We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Took a long time to get served. Some food was good, other so-so”
Review of The Green House

The Green House
Ranked #9 of 82 Restaurants in Liberia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Kent, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Took a long time to get served. Some food was good, other so-so”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We went here on Feb. 15th and arrived about 5PM. We ordered drinks, calamari and nachos. It must have taken the best part of 1/2 hour to get the food. There was only a handful of people there. I think we were outnumbered by the staff. TA reviews said to get sandwiches, nachos and to avoid the seafood. We did that. I had the open faced chicken and mushroom sandwich and my wife had the beef with peppers sandwich.

The nachos were very good as others have mentioned - would cost quite a bit more in the States. My sandwich was okay - the bread was hard and it was difficult to cut through. The beef sandwich was good. I would recommend the steak fries vs. regular fries.

I had seen the reviews on TA and a couple staying at Andaz said they went for V-day. So we gave it a go. I don't know if it would be our first choice should we go back to Costa Rica but it would be a viable option if needed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SEAPlatinum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    29
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Samara Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This is the second time at the Green House and both times we had an excellent experience. Tonight we had the English Fish and Chips, I did change the fries for a salad and my husband had the sesame crusted tuna. Both meals were very satisfying both in quality and quantity. The servicer was very attentive, the atmosphere was very comfortable. The food came out quickly. All in all we had a nice comfortable dining experience.
Its a little difficult to find. Go past the airport heading north towards Liberia. Look for the Florida Beverage sign and it will be just after that on the left side of the highway. The prices are responsible for the total experience. We highly recommend The Green House Restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CatSamaraCostaRica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filadelfia, Costa Rica
1 review
“AIRLINE DINNER”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Our dinner was great food is very good, We came as a group to eat.
We got ther at 5:00pm, we order our foof. It took long for the food to come to the table. It took more than an hour. We came as a group to enjoy the dinner, but since it toook for ever the order the group was divided cause some of the group had to go. Our dinner was set at 7:00 pm but some couldn't make it so we made it for 5:00 pm so that we can all of us we can enjoy the dinner together. But since the food did not arrived on time they left us, we are a group. The is great, the last time we were ther it was great we had a great time, thats why we choose this restaurant. Today was not the day it took for ever, this place is our frist choice for dinner, even we recomended to others airlines, but as today we think it twicw before we make a choice, of where to eat. I've enven asked the waiter if the restaurant has new administration cause the service has change alot. We even send our flight crew to eat at this place, but if these has happen preferd sending them to Liberia or to a place where the service is fast. just hopping that next time we go it would be more pleasent than this time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Service, awesome Nachos!”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We decided to go to a The Green House because it was close to our hotel and the reviews were good. Service was excellent, slight language barrier but very attentive & accommodating. Great wine selection and the small order of Nachos we shared as an appetizer were fantastic. Our main courses were ok, but overall a good experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EEJarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very cute and modern with great food”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We really enjoyed this restaurant. The food was amazing, good service, and the environment was amazing. The prices were decent and we left feeling very satisfied

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Green House also viewed

Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
 
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to The Green House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing