drivers as well as families. The amenities are few but the rooms are adequate if you've got no other options. I thought I had a reservation the Best Western El Sitio that is in walking distance from this hotel but found out that I didn't. I was disappointed about that but more so that the price of their double room was more than the Best Western El Sitio. Why? For fools like me! I found one or two exceptionally service minded reception staff but for the most part the wait staff in the restaurant are in dire need of training. They are rude and discourteous. The dining room is on the main highway and very loud. I advise you all to try El Sitio instead.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are better and have a view of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redzebra2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We discovered this hotel on our second trip - it was half the price of the Hilton which we also like. It is more of a Costa Rican style hotel and has a beautiful pool and garden area inside the hotel (you cannot tell much from the outside of the hotel). Marjorie the desk manager speaks flawless English and all the staff were very helpful. The furniture is actually nicer than that of the Hilton and made from teak - bed, dressers and the heavy Teak chairs on the porches were hand carved. Our room looked over the children's pool and the large pool and over the bananas fruit trees and mango trees. We watched hummingbirds and parrots. It is right at the main shopping area for town so it's very convenient to both local style restaurants and even a Burger King and McDonalds. We even found a very convenient grocery store and drug store and the two best priced souvenir shops in Costa Rica right across the street! The room including the Costa Rican style breakfast with fried eggs rice and beans and a great cup of Costa Rican coffee.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Was planning to stay 3 nights but stayed only once. Good thing is it's open 24 hrs so if you arrive late it's not an issue.
It was for 2 adults and we got a small room with 2 queen beds and 1 full crammed into it.
Linen and towels were old and torn. TV didn't work. Shower was tiny.
Room was not spotless clean and parking space is limited.
A/C Worked well. Staff was friendly. Pool looked pretty nice and clean.

Even though breakfast was included we decided to skip it and find a new place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RacheliuxC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Liberia hotels

Champaign, IL
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed for two nights in March. The grounds are well maintained with a great pool and spa. The rooms are dated and need maintenance. The ground floor rooms have an unusual door arrangement with both a front and read door. Staff wa friendly and helpful.

There is a cafe attached for meals and drinks. Nothing special but clean and convenient.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The room is ok. The ac works fine, the phone in the room is broken. There is no place to charge your phone or appliances so you need to unplugg the lamps...ughh. shower and bathroom are clean. The bed is ok, maybe I got lucky with the matress. Parking lot is really creepy and there is a lot of noise coming in from the Liberia highway

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Unless you get this hotel at some incredible price, I really advise choosing something else. Our room was barely livable. The door handle was completely broken and would not lock - scary. We were so tired from our flight we just couldn't deal with moving. No mattress pads, sheets were torn, no wash cloth, no face towels. Just not great overall.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miliropa, Gerente at Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
We are very concern about your opinion on your experience in Hotel Boyeros so , we would like to know what was the date and room number. Thanks you so much for helping us to improve, we are doing everything posible to provide very nice and confortable facilities, and your experience made us to wonder what would had happend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liberia hotels
6.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
1.2 mi away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 13 in Liberia
186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Bramadero
Hotel El Bramadero
#4 of 13 in Liberia
79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Siesta
Hotel La Siesta
#10 of 13 in Liberia
29 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#12 of 13 in Liberia
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
Address: Liberia 50101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Liberia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boyeros Hotel And Conference Center
Boyeros Hotel Liberia
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center Costa Rica/Liberia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing