We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bit of holland in costa rica”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Liberia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Sol Verde Lodge & Campground
Certificate of Excellence
california
Level Contributor
178 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“a bit of holland in costa rica”
Reviewed 25 December 2012

This place is run by a really nice Dutch couple, who were most helpful. They built and remodeled it themsleves, and they did a great job. nice walks nearby, and convenient to Rincon de la Vieja National park. Basic but filling breakast (fruit, eggs from their chickens, toast), and lots of very useful advice. Rooms are simple, but perfectly adequate. If you come around Christmas there is bull riding and a fair in town. Lots of nice landscaping, and plenty of birds.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms in the lodge, all are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harvey44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    20
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
91
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Very nice hostel, perfect rooms, relaxing garden with hammocks, closeby river to swim,...
On top of that, the nice couple running this place will provide you advise to visit the area! They provided us as well with very useful tips for the rest of our stay in Costa Rica

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siska_Dellaert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

An excellent, excellent, small place to be when visiting Rincon de la Vieja in Costa Rica.

Nice rooms, very nice emplacement run by a great dutch couple that will give good advice and share their experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierluci0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Very nice place not far away of rincon de la vieja national park. The rooms are placed in a small house within a beautiful quiet garden. Nice and comfortable room. The owners are helpful in giving advise on what to see in the national park and they serve good breakfast. They can also tell you about the simple local restaurants in town and how to walk to a waterfall nearby (to which their dog will follow you in case you don't ask them not to),
We went there easily by public bus and they can organise a shuttle to the national park the next day.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ichreisesehrgerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this cozy and friendly inn. The owners are great people and make you feel welcomed. They gave us super information on resturants,trails and hot springs. We fell in love with their dog Luna. The breakfast was fantastic. Will stay again when visting Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Stay in the first room, nice view of the jungle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Good rooms and good breakfast. The owner is very nice and gives good tips. Everything looks well maintained.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter-en-Monique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odijk
Level Contributor
169 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Very nice place to stay. The property is well kept and everything looks really nice. The rooms dont have airco but just a fan. I was there in a very warm period, but though it dit worry me a bit, the fan was more than adequate.

The breakfast is superb and you can even order a lunch pakkage if you intend to spend the day hiking.

The owners are more than helpful an do their best to make you feel at home. They take lots of time to explain what there is to do in and about Curubande and Rincon de la Vieja.

But it doesn't stop there, they also more than willing to help you with giving tips about other area's in Costa Rica, which was very helpful for us. They also warned us that the park was closed the day after we planned to book our nights stay, so we booked it for a day later, which made it possible to enjoy another wonderful day in Monteverde.

El Sol Verde is approx a 15 min drive away from the park, so if you have a car thats close enough. The owners can also help you hitch a ride on a bus going there if you let them know in time. Keep in mind that this area is rather remote, so it can take quite some time before a cab can come pick you up.

To sum it up, if your visiting Rincon de la Vieja and your looking for a place to stay, look no further, you've found the spot.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KvBerloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liberia
3.0 mi away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#3 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,297 reviews
5.3 mi away
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure Center
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure Cent...
#4 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
431 reviews
4.2 mi away
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
#5 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Rinconcito Lodge
Rinconcito Lodge
#2 of 5 in Rincon de La Vieja
223 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
#1 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
765 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Rural Aroma de Campo
Casa Rural Aroma de Campo
#1 of 1 in Curubande
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Sol Verde Lodge & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Sol Verde Lodge & Campground

Property: El Sol Verde Lodge & Campground
Address: Curubande, Liberia, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Liberia
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'El Sol Verde' (the Green Sun) is a combination of a lodge and a campground, located at the boundary of Curubande,15 km. northeast of Liberia. It has a small-scale setting with a pleasant atmosphere and is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the sounds of nature. It is only 8km to the entrance of National Park Rincon de la Vieja. 'EL Sol Verde' therefore is a good starting point to make excursions to this magnificent piece of nature. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Sol Verde Lodge & Campground Costa Rica/Liberia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing