We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome first night”
Review of Hotel Javy

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Liberia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Javy
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Liberia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Had a one night stopover in Liberia stayed at this B&B. Nothing fancy but really clean super friendly good local cuisine. 4$ for dinner. Really well priced rooms. Private compound for car. Needed some mix and they sent staff to get for us and had to remind them to add to bill in morning. Breakfast local cuisine, fresh fruit plate, fresh juice done to order out of this world.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank tony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

Liberia isn't a very nice town and there's not much to do there but if you find yourself having to spend a night or two then hotel Javy is a good choice. Liberia isn't huge so you can walk to everything from the hotel in about a half hour but the hotel is on the outskirts of town, not central at all. This makes it nice and quiet and peaceful at night. The rooms are furnished like a little old ladies' house but are clean and the beds are comfy. I had three showers and only one was hot...this is why I didn't rate the hotel as "excellent". $40 for a single occupancy room, $50 for the same room with 2 guests. This includes an excellent breakfast if you book directly through their website. Breakfast of fresh fruit, fresh fruit juice, tea, coffee, fried plantains, rice and beans, sausage, and eggs. I also got a big platter of fresh fruit when I checked in.

The staff are what make this place special. They are very friendly and helpful. They will phone around to get you estimates for taxis, transfers, etc. None of the staff when I was there spoke much English but they were patient with me and my limited Spanish and we could mostly understand eachother.

I would avoid liberia but stay here if I had to be in liberia again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LuvvinScuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed at a Hotel Javy after arriving in and before departing Liberia airport. Located about 15 mins away, there is no place you will feel more family love! Greeted with the freshest fruit I've ever tasted was a wonderful introduction to Costa Rica! $50 includes not only a bed, spacious bathroom, and A/C, but also a great traditional breakfast. Isobel simply could not have been more accommodating and warm (she insisted on waking up to serve us breakfast at 5am before catching an early flight). The only problem was a cockroach in the bathroom - thankfully didn't run into any of his friends!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eatpraylove88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier R, Manager at Hotel Javy, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Hi Eatpraylove88,

Thank you very much for your review!

We are committed to provide the best service in town with an unforgettable Costa Rican experience. The cleanliness of our rooms is one of our priorities and we are very sorry about the cockroach. We already informed our staff about this review to make sure it won't happen again :).

Again, thank you for choosing us and don't hesitate to contact us for any question.

All the best and Pura Vida!
Javier Rodriguez
Hotel Javy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Along with others, I booked this hotel after reading many positive reviews on this website. We were not disappointed! Javier had arranged for a taxi to pick us up from the airport, and we arrived around 10 pm, but not too late for Isobel to cook a wonderful dinner for us! (We were starving after flying all day). Breakfast was a real treat as well with fresh juice and the typical Costa Rican dishes. That morning our car (delivered by a company that Javier had recommended) arrived as well.
The room we had was lovely, clean, and basic, though the wood furniture was beautiful. The air conditioning worked fine, and our only problem was a plugged toilet which we managed to communicate about through another guest.
I would wholeheartedly recommend staying at the Hotel Javy.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed at Hotel Javy on our first night in Costa Rica after reading many reviews of it and we're not disappointed. The booking was very easy and the owner Javier was prompt in answering questions by email. We were made very welcome on arrival by Isobel and had a plate of fresh fruit before being shown our rooms. The rooms were clean and air conditioned - wonderful in the heat. Breakfast was excellent.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rossland58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

yes, this place is off of the main centre. But i'll qualify us as travellers as we spend most of our time waking up at 6am and doing a ton during the day, and are in bed early so dont' need to be close to the nightlife, so this worked for us. But it's a short taxi or walk (during the day) to the main street. The hospitality and warmth of this place makes the $3 cab ride to the main street more than worth it. This was our first time in Costa Rica, and we were going to be spending most of our time in Nicaragua. This place actually made us consider staying in Costa Rica with their hospitality and warmth. They arranged for us to be picked up at the airport at 10pm when we arrived... we were off the plane and to our hotel within a half hour. Carla and Javiers mom.. i can't believe we didn't get her real name! we just called her mom - were incredible. Any question we had, they helped us with. The room was basic, but we spend no time in our room on vacation so it worked great. the breakfast was amazing, they bent over backwards to get you what you wanted, and i literally felt like i was 12 and at home again, 'mom' wouldnt' let me leave without eating something, even though i'm not a breakfast person lol. We really felt taken care of. It was honestly one of the best experiences of our whole trip. I would 100% recommend staying here.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Dakotacris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I felt like I knew Isabel after reading all of the reviews here. When we met and I experienced her now legendary warmth and welcome, I knew we were in good hands after a long trip from Seattle. The courtyard is lovely, the rooms are good size, the food is homemade and plentiful. Hot showers and free wi-fi are included. For those who expressed concern about the locked gates and barb wire, this is common from what we have seen of Liberia. As for being away from town center, we like that. If we want to see the festival of horses tonight, we will take the short taxi ride.

Room Tip: Book your room on their website to get what you need, including discounted transport to/from the air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2bergums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liberia hotels
7.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
2.1 mi away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 13 in Liberia
189 reviews
1.4 mi away
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino
1.4 mi away
Hotel El Bramadero
Hotel El Bramadero
#4 of 13 in Liberia
82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rincon del Llano
Hotel Rincon del Llano
#11 of 13 in Liberia
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Javy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Javy

Address: Barrio Moracia 200 Norte del IPEC, Liberia 50101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Liberia
Price Range: £27 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Javy is one of the hotels in Liberia. Our attractive is our personal service and the quality of our rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Javy Costa Rica/Liberia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing