We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you have to stay in Liberia” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Punto Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Liberia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Punto Hotel
Ranked #7 of 16 Liberia B&B and Inns
Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If you have to stay in Liberia”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

A converted public school it has a unique vibe and it's fun to spend the night in a classroom. The location is convenient (backs onto the supermarket and mini mall right on the main intersection of the Pan American Highway and Route 21) but not terribly charming and can be a bit loud and dusty (especially in dry season).

It took a while to hunt someone down to pay the bill.

We spent a night here because we were working and needed to be in Liberia but there are many better options within half an hour if you're looking for a more natural setting.

The three rating is mainly because it's overpriced.

Room Tip: Farther from the Highway is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank costaricaguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elpuntoLiberia, Owner at El Punto Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2013
Dear Guest and Trip Advisor user, thank you for reviewing us!
We have to make clear that we also believe our location is not the most appealing one in terms of beauty. However, it is convenient for travellers looking to have a walking distance to banks, the supermarket, drugstore, and city center. It is also close to gas stations and on the road to all major beaches and mountain destinations. It is a perfect location for people either arriving or leaving to the airport. We work hard to make our garden as lush as possible so that even though close to the road, you feel somewhere else. We are currently working on an organic vegetable garden as well, that will become an exciting addition to our property. We believe the rate is a fair price considering it includes breakfast and tax.

Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    30
    8
    5
    7
See reviews for
17
46
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liberia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

Let me introduce my review by getting the most pertinent questions out of the way; It's clean, your not going to get mugged, your things are safe, your car is safe and it's walking distance to a classic 24 hour restaurant, a gym and a nice grocery store.
Okay, so besides all the musts, this hotel has a lot of charm. Probably the most charm you'll find in the sleepy town of Liberia. The hotel is owned by a local (born and raised in the town). She speaks fluent English and is always around to answer your questions. If she's not around she'll definitely pick up your phone calls. However, depending on the season she might be out of the premises, so I suggest emailing her prior to your arrival if you have any questions regarding your stay or your plans.
There is a little section outside with toys for children to play, a lounge outside area to unwind with some store bought beers and a center canopy space to do the same. The reception area is small and air conditioned. You can go in there and use the space if you need to get out of your hotel and finish up some work. The breakfast is simple continental breakfast served in the a/c spot.
there are often times art gallery openings in the location and special events around the premises. The owner is accommodating and if you have special requests for groups and things, I would not hesitate to shoot her an email. She is locally connected and can give you advice on tours and places to dine and eat.
There are several beautiful beaches and volcanoes located within 1 hour of this spot, so it's a good central location to base some of your northern-pacific escapades out of.
Remember, we are talking Liberia Costa Rica here. Do not expect accommodations of a chain hotel like the Mariott. Instead, come here to experience an artsy, rustic, true Liberian experience from a locally owned and ran hotel. You might not get a pool but you'll get flavor.

Room Tip: all rooms face in the same direction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JujuSandytoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elpuntoLiberia, Manager at El Punto Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
WOW! Thank you! And you are absolutely right. Anybody with questions regarding trip planning, accommodations or any sort of doubt or interest you might have, please do not hesitate writing us. We are here to help!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed at El Punto for one night on our way from Monteverde to Rincon de la Vieja. The rooms are much like they look in the pictures - brightly coloured, fun and comfortable. The grounds are beautiful and we spent a few hours lounging around in the morning reading and taking photos. As a few of the reviews on Trip Advisor now state, the owner doesn't speak any English (which we were not expecting as the website is in English, our email communication prior to arriving had been in English and everywhere else we had been in Costa Rica everyone had spoken English) but this was fine and sign language got us through. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and, whilst we didn't eat there in the evening the restaurant area looked fun. It was also conveniently located for walking in to town and for stocking up on supplies with a large supermarket and several banks next door.

Slight downsides were that there were a lot of ants in our room and, as we were there slightly out of season, the place was empty and at night, with the rooms being on ground level and right next to the highway we felt slightly unnerved but I think it was actually fine and if it had been a bit busier this would not have been an issue.

Liberia itself we found didn't have as much going on in it as we had anticipated and after an afternoon of wandering along streets and stopping for food in a couple of places (beers and ceviche at Paso Real overlooking the main square were lovely - highly recommended!) we had exhausted things to do. However, we did then head up to the Rincon de la Vieja area to stay in a lodge up there for a couple of days and in hindsight we would have stayed at El Punto for an extra night and done a day trip up to Rincon from Liberia instead.

All in all we would definitely recommend El Punto as a great place for a stopover before heading on elsewhere within Costa Rica.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank midnightnoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elpuntoLiberia, Manager at El Punto Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
We are extremely grateful that you enjoyed your stay with us. I understand that the language barrier can be challenging, but we appreciate your care and patience to understand Maria Eugenia and Norma. Despite your feelings, we can proudly say that El Punto has been blessed with being very safe, I hope it continues this way forever. We also have a security guard who stays awake all night making sure everything is OK and you can go to sleep worry free. We like to learn you are the type of people enjoying exploring the surrounding area, and trying out the local food. Liberia has a special personality and folklore that is worth experiencing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
260 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

It's a little dustier than what the pictures promise.

For a couple of nights it's a good choice, even if a little pricey for what you get.

All the staff we talked to only spoke Spanish, but were charming and helpful.

If you need a driver, make sure they call Offi for you. He's the best tour guide you could wish for. Knowledgable, helpful, friendly and will show you places and things you won't see otherwise!

Room Tip: close to reception are the farthest from the busy road and therefore the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Blue_Sea_Shell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elpuntoLiberia, Owner at El Punto Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Guest,

El Punto is constantly working to improve its services. We apologize for the dust that made you uncomfortable during your stay. Unfortunately, as you might have noticed, it is the summer time, and we have been experiencing very strong winds, and sometimes, it is hard to work against nature. For future guests, we would like to tell you that the winds have ceased, and that to prevent dust from getting into the rooms, we are in the process of installing door sweeps.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Great little hotel in Liberia. Colorful, comfortable and clean rooms, great location close to town centre. It can be a little noisy as it is on InterAmericana; however, if you're used to some traffic noise, it won't be a problem.
Showers nice and big, and warm water. Breakfast was good.
We stayed in the orange room - double bed on main, double bed in loft. Room also had a fridge and little kitchen sink area.
Secure parking area for vehicle.
Right next door to shopping area (grocery store).

Definitely recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissingToe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elpuntoLiberia, Owner at El Punto Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Guest,

We have to agree with you, our location next to a highway can have its pros and cons. We are continuously working into making our garden as lush as possible to buff off the noise from the Street. Our location though, is also strategic for those adventurous travelers who want to go explore the surrounding areas as well as local destinations.

Our mission is to continue improving everyday and accommodate ourselves to your needs.

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments and description of El Punto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

It was a perfect place to relax before heading home. Mariana was so hospitable that she took me to her pilates class with her. Wifi, close to good food amenities, and a great art gallery. Close to airport and she gives you a ride there. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elpuntoLiberia, Owner at El Punto Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at el punto! It was my pleasure to take you with me to the Pilates class. I am happy to take anybody else! For future guests if you decide to stay at el punto I am happy to either take you or show you your way to aerobics, yoga or Pilates classes. You may also mention it in an email prior to your arrival, and have it arranged in advance.

Mariana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orford, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Right from the start we were enthralled by the beauty of the premises: lots of outside relaxing area, a beautiful kid corner, gorgeous rooms with lots of style and great mattresses and pillows. The breakfast is really good too.

We found the place to be a bit noisy at night because of the central location (people around talking loudly around midnight and lots of trucks driving nearby).

I will restate things that have already been said, but that I find important to mention:

The owner is really nice and speaks perfect English. The staff was nice, but service was not even. The first morning we had to wait 30 minutes with hungry kids to get breakfast, whereas the other day it was super fast and the service was great.

It's hard to get the shower temperature right. Some of the beds are in a loft. There's a railing, but the balusters are widely spaced, and there's a ladder climb required to get up there. Not so great with kids.

It is Costa Rica and there is no door sweeps or weather stripping, so there can be bugs coming in. We found a huge spider in the bathroom (we have been in Costa Rica for 2 months, so that did not bug us...), but it could bug others...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elpuntoLiberia, Owner at El Punto Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful compliments and also feedback! We understand we have room to improve!
For future guests I would like to expand and clarify certain things:

Noise: We agree that the hotel can be a bit noisy due to the proximity to the highway. In your case, the inconvenience was a group of cyclists that arrived late at night and were not courteous enough to respect the fact that there were people sleeping, or trying to sleep. They again made noise as they woke up and prepared for a cycling tour at 5:00 am. This is an uncommon situation. Unfortunately you were very unlucky to be here that day.

Service: In regards to the uneven service, we are working to fix that. In services, maintaining a uniform service is the most challenging. We apologize for that!

Loft space: The loft space is in a way an innovation. Some people love it, some people don’t. Children love it, because its fun! But parents with small children I can understand how they can get a bit worried. This is why, if you are traveling with small children (under 5), please let us know in advance and we will install and additional bed in the main floor.

Bugs: Yes its tropical Costa Rican, and do have lots of little creatures running or scrolling around our premises. We have installed the door sweeps and we run seasonal pest controls to reduce bugs indoors.
Over all it was a pleasure having your family at El Punto!

Mariana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liberia hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Bramadero
Hotel El Bramadero
#4 of 16 in Liberia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN El Sitio Hotel & Casino
0.4 mi away
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 16 in Liberia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#15 of 16 in Liberia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Punto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Punto Hotel

Property: El Punto Hotel
Address: On Panamerican Highway 150 meters South of main intersection, Liberia, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Liberia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic Chic for the well traveled. El Punto is a refurbished elementary school converted into a seven room bed & breakfast. Staring February 10th we will have a new room suite. Centrally located in the main intersection to all major tourist destinations in Guanacaste, walking distance to downtown and historic district,10 minutes from the International Airport. El Punto or the spot features paintings and unique furniture in bright modern colors. Our lounge area is wonderful to chill out, check your mail, read or listen to music. Children can play in our children's corner. breakfast is served in a delicate manner with fresh ingredients and perfect presentation. Stay with us and live the magic of el punto! Rooms: A/C, ceiling fan, WI/FI, solar heated water heater, toiletries, mini fridge, loft for additional sleeping quarters, daily maid service, free laundry service, private porch, hammock, rocking chair, night guard, free breakfast, walking distance to downtown Liberia, 10 minutes off the airport.• 15 minutes off the airport• Walking distance to downtown and next to a Super market, several Banks and surf and clothing shops• 30 minutes from Rincon de la Vieja National Park and from Coco and Playa Hermosa Beach. 
• 45-60 minutes to, Santa Rosa National Park, Tamarindo Beach,the Nicaraguan border. 
• Day tours available to other local destinations such as: Guaitil, Rio Celeste, Llanos del Cortez waterfall.• On the road to Monteverde, Arenal Volcano, and San Jose.
 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Punto Hotel Costa Rica/Liberia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing