We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay: friendly and clean” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Javy

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Liberia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Javy
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Liberia
Certificate of Excellence
Nijmegen, Nederland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect stay: friendly and clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

The people working here are very friendly. We were received with a juice and a platter of fruit. The room was clean and spacious. The breakfast was huge and good and they arranged transportation to the vulcano.

The location is somewhat out of the center, but the hotel is perfect value! You can walk to the centre in 20 minutes. A cab will set you back 3 dollars. But, after a day of hiking you can also decide to stay in the hotel and have dinner there. A very good meal for only 4 dollars.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrT1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    74
    12
    7
    1
See reviews for
83
136
23
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort St. John, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We arrived late at Hotel Javy after a mix up with transportation. We were welcomed by Isabelle and quickly learned our Spanish was sub par...nonexistent really. So was Isabelle's English. But that didn't stop her from greeting us with many smiles, a plate of fresh fruit and 2 cold cervesas. She showed us around the grounds which were modest and gated for safety. Our room was very clean and equipped with air conditioning and WiFi access.

The only drawback was a sticky sliding glass door in the shower and construction on a handrail that started in the morning. It looked like a small project that should be complete by now.

The ladies of the staff were friendly as ever but Isabelle's hospitality is unmatched. She made us feel exceptionally comfortable even over the language barrier. Hugs are universal! My husband and I would gladly stay again and recommend it to travellers having to overnight in Liberia.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KayDesfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fethiye, Turkey
Level Contributor
198 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed in Hotel Javey from 7th - 12th January at the beginning of our 5 week tour of Costa Rica. We will be staying there on our last night before flying home to the UK too. Isobel is such a lovely sweet lady who, along with her two ladies who work for her, made us so welcome and comfortable. The rooms are simple but comfortable & the breakfasts enormous! The fruit juices are delicious and Isobel is happy to cook simple tasty meals in the evening if required. We loved Isobel and this little hotel & will be happy to return here for our last evening in this fantastic country.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We are a family of 6, had a room with 4 beds on January 5th. Basic rooms but extremly comfortable beds. Welcomed with fruit juice, very nice. Very big traditional breakfast included. We realy enjoyed our stay, the ladies were so nice, smiling and welcoming. They arranged a taxi for us (16$) to go to the airport. The only problem was that it's a bit out of the way and very hard to find (no street name in Liberia). And because of a technical problem, they couldn't take credit cards... Had to pay cash.
Overall, stay there if you want a costa rican experience, we'll be back for sure!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank VisitorDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Just loved this hotel and couldn't have been more pleased with the unbelievable hospitality. My huge extened family of 21 decended on this little gem and it immediately became a home. when she was told we'd have a late addition to our party, arriving after 11pm, not only did she figure out how to accomodate, she stayed up and made home cooked meals for anyone who was hungry.

Rooms were clean and cool. Food was homecooked & delightful. Service was off the charts.

Costa Ricans are known for being very nice, polite, and hospitable. Isabella embodies all of these characteristics to the core. Take a pass on the known commodities and venture off the reservation for this one. Well well worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland Hills, Ca
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I stayed in Hotel Javy on Dec 20. I took the public bus to central. The hotel is maybe a 10 to 15 minute walk from the bus station. There are not too many street signs ( I counted about 4 in the central district only ) in Liberia so finding the hotel is not easy but fortunately, there is a landmark, a hospital nearby so by asking for the direction to the hospital and a nearby stadium, I found the hotel.

The hotel is gated and secure and safe. I got there drenched in sweat. The receptionist offered a pitcher of mango juice and a plate of fruit. It was so nice of her and it's free. I left the following morning and fresh fruit was served. There is so much food that I only ate half of it.

The room has air cond and I think a fan. The WiFi was strong and reception was very good.

The location is not the best but the city is laid out in a grid pattern so it is not too hard to find. The bed was comfortable. it costs only $40.00 total price.

I definitely recommend this room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip_T0_Nice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Rarely does one stay at a hotel and immediately become part of the family. Don't pass up the opportunity to get close to Costa Rican hospitality by staying at a corporate brand close to the airport. Clara and Isabella welcomed us with open arms. We were with a very large group with three generations. Clara immediately brought out fresh juice and replenished it as we lounged in the common space throughout the day and next. We were basically using the hotel as a meeting point as family came in at different times. Even in the middle of the night, Isabella opened the kitchen for a Hungary traveler in our family. Rooms were comfy but not exactly cheap relative to my expectations though the service and attention to our family more than made up for this gap in expectation.

A good review is not fair without pointing out the negatives. The property is not easily accessible by the bus station and required a cab ride following our bus trip (1 dollar per person from the airport). Location is a family long walk from the downtown. On the good side, our kids were able to acclimate with the neighborhood ticos at the park a few blocks away for an authentic Costa Rican pickup soccer game which was nice. The rooms needed more towels to match the number of guests.

Great visit and will certainly return next time we pass through Liberia.

Room Tip: Upstairs room with a rocking chair to get a balcony view on second level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JTCFIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liberia
7.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
2.1 mi away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 16 in Liberia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.4 mi away
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN El Sitio Hotel & Casino
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rincon del Llano
Hotel Rincon del Llano
#14 of 16 in Liberia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
15.7 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Javy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Javy

Property: Hotel Javy
Address: Barrio Moracia 200 Norte del IPEC, Liberia 50101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Liberia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Javy is one of the hotels in Liberia. Our attractive is our personal service and the quality of our rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Javy Costa Rica/Liberia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing