We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean charming place, lovely owners” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Javy

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Liberia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Javy
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Liberia
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“clean charming place, lovely owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed in Liberia a few nights before our flight out of Costa Rica. I found Hotel Javy by its great reviews on trip advisor, and after staying there, I wholly agree with the reviews. From the reviews, I suspected that it'd be a difficult place to find, so I mapped out the location on Google Maps ahead of time and printed out a detailed copy of the map. As far as we could tell, Liberia has no street signs, so having a copy of the map was invaluable, and allowed us to navigate to Hotel Javy with ease.

The two women who ran the place were so nice and so friendly and so gracious and very hard working. I cannot say enough lovely things about them. We showed up a little after 7pm, and they served us fresh fruit and fresh fruit juice. We had asked if the pharmacies were still open -we needed to get some eye drops for our 17 month old daughter -and the one woman working that evening went out of her way to call until she found a pharmacy that was still open (although we didn't speak spanish well enough to make the phone call useful). The (included) breakfast was HUGE and delicious. We ate dinner there our second night. Again very delicious and very reasonably priced. The women fretted over our daughter and even played with her a bit. We had an early flight out the next morning, and one of the women got up to say good-bye. The rooms themselves are pretty basic, but immaculate. There is free wifi, tv, hot water, and secured parking. The little area in the courtyard (where we hung out a lot) was very charming. It felt like a true costa rican experience, and we would definitely stay there in a heartbeat if we are back in Liberia.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ironshirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    73
    12
    7
    1
See reviews for
82
132
24
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Excerpt for "Buscando Las Americas," my travel blog while driving through Central America to South America: "Last night we found the "Best Hotel in the World" (my claim), the Hotel Javy, in Liberia, Costa Rica. The overlander, who settles for a hotel where camping is not an option, knows when he or she has found the right hotel. The camper fits. The parking is secure behind very tall gates that are locked at night. The hotel staff welcomes you with warmth and an eagerness to make things easy. The physical relationship between hotel room, parking, dining area and office is not just convenient but is also laid out seamlessly, ornamented thoughtfully, beautifully, with local plants, hanging fruit, and a social sit down gazebo for you to just get away from it all. The internet works. The ambiance glows with personality. The food is local and fresh. Everything is very affordable. The breakfast in the morning is the best you’ve ever had, ever, freshly made mango juice from whole mango fruit, Costa Rican coffee, a plate of multiple types fresh fruit, picked for its ripeness and flavor, followed by expertly cooked eggs, casamiento (the marriage of beans and rice), and sweet plantains cooked to the right tenderness. The warmth continues until the moment you exit the gates to continue your journey. This is the Hotel Javy, a Tripadvisor favorite and the most difficult hotel we’ve ever had to find, requiring multiple consultations with street people, in a sleepy small town not far from the Northern border of Costa Rica." - tom simpson @ www.buscandolasamericas.com

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We were welcomed with good food for both dinner and breakfast- the best fruit in Costa Rica. Isabella was so warm and welcoming. Our family stayed there when we arrived in Costa Rica and the night before we left. Like a home away from home. Nice and comfortable with secured parking and A/C. The hotel was priced reasonably, $80 Cdn for 4 of us. Isabella made taxi arrangements to the airport at 4am and got up to make us coffee and fruit, even though I told her it wasn't neccessary. My husband, and I and our two teens loved sitting in the gazebo playing scrabble. The kids loved the wifi of course. great value! Hotel Javy was a little hard to find. It was great to have mango trees in the yard. Taxi from the airport is $20.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

I booked a room at hotel Javy for my first night in Costa Rica after a long day of flying. I booked the day before online, and Javier was quick to respond. He was very helpful in arranging my last minute transportation. He even had a cheaper than normal taxi meet me at the airport! I was pleasantly surprised to be met at the hotel by two very friendly ladies who offered me juice and fruit. Although my spanish is limited, Isabel and Carla were very warm and kind and made me feel welcome. The hotel is clean and comfortable. It would be great deal on its merits alone as a hotel, however it's the personal touch that really impressed me. I was so impressed that I stayed a second time at the end of my trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PedroDSanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Don't let the nondescript appearance from the outside deter you; this is a wonderful hotel. Shaded by a huge mango tree, the hotel clean & comfortable rooms with AC, and the (very reasonable) price includes a wonderful breakfast with amazing fruits. Best of all is the warm hospitality extended by Isabel the owner. On arrival, we were offered a plate of fruit. We were famished after our long flight, so Isabel cooked us dinner, fish, rice, beans, salad and incredible mango smoothies; OK the adults had beer, cold beer ! Oh, it was heavenly. My wife had lost her purse at the airport and Isabel helped her call around to try and find it - much appreciated by us weary travellers with limited Spanish.

This is a true gem. We had the same wonderful experience when we stayed there a second time.

A very important tip - contact them via Facebk or by phone; I don't think they look at their email.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayfarer115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We arrived late on Friday, Feb. 28, having booked 2 rooms on line. There was a lot of confusion due to our lack of Spanish and the manager, Isabella's limited English. She could not find our reservation, and it appeared all the rooms were booked. However, she kept asking us to wait a minute, and with the help of a great family from New Brunswick, (aren't Canadians nice!), there was some rearranging, and we got our two rooms. They were clean and comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was great, and before you knew it, we felt completely at home here, thanks to Isabella's friendly and helpful nature. What could have been a bad experience became an experience to remember. Thanks!!!

Room Tip: This is a great place to spend a night when travelling through Liberia. The high walls and barbed w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry_the_Pitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

The family that owns and operates Hotel Javy takes obvious pride in the enterprise. They promise wi-fi, and deliver it fast and efficient (after a needlessly cumbersome password). They promise hot water, and deliver it with more pressure than in our home. They promise breakfast, and Carla delivers one of the most generous fruit plates, followed by a full, delicious Tico breakfast, that we have ever seen. Most importantly, and what made our three night stay truly memorable, dona Isabel and her staff deliver the genuine warmth and attentiveness that Costa Ricans are justly famous for.
Everyone should enjoy the Hotel Javy experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Brooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liberia hotels
7.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
2.1 mi away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 16 in Liberia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
1.4 mi away
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN El Sitio Hotel & Casino
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rincon del Llano
Hotel Rincon del Llano
#14 of 16 in Liberia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel El Bramadero
Hotel El Bramadero
#4 of 16 in Liberia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Javy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Javy

Property: Hotel Javy
Address: Barrio Moracia 200 Norte del IPEC, Liberia 50101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Liberia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Javy is one of the hotels in Liberia. Our attractive is our personal service and the quality of our rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Javy Costa Rica/Liberia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing