We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for budget travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Posada del Tope Hotel
Ranked #10 of 15 Liberia B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I've stayed here on 4 separate trips through Liberia. 3 out of the 4 I was with another person and stayed in the building across the street. These rooms were basic, but certainly good enough for the price. All are shared bath. The best room in my opinion is at the very rear of the property. Once I was on my own and stayed in the "main building" where the front desk is, and that room was very dark and cramped. Kinda creepy, but I survived.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jwrinkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

We were excited looking at the pictures on the hotel website but it wasn't as good as the pictures, although this lodging is built inside a heritage house/building and can be homey and good for backpackers. It's a sort of hostel, I should say.

I called in the night before we arrived but the next-day we didn't find our reservation. Luckily there was still a room, which after, we had to leave because we found a better place to stay. It was just because we needed a little more luxury on our holiday.

Yes, the buildings are to admire, as well as its knick knacks from old times. But that was just about it. The room reminded me of my grandmother's house in the village.

What I would recommend about this place is their tours, they seemingly have more tour options than others. But for this, then coming is better in the afternoon/evening before the night you want to do the tours.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank psychedelicangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We were staying at another hotel in Liberia and looking for a tourist information center to see if we could arrange some day tours during a two-day layover there. The center city shop keepers sent us to Posada del Tope, located in the historic district (Calle Real) of the city. Dennis, the owner of the hotel was extremely generous with his time and expertise to us non-guests and located a 1/2 day tour with El Viejo tour company (highly recommended) at a reduced off-season rate (August 2013) that included a driver, English speaking guide, boat tour on the Tempisque River where we saw a large number of various birds, crocodiles, lizards, monkeys and anteaters. Alejandro, the guide, was university trained in Ecology/Tourism and gave us an informed and entertaining overview of the flora and fauna in Costa Rica. He held the attention of 3 children in another family that took the same boat tour for over 3 hours as we toured the Tempisque and discovered all the treasures of this beautiful country. They took us to La Casona, a restored historic hacienda, toured a sugar cane facility, and had a terrific lunch in the hacienda's restaurant. Both Posada del Tope (excellent experience) and El Viejo touring are highly recommended for reliable Pura Vida experiences in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This was my first stop in Costa Rica. I was used to paying a lot less for a lot more in Nicaragua, but this place was a little gem in a sea of over-priced lodging. The rooms are very simple with a bed, a table, and a fan. It's more like a hostel, but you get your own room with a shared bath. The decor is really cute with lamps made out of trumpets and records adorning the walls. Best of all, the staff is ÜBER helpful. I had a problem with my visa and they helped me fix the situation by going above-and-beyond. There's a small microwave, small fridge, and some dishes for everyone's use. Also, you get a small discount on the tours. I went to the Rincón de la Vieja Volcano National Park and I paid less than anyone else in the van because of Posada del Tope. I even left my jacket out to clean later because it had grown mold on it and Dennis, the owner, washed and dried it--out of just plain goodness--while I was out hiking. I totally recommend this place!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We arrived on the bus from San Jose in January 2013 and walked into town. We stayed at the Posada del Tope. Our room was a hut in the back garden. There was no window but the fan was quite efficient. The room was clean but there were cracks in the concrete floor and a few ants. We had our own shower, sink and toilet. There was only cold water available but the weather was so hot that it was not a problem. The bed was comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. This is a very economical place to stay!

Room Tip: This is very cheap place to stay so don't expect too much. There may be better rooms in other pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012 via mobile

The Tope includes a homemade service for local trips n adventures. Easy, cheap n friendly. Great for students n adventurous holidaymakers. We took a great wild life trip n a brilliant rafting trip. The hotel is just a short distance from the main square and several resturants.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank golfingsailingsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

aftr living in nicaragua for so long i got used to paying a fare price for a decent place. everywhere else in town was overpriced. this place is fairly basic. but 10$ for a private room? seemed clean and the bathrooms where very nice. ill stay here anytime im passing thru

Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liberia hotels
1.2 mi away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 13 in Liberia
190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Siesta
Hotel La Siesta
#10 of 13 in Liberia
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rincon del Llano
Hotel Rincon del Llano
#11 of 13 in Liberia
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#12 of 13 in Liberia
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Liberia
Hotel Liberia
#1 of 15 in Liberia
309 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hospedaje Dodero
Hospedaje Dodero
#1 of 21 in Liberia
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Tope Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Tope Hotel

Address: Calle Real, Liberia 50101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Liberia
Price Range: £19 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Posada del Tope Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your La Posada del Tope Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Tope Hotel Liberia
La Posada Del Tope Hotel Costa Rica/Liberia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing