We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stay near Rincón”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Liberia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Sol Verde Lodge & Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2014

El Sol Verde is a simple place. As far as I understood, it offers 3 rooms (and some additional huts and campground). The rooms are basic and have everything you need. Accordingly, the owners charge a reasonably basic price, making this a very good price/quality tradeoff. The hotel is located on the road to Rincón de la Vieja, and there are a couple of other hotels on this road. However, at the time of our booking, all these hotels appeared to be much more expensive. As explained on their website, breakfast is available at a charge, but we did not try it.

The owners of the place are very friendly, and are doing pretty well in creating a hospitile environment. Upon arrival, Ingrid explained a lot on the town of Curubandé and the Rincón de la Vieja national park.

The hotel offers free wifi, but only at limited times (in the morning and in the evening). I initially considered this a bit strange, 'till I learned that due to its remote location, the hotel has to offer wifi over a 3G dongle. Having this in mind, the owners' choice makes perfect sense. Nevertheless, this could be a disadvantage if you want to spend your entire holiday online 24/7.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bartme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

Loved the local location, wonderful hosts and great accommodations. It was my favorite part of our 2 weeks backpacking trip. Ofi was awesome for local transportation and their dog was so cute, he followed us wherever we went. Beautiful place overall.

Room Tip: Great find!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacyc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I stayed at El Sol Verde with my boyfriend in January. We stayed in a tent house and it was very comfortable. Time there was relaxing and quiet... just what you are looking for in a "nature" holiday.
Gerard and Ingrid are great hosts. They take good care of you in all senses: nice breakfast, good indications and recommendations. Social areas are well-kept and clean as well as the camping facilities.
It is definitely an excellent price-value option in Rincon de la Vieja.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyingTica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

El sol Verde is really a campground and not a lodge. It has space for campers and also has tent houses for those who want to camp but are not carrying a tent. It advertises itself also as a lodge, but the "lodge" area does not have any accommodations which one expects from a lodge. Our room was very small, containing only a bed. There was a basement style window just below the ceiling, thus no window to look out of giving a very shut in feeling. There was no door to the bathroom, only a curtain. There was no chair to sit in the room and no closet for hanging clothes. The mattress was very uncomfortable. Outside was a small patio shared with the other two rooms. There were 4 plastic chairs and 2 tables on the patio. If you sat there, you were intruding on the privacy of the 2 neighboring rooms, as their window and doors opened to this patio. it was unavoidable to look in, so close was the proximity. There was no comfortable quiet area to sit and read. The only sitting area is the common area where breakfast is served for those who wish it, with picnic tables and benches. The owners have wifi, but do not make it available to their guests except for 2 hours in the morning after breakfast and 2 hours in the evening. This is an inconvenience for their guests who need to schedule around the owners' schedule.
As for Curubande, it is a small village with 2 local restaurants.
Though one can arrive in Curubande by bus, one must have a vehicle to get to Rincon de la Vieja, the only national park within the vicinity of El Sol Verde. There is no public transport to get to the park. National Parks Santa Rosa and Palo Verde, mentioned in their webiste, are not close by, both each at least an hour traveling by car.
So, if you are camping and plan to visit Rincon de la Vieja, this might be OK for you, but a lodge it is not.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank MistyS14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElSolVerde, Owner at El Sol Verde Lodge & Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

We were expecting your review.

A pity that you did not mention here on tripadvisor, what you told us, that you liked our place and also our hospitality. Also you didn't mention you booked a room for 8 nights a couple of months in advance and after staying two nights you cancelled the other 6 nights. Not because you didn't like our place, but because you really wanted to stay near a beach.
We only charged you 2 nights of the 6 nights you cancelled. Probably you thought this was not fair and now is payback time. So we won't take your comments too seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We came from Nicaragua together With an american couple. They had already booked here and we joined them to this place. It was the best start for Costa Rica we had ever could imagine. The lovely couple helped us With planning our trip within Costa Rica with good tips and they even helped us rent a car to save time. The stay itself was rather pleasant with clean rooms and very good breakfast. They made us feel at home on the other side of the world!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingeborg2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stumbled upon this randomly looking for a place to stay for the night near Rincon de la Vieja. Beautiful, simple room looking over the valley and adjacent ridgeline. Lovely flowers and landscaping on the grounds. Room was super simple and basic, but that was all we wanted. Ingrid and Gerard were by far the standouts though. Super nice, super friendly, super helpful. Told us about a great little walk to a nearby pretty stream and wading pool. Gave great tips about hiking in the volcano park. And overall were just great to talk with.

Totally recommend this for someone looking for a simple, easy place to stay with really wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dheacock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed for two nights and the place was lovely but with a difficult car access.

The town is so small and there's nothing to do but visiting Rincon de la Vieja national park.

The rooms are not very private and you can even see your neighborhoods by the window and listen to them.

The terrace is shared and you don't have AC on the room nor shampoo/soap.

You cannot put your wet clothes in a place next to your room, so you must go out to put them on a public area.

There's also restricted Wi-Fi access (2 hours per day and still don't know why...).

Apart from that, the Wi-Fi signal is only for a common living room out of the room, so if you want to skype home, you can only do it by leaving your room and going to a place elsewhere with several people near to you (and from 1 to 3 a.m. European time).

The breakfast were so good and the explanations of the environment were also good.

Quite expensive in comparison with other cabins in Costa Rica

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank KeDaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElSolVerde, Eigenaar at El Sol Verde Lodge & Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

I would like to react to this review to put some things in perspective !!

The road from Liberia to our place (15km) is completely paved except for the last 150 mtr. which will take about 20 seconds and can be done with a normal car, no 4WD required.

Curubande is an Authentic Costa Rican Village, located between two beautiful rivers, one with a canyon where you can have a great swim. Wonderful surroundings for taking a walk. In town you will find a mini- super and a few bars/restaurants where you can get a typical Costa Rican meal. There is great hospitality in town, a pity that you did not explore that, considering the fact that Spanish is your language. If you look for discos, souvenir shops, pizza restaurants or Mc Donalds, this will not be your place.

All our rooms have windows, if you pass that window, of course you can see who is inside if that person didn't close the curtains. You can also choose not to look.

We assume that most guests prefer to watch the view with birds, butterflies and iguanas instead of having to look at other peoples laundry while hanging out on the shared terrace. We ask people to hang their wet clothes at our clothes lines 50 meters further, out of sight, but safe within our secluded property.

We offer free wireless internet, at least two hours in the evening and two hours in the morning after breakfast. It is not working during breakfast, because if people are using Skype it would be very disturbing for other guest who try to enjoy their breakfast while listening to the sounds of nature. The internet is only working in the main building, that is a fact. The rooms and campground are too far away for the signal. We are in Costa Rica, in the middle of nowhere. If you need high speed internet 24/7 you should stay in the city.

You find our place expensive but the rate for a double room, included tax, is 35 Euro/ night. We believe it is a fair price, considering the quiet and beautiful location, the amount of service and personal attention we offer, level of maintenance etc.

We don't understand that you start your review with "Okay but expensive", mention a " lovely place", but that the review results in two stars/poor. Maybe you wanted to put something different between all the positive reactions from other guests?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liberia
3 mi away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#3 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,387 reviews
5.4 mi away
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
#4 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
497 reviews
13.7 mi away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Casa Rural Aroma de Campo
Casa Rural Aroma de Campo
#1 of 1 in Curubande
152 reviews
7.4 mi away
Rinconcito Lodge
Rinconcito Lodge
#2 of 5 in Rincon de La Vieja
230 reviews
0 mi away
Rancho Curubande' Lodge
Rancho Curubande' Lodge
#3 of 5 in Rincon de La Vieja
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Sol Verde Lodge & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Sol Verde Lodge & Campground

Address: Curubande, Liberia, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Liberia
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'El Sol Verde' (the Green Sun) is a combination of a lodge and a campground, located at the boundary of Curubande,15 km. northeast of Liberia. It has a small-scale setting with a pleasant atmosphere and is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the sounds of nature. It is only 8km to the entrance of National Park Rincon de la Vieja. 'EL Sol Verde' therefore is a good starting point to make excursions to this magnificent piece of nature. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Sol Verde Lodge & Campground Costa Rica/Liberia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing