We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean Hotel, Exceptional Service”
Review of El Punto Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Liberia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Punto Hotel
Ranked #7 of 16 Liberia B&B and Inns
London, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean Hotel, Exceptional Service”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I have not personally been at this hotel but my manager was just there on a business trip and raved about it so much that I decided to post this review at her request. She reports that the hotel is extremely clean, the breakfasts included were excellent and the service exceptional. She stayed for a week, the hotel staff were so friendly, hospitable and cordial; one of the receptionists stayed two hours after her shift in order to say goodbye as my manager was leaving the next day and she would not see her.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caldasgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elpuntoLiberia, Owner at El Punto Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Maria Eugenia and Norma do a fantastic job catering and providing great hospitality to our guests, even with the language barrier! We are very proud of them.

El Punto has been built slowly, with many obstacles in the way, yet with a clear vision of providing great service to travelers coming and going to and from Liberia. It is not a fancy resort, but unique decor and bright colors are what give it a unique character, not to mention our garden that has grown so much since the day we started in business 10 years ago.

Thank you for your support and excellent review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    30
    8
    5
    7
See reviews for
17
46
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Friendly helpful staff (arranged taxi to Rincon), but seems like only the owner speaks English. Spacious with colourful cheery decor. No AC but large ceiling fan. No room safe. Bars on windows and secure metal doors. Good location: close to a Jumbo supermarket and banks. Breakfast very simple. Close to a McD.

Room Tip: All seem to be equally good, away from noise of highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B_and_E_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elpuntoLiberia, Owner at El Punto Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2013
Dear Guest and Trip Advisor user, thank you for your review and friendly remarks! We do have to clarify that our staff is all local, and that they do not speak any English. Nevertheless, if Mariana is nota round they will be happy to contact her for any questions. We wonder why you did not use the air conditioning because all our rooms are equipped with a unit the remote control is located next to the bed for easy access. We also give then regular maintained as we understand the weather here is extremely hot, therefore necessary to have a good night sleep. Thank you and we hope to have you again in the future as our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

A converted public school it has a unique vibe and it's fun to spend the night in a classroom. The location is convenient (backs onto the supermarket and mini mall right on the main intersection of the Pan American Highway and Route 21) but not terribly charming and can be a bit loud and dusty (especially in dry season).

It took a while to hunt someone down to pay the bill.

We spent a night here because we were working and needed to be in Liberia but there are many better options within half an hour if you're looking for a more natural setting.

The three rating is mainly because it's overpriced.

Room Tip: Farther from the Highway is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank costaricaguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elpuntoLiberia, Owner at El Punto Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2013
Dear Guest and Trip Advisor user, thank you for reviewing us!
We have to make clear that we also believe our location is not the most appealing one in terms of beauty. However, it is convenient for travellers looking to have a walking distance to banks, the supermarket, drugstore, and city center. It is also close to gas stations and on the road to all major beaches and mountain destinations. It is a perfect location for people either arriving or leaving to the airport. We work hard to make our garden as lush as possible so that even though close to the road, you feel somewhere else. We are currently working on an organic vegetable garden as well, that will become an exciting addition to our property. We believe the rate is a fair price considering it includes breakfast and tax.

Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Let me introduce my review by getting the most pertinent questions out of the way; It's clean, your not going to get mugged, your things are safe, your car is safe and it's walking distance to a classic 24 hour restaurant, a gym and a nice grocery store.
Okay, so besides all the musts, this hotel has a lot of charm. Probably the most charm you'll find in the sleepy town of Liberia. The hotel is owned by a local (born and raised in the town). She speaks fluent English and is always around to answer your questions. If she's not around she'll definitely pick up your phone calls. However, depending on the season she might be out of the premises, so I suggest emailing her prior to your arrival if you have any questions regarding your stay or your plans.
There is a little section outside with toys for children to play, a lounge outside area to unwind with some store bought beers and a center canopy space to do the same. The reception area is small and air conditioned. You can go in there and use the space if you need to get out of your hotel and finish up some work. The breakfast is simple continental breakfast served in the a/c spot.
there are often times art gallery openings in the location and special events around the premises. The owner is accommodating and if you have special requests for groups and things, I would not hesitate to shoot her an email. She is locally connected and can give you advice on tours and places to dine and eat.
There are several beautiful beaches and volcanoes located within 1 hour of this spot, so it's a good central location to base some of your northern-pacific escapades out of.
Remember, we are talking Liberia Costa Rica here. Do not expect accommodations of a chain hotel like the Mariott. Instead, come here to experience an artsy, rustic, true Liberian experience from a locally owned and ran hotel. You might not get a pool but you'll get flavor.

Room Tip: all rooms face in the same direction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JujuSandytoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elpuntoLiberia, Manager at El Punto Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
WOW! Thank you! And you are absolutely right. Anybody with questions regarding trip planning, accommodations or any sort of doubt or interest you might have, please do not hesitate writing us. We are here to help!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed at El Punto for one night on our way from Monteverde to Rincon de la Vieja. The rooms are much like they look in the pictures - brightly coloured, fun and comfortable. The grounds are beautiful and we spent a few hours lounging around in the morning reading and taking photos. As a few of the reviews on Trip Advisor now state, the owner doesn't speak any English (which we were not expecting as the website is in English, our email communication prior to arriving had been in English and everywhere else we had been in Costa Rica everyone had spoken English) but this was fine and sign language got us through. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and, whilst we didn't eat there in the evening the restaurant area looked fun. It was also conveniently located for walking in to town and for stocking up on supplies with a large supermarket and several banks next door.

Slight downsides were that there were a lot of ants in our room and, as we were there slightly out of season, the place was empty and at night, with the rooms being on ground level and right next to the highway we felt slightly unnerved but I think it was actually fine and if it had been a bit busier this would not have been an issue.

Liberia itself we found didn't have as much going on in it as we had anticipated and after an afternoon of wandering along streets and stopping for food in a couple of places (beers and ceviche at Paso Real overlooking the main square were lovely - highly recommended!) we had exhausted things to do. However, we did then head up to the Rincon de la Vieja area to stay in a lodge up there for a couple of days and in hindsight we would have stayed at El Punto for an extra night and done a day trip up to Rincon from Liberia instead.

All in all we would definitely recommend El Punto as a great place for a stopover before heading on elsewhere within Costa Rica.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midnightnoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elpuntoLiberia, Manager at El Punto Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
We are extremely grateful that you enjoyed your stay with us. I understand that the language barrier can be challenging, but we appreciate your care and patience to understand Maria Eugenia and Norma. Despite your feelings, we can proudly say that El Punto has been blessed with being very safe, I hope it continues this way forever. We also have a security guard who stays awake all night making sure everything is OK and you can go to sleep worry free. We like to learn you are the type of people enjoying exploring the surrounding area, and trying out the local food. Liberia has a special personality and folklore that is worth experiencing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
263 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

It's a little dustier than what the pictures promise.

For a couple of nights it's a good choice, even if a little pricey for what you get.

All the staff we talked to only spoke Spanish, but were charming and helpful.

If you need a driver, make sure they call Offi for you. He's the best tour guide you could wish for. Knowledgable, helpful, friendly and will show you places and things you won't see otherwise!

Room Tip: close to reception are the farthest from the busy road and therefore the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Blue_Sea_Shell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elpuntoLiberia, Owner at El Punto Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Guest,

El Punto is constantly working to improve its services. We apologize for the dust that made you uncomfortable during your stay. Unfortunately, as you might have noticed, it is the summer time, and we have been experiencing very strong winds, and sometimes, it is hard to work against nature. For future guests, we would like to tell you that the winds have ceased, and that to prevent dust from getting into the rooms, we are in the process of installing door sweeps.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Great little hotel in Liberia. Colorful, comfortable and clean rooms, great location close to town centre. It can be a little noisy as it is on InterAmericana; however, if you're used to some traffic noise, it won't be a problem.
Showers nice and big, and warm water. Breakfast was good.
We stayed in the orange room - double bed on main, double bed in loft. Room also had a fridge and little kitchen sink area.
Secure parking area for vehicle.
Right next door to shopping area (grocery store).

Definitely recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissingToe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elpuntoLiberia, Owner at El Punto Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Guest,

We have to agree with you, our location next to a highway can have its pros and cons. We are continuously working into making our garden as lush as possible to buff off the noise from the Street. Our location though, is also strategic for those adventurous travelers who want to go explore the surrounding areas as well as local destinations.

Our mission is to continue improving everyday and accommodate ourselves to your needs.

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments and description of El Punto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liberia hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino
0.3 mi away
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
6.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Bramadero
Hotel El Bramadero
#4 of 16 in Liberia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
1.4 mi away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 16 in Liberia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Liberia
Hotel Liberia
#1 of 16 in Liberia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Punto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Punto Hotel

Property: El Punto Hotel
Address: On Panamerican Highway 150 meters South of main intersection, Liberia, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Liberia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic Chic for the well traveled. El Punto is a refurbished elementary school converted into a seven room bed & breakfast. Staring February 10th we will have a new room suite. Centrally located in the main intersection to all major tourist destinations in Guanacaste, walking distance to downtown and historic district,10 minutes from the International Airport. El Punto or the spot features paintings and unique furniture in bright modern colors. Our lounge area is wonderful to chill out, check your mail, read or listen to music. Children can play in our children's corner. breakfast is served in a delicate manner with fresh ingredients and perfect presentation. Stay with us and live the magic of el punto! Rooms: A/C, ceiling fan, WI/FI, solar heated water heater, toiletries, mini fridge, loft for additional sleeping quarters, daily maid service, free laundry service, private porch, hammock, rocking chair, night guard, free breakfast, walking distance to downtown Liberia, 10 minutes off the airport.• 15 minutes off the airport• Walking distance to downtown and next to a Super market, several Banks and surf and clothing shops• 30 minutes from Rincon de la Vieja National Park and from Coco and Playa Hermosa Beach. 
• 45-60 minutes to, Santa Rosa National Park, Tamarindo Beach,the Nicaraguan border. 
• Day tours available to other local destinations such as: Guaitil, Rio Celeste, Llanos del Cortez waterfall.• On the road to Monteverde, Arenal Volcano, and San Jose.
 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Punto Hotel Costa Rica/Liberia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing