We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place to stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Liberia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Sol Verde Lodge & Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed 21 August 2011

This beautiful spot is owned by a friendly Dutch couple. By their personal hospitality you feel very comfortable and would like to stay some more days.
Since the lodge was full, we booked 2 nights in the tent house. A perfect alternative. Although space is limited (bed and 2 backpacks) we slept well. Showers and toilets are continuously cleaned. The fresh breakfast is just perfect. The small town has several supermarkets, restaurants and a bus.
The beautiful spot is a perfect base for exploring the park Rincon de la Vieja (15 minutes by car). This park offers you beautiful walks, waterfalls, mud pods, lots of animals and hot water baths! Additionally you can daytrip to Liberia or just enjoy dinner in the evening. El Sol Verde is THE alternative to the two large tourist complexes located in the NP.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J en M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    20
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
93
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venlo, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We stayed 3 nights at this nice place in Curubande. This is a typical Costa Rican village. Ingrid, Gerard and their dog (which watched us everywhere) were very welcoming. They give you a lot of information about things to do in Curubande and surroundings. We did not travel with a hired car and they arranged a taxi for us to go to the hot springs at the rio Negro and Ricon de la Vieja NP. The breakfast is very good and the rooms are nicely decorated. In Curubande we had some nice meals with cold beers at bar/restaurant La Guaria. From El Sol Verde you can walk to the Rio Blanco to take a swim in the beautiful blue water.

Groetjes,
Theo en Renate

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naatje67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2011

El Sol Verde is an awesome bed and breakfast on the outskirts of Ricon de La Vieja National Park. The lodge is beautiful with marvelous views of the surroundings and kept impeccably clean. The hosts, Gerard and Ingrid, are a lovely couple from Holland who are dedicated to creating a great environment for all guests. They had great tips of the bests hikes, waterfalls and beaches in the area. They gave us more information than we could ever find online. Rincon de La Vieja National Park is right next door and this lodge is a great place to stay if you want to do the hiking trails, visit the waterfalls, and reach the summit of the volcano. This is also a great location to go to Santa Rosa National Park which is only an hour and a half away. If you rent a car, make sure you rent a 4WD vehicle, you will definitely need that wherever you go in Costa Rica. I had a marvelous time staying in El Sol Verde and highly recommend it for anyone in the area. Too bad we have to go back to work and can't just live at El Sol Verde.
- Daniel and Aviva

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel10NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radolfzell am Bodensee, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2011

Dear all,

first of all we have to say that the waterfall in Rincon de la Vieja was the best spot of our Costa Rica trip!!
And all the National Park is worth it to spend some time there!
Don't miss it!!!

We went there almost in the beginning of our holidays and found great dutch hosts, a nice lodge that fits to Costa Rica, and a surrounding where you get a feeling of really being in Costa Rica - a bit outside of the touristic areas.
We got really spoilt by the nature we found there.

At El Sol Verde you can start your day with a nice breakfast where you can also get as much information as needed to make it a fantastic day.
In the evening you can chill out on a nice veranda or play one of the games that are available.

Gerard and Ingrid, again MANY THANKS for this fantastic experience and now after we have seen more places we can confirm it: "Congratulations to your choice of settling in Curubande"
Let's hope that it will stay as it is!

All the best for you and take care,

Sylvia & Peter

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SportundSpass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

My favorite part about this place is the Dutch couple that owns it. Genuinely nice people that really make you feel welcome and safe. They were also knowledgeable about the area and CR in general. Other than that, it's a good value and not too far from the park. We'd love to stay here again sometime.

We stayed one night in a tent, which was fine, except we heard a loud roar in the middle of the night which scarred the crap out of us so we opted for the tent house the next night. Once we found out what this roar came from (a howler monkey most likely), we realized there was nothing to be scared of. Those things sound scary until you see them and realize they're actually quite small and not typically aggressive.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bern55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibolga, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Curubande is an incredible place to stay when visiting the park. The town includes a small stand alone grocery, several bars and several stores located in homes. Half the stools/chairs at La Guaria are horse saddles; fun for kids and comfortable. Everyone (including the policeman) loves to chat with visitors; some Spanish is helpful. This is a safe, clean (screens on windows so minimal bugs), comfortable place to stay and we would stay here again. Follow the very accurate recommendations of Gerard & Ingrid for restaurants and hiking. No coffee maker, but hot water provided gratis if you have your own coffee/cup. Porch fridge is stocked with drinks to purchase, you can also bring a small supply of your own from Liberia and store them here. Great evening at Bar/Restaurant Mixcuac; "Hi" to Bernie.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomnshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

It's a cozy place in the middle of the National Park Rincòn de la Vieja. The lodge is held by a very nice Dutch couple that has created three stone-floored and wood-walled rooms. The rooms are spotless and have mosquitos nets, but the best are the mattresses! You can sleep in a perfect bed surrounded only by the nature and the amazing view of the National Park. The breakfast is outside in the common room, where you can have a nice talk with the owners. From the lodge you can easily reach the Vulcano and start your day with an interesting trekking and head toward the hot springs in the middle of the forest to relax your feet and legs. You can finish your day in one of the bars/restaurants in Curubandé. And before going to bed, why dont drink the last beer in the terrace of the lodge?

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dada77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liberia
3.0 mi away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#3 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,310 reviews
5.3 mi away
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
#4 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
439 reviews
7.0 mi away
Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
#5 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
279 reviews
7.4 mi away
Rinconcito Lodge
Rinconcito Lodge
#2 of 5 in Rincon de La Vieja
223 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
#2 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Sol Verde Lodge & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Sol Verde Lodge & Campground

Property: El Sol Verde Lodge & Campground
Address: Curubande, Liberia, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Liberia
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'El Sol Verde' (the Green Sun) is a combination of a lodge and a campground, located at the boundary of Curubande,15 km. northeast of Liberia. It has a small-scale setting with a pleasant atmosphere and is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the sounds of nature. It is only 8km to the entrance of National Park Rincon de la Vieja. 'EL Sol Verde' therefore is a good starting point to make excursions to this magnificent piece of nature. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Sol Verde Lodge & Campground Costa Rica/Liberia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing