We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Community”
Review of Hotel Javy

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Liberia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Javy
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Liberia
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly Community”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We arrived late on Friday, Feb. 28, having booked 2 rooms on line. There was a lot of confusion due to our lack of Spanish and the manager, Isabella's limited English. She could not find our reservation, and it appeared all the rooms were booked. However, she kept asking us to wait a minute, and with the help of a great family from New Brunswick, (aren't Canadians nice!), there was some rearranging, and we got our two rooms. They were clean and comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was great, and before you knew it, we felt completely at home here, thanks to Isabella's friendly and helpful nature. What could have been a bad experience became an experience to remember. Thanks!!!

Room Tip: This is a great place to spend a night when travelling through Liberia. The high walls and barbed w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry_the_Pitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    76
    13
    7
    1
See reviews for
88
140
23
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The family that owns and operates Hotel Javy takes obvious pride in the enterprise. They promise wi-fi, and deliver it fast and efficient (after a needlessly cumbersome password). They promise hot water, and deliver it with more pressure than in our home. They promise breakfast, and Carla delivers one of the most generous fruit plates, followed by a full, delicious Tico breakfast, that we have ever seen. Most importantly, and what made our three night stay truly memorable, dona Isabel and her staff deliver the genuine warmth and attentiveness that Costa Ricans are justly famous for.
Everyone should enjoy the Hotel Javy experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Brooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This place was highly recommended by trip advisor and we were not disappointed. We had just crossed from Nicaragua and were looking for a nice place. Boy, were we pleasantly surprised. They served dinner which was very good. In the morning we were served a wonderful breakfast as well. The young woman who runs the place really enjoys her job and it shows. If you arrive in Liberia and need a place to relax, you should really consider staying at this hotel. There is secure parking if you drive and if you arrive by airport, taxi drivers should be able to take you there. Wonderful all around and great price!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiharambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This family operated hotel is close to Liberia airport, so a good choice to stay in and out of a Costa Rica vacation. I was greeted with the biggest smile I have ever seen, and a plate of fresh fruit. Isabella did not speak a word of English and I do not speak a word of Spanish so it was an adventure. The room was comfortable, but this is Costa Rica and not the United States, so the air conditioning, the mattress, the wireless are all marginal. Even though we had a major language barrier, she was able to find me a cool beer. Sweet!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaTravels_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed for one night on our way back to the states. It was just perfect. The owner greeted us on arrival and offered fruit and took us up to ouor room. Breakfast was fantastic and included in the price. The hotel was so clean and tidy. We arrived when it was dark and were having trouble finding the hotel as it was our first time in Liberia. Our son, who speaks Spanish, called the hotel and whomever he spoke to stayed on the line giving directions until we arrived at the hotel! Now we will know how to get there the next time on our own. It was easy getting to the rental car company which was very near the airport in daylight. The icing on the cake was the great price. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed on the first and last day of our vacation by Hotel Javy. Its very close to Liberia Airport, so very conveniant when you have to be early on the airport. Besides they have very clean rooms with all the facilities you need. AC/warm water, nice bed, spacious room for two suitcases! But above all, the staff is very sweet and they do everything to make your stay as pleasant as good be. We come back for sure, every time we come to Costa Rica!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MoniqueToonen1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Fruit upon arrival, yes please!
We were hungry and grumpy when we arrived at hotel Javy but we cheered up when we were greeted with a warm and friendly welcome from Isobel. :)
Clean room, cheap prices and exceptional hospitality.
Will stay here again!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liberia
7.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
2.1 mi away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 13 in Liberia
188 reviews
1.4 mi away
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino
15.7 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,574 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Siesta
Hotel La Siesta
#11 of 13 in Liberia
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Javy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Javy

Property: Hotel Javy
Address: Barrio Moracia 200 Norte del IPEC, Liberia 50101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Liberia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Javy is one of the hotels in Liberia. Our attractive is our personal service and the quality of our rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Javy Costa Rica/Liberia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing