We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Sol Verde Lodge & Campground
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$155
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$36
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
138
20
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
20
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstent housenational parkfacilities are greatcosta ricaevery morninggreat tipsstayed nightswalking distanceother guestsspacious roompublic bushot showerminutes from the airportgreat place to stayrental cargerardsinks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed at El Sol Verde for two nights and we liked it very much. We stayed at their tent and we slept very well. Ingrid and Gerard are very nice people, who will help you with everything you need. They gave us very good hints, we did nearly everything they recommended us (also in other parts of the country).
They really made us feel like home. Thanks!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed at El Sol Verde for 3 nights, one night in a room and 2 nights in the tent cabin; both were very clean and we loved staying in the tent cabin! Gerard and Ingrid were extremely welcoming and sat down with us to explain the area and answer any questions we had. They really go above and beyond to not only make guests feel welcome, but to help their guests get the most out of the area by giving recommendations for food, directions, or recommendations for hikes, etc. The campground itself is very quiet and relaxing with beautiful plants and flowers. We also loved the breakfast, which consisted of amazing dark coffee, eggs cooked however you like, from Gerard and Ingrid's chickens, and wonderfully fresh fruit. I wish we could have stayed here longer, but it was a great experience, highly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

El Sol Verde is a simple place. As far as I understood, it offers 3 rooms (and some additional huts and campground). The rooms are basic and have everything you need. Accordingly, the owners charge a reasonably basic price, making this a very good price/quality tradeoff. The hotel is located on the road to Rincón de la Vieja, and there are a couple of other hotels on this road. However, at the time of our booking, all these hotels appeared to be much more expensive. As explained on their website, breakfast is available at a charge, but we did not try it.

The owners of the place are very friendly, and are doing pretty well in creating a hospitile environment. Upon arrival, Ingrid explained a lot on the town of Curubandé and the Rincón de la Vieja national park.

The hotel offers free wifi, but only at limited times (in the morning and in the evening). I initially considered this a bit strange, 'till I learned that due to its remote location, the hotel has to offer wifi over a 3G dongle. Having this in mind, the owners' choice makes perfect sense. Nevertheless, this could be a disadvantage if you want to spend your entire holiday online 24/7.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bartme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Loved the local location, wonderful hosts and great accommodations. It was my favorite part of our 2 weeks backpacking trip. Ofi was awesome for local transportation and their dog was so cute, he followed us wherever we went. Beautiful place overall.

Room Tip: Great find!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacyc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I stayed at El Sol Verde with my boyfriend in January. We stayed in a tent house and it was very comfortable. Time there was relaxing and quiet... just what you are looking for in a "nature" holiday.
Gerard and Ingrid are great hosts. They take good care of you in all senses: nice breakfast, good indications and recommendations. Social areas are well-kept and clean as well as the camping facilities.
It is definitely an excellent price-value option in Rincon de la Vieja.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyingTica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews